You are not logged in.

#1 2022-03-13 10:22:49

n-tchen
Member
Registered: 2017-03-07
Posts: 17

[SOLVED] Cannot mix incompatible Qt library

Hello,

I fully upgraded my system yesterday and now I'm experiencing problems with several applications like VLC, Dolphin and Falkon Browser. When I start them via the commandline, I get:

Cannot mix incompatible Qt library (5.15.2) with this library (5.15.3)

Full output:

[markus@pinguin ~]$ vlc
VLC media player 3.0.16 Vetinari (revision 3.0.13-8-g41878ff4f2)
[0000559a750cc580] main libvlc: Running vlc with the default interface. Use 'cvlc' to use vlc without interface.
Cannot mix incompatible Qt library (5.15.2) with this library (5.15.3)
Aborted (core dumped)
[markus@pinguin ~]$ dolphin
Cannot mix incompatible Qt library (5.15.2) with this library (5.15.3)
21 -- exe=/usr/bin/dolphin
13 -- platform=xcb
11 -- display=:0
16 -- appname=dolphin
17 -- apppath=/usr/bin
9 -- signal=6
9 -- pid=9578
12 -- startupid=0
KCrash: crashing... crashRecursionCounter = 2
KCrash: Application Name = dolphin path = /usr/bin pid = 9578
KCrash: Arguments: /usr/bin/dolphin 
KCrash: Attempting to start /usr/lib/drkonqi
Cannot mix incompatible Qt library (5.15.2) with this library (5.15.3)
21 -- exe=/usr/lib/drkonqi
13 -- platform=xcb
11 -- display=:0
16 -- appname=drkonqi
17 -- apppath=/usr/lib
9 -- signal=6
9 -- pid=9580
12 -- startupid=0
KCrash: crashing... crashRecursionCounter = 2
KCrash: Application Name = drkonqi path = /usr/lib pid = 9580
KCrash: Arguments: /usr/lib/drkonqi --appname dolphin --apppath /usr/bin --signal 6 --pid 9578 --startupid 0 
Unable to start Dr. Konqi
Re-raising signal for core dump handling.
Aborted (core dumped)
[markus@pinguin ~]$ falkon
Fatal: Cannot mix incompatible Qt library (5.15.2) with this library (5.15.3)
Aborted (core dumped)
[markus@pinguin ~]$ sudo pacman -Syu
[sudo] password for markus: 
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community                                  6.6 MiB  1274 KiB/s 00:05 [#######################################] 100%
 multilib is up to date
:: Starting full system upgrade...
 there is nothing to do

First I thought this was some mistake from me by tinkering, but I found a recent bug with the same error but for a different case ( https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/74104 ) and also several recent posts with this message, e.g. https://www.reddit.com/r/archlinux/comm … y_version/ and https://forum.artixlinux.org/index.php/ … 781.0.html

Currently I'm testing awesome wm (which is still working), but when I tried to start plasma again, it's only showing a blackscreen with the mousecursor.

So my question is, if someone else is experiencing similar problems. If not, I would look deeper into my system, but at the time is looks more like a general problem to me.

Regards,
Markus

Last edited by n-tchen (2022-03-13 12:25:34)

Offline

#2 2022-03-13 10:58:09

Slithery
Administrator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,335

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot mix incompatible Qt library


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#3 2022-03-13 11:55:53

n-tchen
Member
Registered: 2017-03-07
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot mix incompatible Qt library

Hi Slithery,

yes, this did indeed help. I wasn't aware, that an AUR-package can have this kind of impact on non-AUR-applications.

For the record, the solution was to cleanbuild qt5-styleplugins from AUR:

$ yay -S qt5-styleplugins
:: Checking for conflicts...
:: Checking for inner conflicts...
[Aur:1]  qt5-styleplugins-5.0.0.20170311-26

  1 qt5-styleplugins                 (Installed) (Build Files Exist)
==> Packages to cleanBuild?
==> [N]one [A]ll [Ab]ort [I]nstalled [No]tInstalled or (1 2 3, 1-3, ^4)
(...)

Choose "A" for All.

Thank you very much, you guys are awesome.

Regards,
Markus

PS: Somehow I can't change the subject to "Solved". Maybe you can do this.

Last edited by n-tchen (2022-03-13 11:58:53)

Offline

#4 2022-03-13 12:10:46

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 10,765
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot mix incompatible Qt library

There is a character limit in topic titles. I suggest removing everything after "Cannot mix incompatible Qt library" to make space.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MEG B550 UNIFY // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#5 2022-03-13 12:25:51

n-tchen
Member
Registered: 2017-03-07
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot mix incompatible Qt library

Thanks for the hint, worked.

Offline

#6 2022-03-18 03:58:34

planarian
Member
Registered: 2022-03-18
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot mix incompatible Qt library

I was trying to find a solution to this and glad I did. Thanks

Offline

#7 2022-06-19 14:52:41

sunjerry019
Member
Registered: 2020-04-14
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot mix incompatible Qt library

I had a similar problem, but all the solutions here did not work for me. It was solved when I reinstalled PyQt5:

sudo pip install --upgrade --force-reinstall pyqt5

Offline

#8 2022-06-19 14:56:22

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 16,418

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot mix incompatible Qt library

Don't mix and match pip installed pyqt5 releases and pacman packages. Install python-pyqt5 from the repos if you need this fixed for actual packages.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB