You are not logged in.

#1 2022-07-08 12:03:54

MSco
Member
Registered: 2021-12-01
Posts: 18

[Solved] Cannot access synology drives by dolphin

On my computer I use KDE Plasma. Unfortunately, I cannot access the Synology drives here. Under Windows, access to the drives works without any problems.

Also, under Linux I can mount the drives with sshfs without any problems:
e.g. with
Code:
sudo mount -t nfs 192.168.178.99:/volume1/Filme.

If I now want to access it with Dolphin, the whole thing looks like this:
Under “Network Devices → Shared Order (SMB)”, “nashome” is still listed correctly. “nashome” is the name of my Synology in the network.

But if I then navigate to “nashome”, the error “The file or folder smb://nashome.local/ does not exist” is displayed.

On my old Linux machine (with Xfce and not KDE as the interface) access via the file browser also worked without problems.

Here also smb://nashome.local/ is given as address. I have a feeling that username and password might be the problem here. Because that’s what I had to enter on my old computer when I first accessed it. As far as I can remember, I didn’t (couldn’t) do that on the new computer. But I don’t know where I could enter the username and password here.

Last edited by MSco (2022-07-14 14:19:55)

Offline

#2 2022-07-08 14:46:36

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,974

Offline

#3 2022-07-11 13:19:54

MSco
Member
Registered: 2021-12-01
Posts: 18

Re: [Solved] Cannot access synology drives by dolphin

I tried to disable VFS module as described in your url, but that did not solve my problem.

Offline

#4 2022-07-11 13:30:55

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,974

Re: [Solved] Cannot access synology drives by dolphin

Sicne dolphin seems to try to resolve an avahi domain but you're mounting an IP, can you actually

ping nashome.local

?

Offline

#5 2022-07-14 07:13:20

MSco
Member
Registered: 2021-12-01
Posts: 18

Re: [Solved] Cannot access synology drives by dolphin

seth wrote:

Sicne dolphin seems to try to resolve an avahi domain but you're mounting an IP, can you actually

ping nashome.local

?

Yes, the ping works fine:


ping nashome.local

PING nashome.local (192.168.178.99) 56(84) Bytes an Daten.
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 Zeit=0.738 ms
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 Zeit=0.734 ms
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 Zeit=0.895 ms
64 Bytes von nashome.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 Zeit=0.737 ms
64 Bytes von nashome.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 Zeit=0.884 ms
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 Zeit=0.564 ms
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 Zeit=0.484 ms
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 Zeit=0.693 ms
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 Zeit=0.512 ms
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=10 ttl=64 Zeit=0.557 ms
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=11 ttl=64 Zeit=0.644 ms
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=12 ttl=64 Zeit=0.897 ms
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=13 ttl=64 Zeit=0.726 ms
64 Bytes von nashome.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=14 ttl=64 Zeit=0.515 ms
64 Bytes von nashome.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=15 ttl=64 Zeit=0.749 ms
64 Bytes von nashome.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=16 ttl=64 Zeit=0.438 ms
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=17 ttl=64 Zeit=0.461 ms
64 Bytes von nashome.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=18 ttl=64 Zeit=1.04 ms
64 Bytes von SynologyNAS-DS920.fritz.box (192.168.178.99): icmp_seq=19 ttl=64 Zeit=0.470 ms

However, I found this thread:
https://forum.manjaro.org/t/dolphin-the … ist/114900

I entered some random username and pw to the network settings for windows shares. After that, I opened dolphin and navigated to the synology drive and I could finally enter the credentials. After that, the access to my synology drives via dolphin worked finally, but only for a short time!

However, after restarting dolphin again, the access doesnt work anymore (I am not asked for username and password anymore). It doesnt even work, if I again change the credentials in the network settings. It only worked for a short time…

I definitely think, the problem is the missing prompt for username and password. It never pops up in dolphin for me…

Last edited by MSco (2022-07-14 07:15:17)

Offline

#6 2022-07-14 14:19:38

MSco
Member
Registered: 2021-12-01
Posts: 18

Re: [Solved] Cannot access synology drives by dolphin

I have finally found a workaround, that works permanently for me. When entering my username before the nashome.local in the location window, I can access that share via dolphin:

smb://username@nashome.local/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB