You are not logged in.

#1 2022-08-01 07:17:29

Petrosk

Kernel boot suddently getting stuck at "clocksource: switched to tsc"

I'm relatively new to arch, since I switched from ubuntu around 3 months ago.

The distribution is extremely lightweight and my experience has been great.
I'm still a beginner, but I decided to quickly dive into arch in order learn from my mistakes and errors

About the issue:

My computer is dual booting windows and arch (I'm planning on completely replacing windows as soon as possible)

I had recently updated my packages including the kernel.
After closing my xorg session as usual and shutting down my machine,  I booted into windows.
The windows system clock was 3 hours behind (Probably a UTC-Local Time miscommunication between the two systems), so I clicked on "Sync Now" button and then time was in fact corrected.
(I've done this a couple of times in the past, but it had never messed up with my arch boot)

Since then, when I boot to arch, my computer hangs on the startup process with the following last three messages:

tsc: Refined TSC clocksource calibration 2994.380 MHz
clocksource: tsc: mask: 0xfffffffffff max_cycles: 0x2b298873dd8, max_idle_ns: 440795219646 ns
clocksource: Switched to clocksource tsc

I left my computer running for about half an hour, but it remains frozen.
No matter how many times I reboot, the problem persists

Things I've Tried

With the assistance of the arch installation medium I managed to get access to my filesystem and did the following:

• I updated both my system clock (hwclock) and timedatectl with the correct time. I later verified it

• I ran pacman -Syyu

• I uninstalled pulseaudio and got rid of its systemd service since it was the root cause of some hanging problems while my computer was running (When playing an audio file, it would freeze for about 10 seconds and then work)