You are not logged in.

#1 2021-12-13 11:49:01

Arciere

notify-send

Hi everyone,
I am a novice and the question to many could be stupid.
I don't understand what is the process to kill to delete a notification created with

notify-send

command. My goal is to kill this process to delete the old "critical" notification on the screen and replace it with a new one. For Ubuntu I have seen that

killall notify-osd

is used, but I use Arch Linux (with Gnome and Wayland) and it is not notify-osd that manages my notifications, apparently... I use Bash.
I have seen that there are versions of notify-send created by other people that eliminate just this problem, but I would like to have to install those versions only as a last resort.
Thank you in advance!

Arciere

#2 2021-12-13 12:19:21

seth

Re: notify-send

Whatever is the notification server (dunst, gnome, …), but this is not how this is done at all.
=> https://specifications.freedesktop.org/ … 01s09.html
When you request a notification, the notification server hands you back a cookie (well, it's a glorified integer…) that you can use on subsequent invocations.

"notify-send" is a cheap fire-and-forget tool, it won't allow you to do so.
dbus-send does unfortunately not support all types required by the interface, so you could use gdbus or qdbus.

#3 2021-12-13 15:00:14

Arciere

seth wrote:

Whatever is the notification server (dunst, gnome, …), but this is not how this is done at all.
=> https://specifications.freedesktop.org/ … 01s09.html
When you request a notification, the notification server hands you back a cookie (well, it's a glorified integer…) that you can use on subsequent invocations.

"notify-send" is a cheap fire-and-forget tool, it won't allow you to do so.
dbus-send does unfortunately not support all types required by the interface, so you could use gdbus or qdbus.

Thank you for your reply. I had already read this page this morning, but with very little results due to my poor preparation.