You are not logged in.

#1 2006-12-19 21:06:34

Luke Armstrong
Website

what is essential to a good Linux web server setup?

Hi there, I am kinda new to Linux but not afraid to learn (or ask stupid questions). I am a web developer and will be getting a dedicated server this month, it is totally unmanaged so I will need to set it up over SSH and be responsible for keeping any downtime to a minimum (or none at all if possible).

I was recommended to use CentOS 4.4, but the packages available on YUM are far too old. There were only out of date versions of PHP4 and MySQL4 available so I had to install v5 for each from source. I managed this without too much swearing, but wouldn't be comfortable keeping it up to date, and I felt CentOS was a bit bloated for what will be a simple web server. I had looked at Arch Linux in the past, because it always had the latest packages according to DistroWatch, but I didn't have time to learn how to use it properly. Now I have time, so am looking to learn! smile

What would be the best way of partitioning the server? I have only ever let the arch installer setup the harddrive, but some people say you should put the /home/httpd/html/ (or /var/www) on its own partition.

I will at first be hosting a single website from this server, but hope to run a few others on it at a later date. I have looked into getting a lifetime InterWorx licence and getting it installed by their staff as they will probably know best. But another part of me wants to learn how to do it by myself, save a few quid, and be the better for learning how. I suppose Webmin would be a good idea to get, if just for diagnosis, since it is free. Is Usermin recommended/free too?

I have used pacman to get these applications so far:
OpenSSH
vsFTPd
Apache2
PHP5
GD2
MySQL