You are not logged in.

#1 2022-01-12 03:20:41

Tronten
Member
Registered: 2022-01-12
Posts: 3

Broadcom not working but worked on previous arch install

so i installed arch for fun today and i am having an issue with my broadcom 43228. I installed the b43 package from the aur and i am not getting the device info with ip config. the output of dmesg (summed up) basically finds the drivers but then returns and fails with error-2 then proceeds to tell me that its not found. I have installed arch on this same machine before and didn't have this problem at all.

Last edited by Tronten (2022-01-12 13:08:22)

Offline

#2 2022-01-12 04:32:19

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 26,179
Website

Re: Broadcom not working but worked on previous arch install

Tronten wrote:

... the output of dmesg (summed up) basically...

Do not "sum up".  Please provide actual logs.

Is the b43 module loaded?  If not, can you load it with modprobe?


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#3 2022-01-12 07:42:45

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,449

Re: Broadcom not working but worked on previous arch install

fails with error-2

"summed up":
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?K=firmware
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Broadcom_wireless
Alternatively the chip is also supportd by broadcom-wl

I have installed arch on this same machine before

"summed up":

I have installed another arch derivate that ships w/ the wl driver on this same machine before

Offline

#4 2022-01-12 12:51:43

Tronten
Member
Registered: 2022-01-12
Posts: 3

Re: Broadcom not working but worked on previous arch install

Trilby wrote:
Tronten wrote:

... the output of dmesg (summed up) basically...

Do not "sum up".  Please provide actual logs.

Is the b43 module loaded?  If not, can you load it with modprobe?

Last edited by Tronten (2022-01-12 13:09:42)

Offline

#5 2022-01-12 12:53:55

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,449

Re: Broadcom not working but worked on previous arch install

Why is the download a heic?
Please redirect the system journal into a file and usb-walk it to a system w/ network or try https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Tethering

Offline

#6 2022-01-12 12:57:37

Tronten
Member
Registered: 2022-01-12
Posts: 3

Re: Broadcom not working but worked on previous arch install

seth wrote:

fails with error-2

"summed up":
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?K=firmware
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Broadcom_wireless
Alternatively the chip is also supportd by broadcom-wl

I have installed arch on this same machine before

"summed up":

I have installed another arch derivate that ships w/ the wl driver on this same machine before


Yep I followed those and I have installed the wl driver hoping that it would work. And I have loaded and or force loaded the module with mod probe but still nothing. I have rebooted my computer multiple times as well.

Offline

#7 2022-01-12 12:59:17

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 4,867

Re: Broadcom not working but worked on previous arch install

Tronten wrote:

Okay here is the image here. I didn’t want to copy all of the code lol

Even though that is clearly against our rules?
CoC - Pasting pictures and code

Please edit your post to remove the image and pay more attention to the rules you agreed to when signing up to these forums.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB