You are not logged in.

#1 2022-11-13 19:25:40

Morta
Member
Registered: 2019-07-07
Posts: 517

A made a bridge from two 10Gbps Ports but speedtest give me 10Gbps

Hi I made a bridge from a Intel Card with 2x10Gbps Ports

[morta@5erver ~]$ ip a
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp3s0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 04:d9:f5:bc:8f:c6 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: enp4s0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 04:d9:f5:bc:8f:c7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4: enp5s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 04:d9:f5:bc:8f:c8 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.2/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global enp5s0
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
5: enp6s0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 04:d9:f5:bc:8f:c9 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
6: enp2s0f0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq master br0 state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 98:b7:85:89:7e:f8 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
7: enp2s0f1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq master br0 state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 98:b7:85:89:7e:f9 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
8: br0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 2e:cc:61:f0:dd:09 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.100/32 scope global noprefixroute br0
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet 192.168.1.100/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute br0
       valid_lft 6961sec preferred_lft 6961sec
    inet6 2a02:XXX:a774::2000/128 scope global dadfailed tentative noprefixroute 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 2a02:XXX:a774:0:ba10:850:ddda:275/64 scope global dynamic noprefixroute 
       valid_lft 86178sec preferred_lft 14178sec
    inet6 fe80::15f:5f3f:608b:8acf/64 scope link noprefixroute 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
9: docker0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN group default 
    link/ether 02:42:90:06:46:df brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 172.17.0.1/16 brd 172.17.255.255 scope global docker0
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fd00::1/80 scope global tentative 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fe80::1/64 scope link tentative 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
10: br-abac02be342e: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN group default 
    link/ether 02:42:30:80:60:51 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 172.18.0.1/16 brd 172.18.255.255 scope global br-abac02be342e
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fd00:dead:beef::1/48 scope global tentative 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fe80::1/64 scope link tentative 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

Why the speedtest give me only 10 Gbps instead of 20 Gbps?

Offline

#2 2022-11-13 19:42:44

Slithery
Administrator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,636

Re: A made a bridge from two 10Gbps Ports but speedtest give me 10Gbps

What speedtest?

How much bandwidth does the other end have?


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#3 2022-11-13 20:31:00

Morta
Member
Registered: 2019-07-07
Posts: 517

Re: A made a bridge from two 10Gbps Ports but speedtest give me 10Gbps

ookla CLI speedtest to server 43030. Has a 100 Gbps uplink from my isp (init7)

Offline

#4 2022-11-14 06:06:08

Morta
Member
Registered: 2019-07-07
Posts: 517

Re: A made a bridge from two 10Gbps Ports but speedtest give me 10Gbps

Also strange behaviour with my OPNsense router if on both side is a bridge the network goes down. I took one of the ports out of the router bridge. No more isssue but still 10 Gbps

Offline

#5 2022-11-14 07:57:36

Koatao
Member
Registered: 2018-08-30
Posts: 75

Re: A made a bridge from two 10Gbps Ports but speedtest give me 10Gbps

Hello,
I think you misunderstood what a bridge is.
A bridge is used to connect two ore more physical LANs together at a layer 2 level as if they were part of one LAN.
All the ports part of a same bridge can be seen as ports of a same network switch.
Of course if the two ports on your arch system are part of a same bridge and the two respective ports on the router are also part of a same bridge you create a loop. If no protocols (like STP, LACP, SPB,...) are in place to break the loop, your network is going down (broadcast storm).

What you want to do is a bond between your network interfaces.
https://access.redhat.com/documentation … networking

Offline

#6 2022-11-14 08:39:38

-thc
Member
Registered: 2017-03-15
Posts: 252

Re: A made a bridge from two 10Gbps Ports but speedtest give me 10Gbps

On top of the wrong concept - even if Morta manages to setup a working link aggregation via bond interface it's IMHO impossible for a (single IP connection) speedtest to gain more than 10 GBit. Only 2 or more simultaneous IP connections distributed between the slave interfaces may reach 20 GBit throughput in total.

Last edited by -thc (2022-11-14 08:39:58)

Offline

#7 2022-11-14 13:22:57

Morta
Member
Registered: 2019-07-07
Posts: 517

Re: A made a bridge from two 10Gbps Ports but speedtest give me 10Gbps

Thanks for the inputs. I will change to bond interface. It’s ok if the speedtest is only 10 Gbps. I want more speed for my BitTorrent client. I know it’s only theoretically  to reach more than 10 Gbps on a Torrent.

Offline

#8 2022-11-14 19:47:08

Morta
Member
Registered: 2019-07-07
Posts: 517

Re: A made a bridge from two 10Gbps Ports but speedtest give me 10Gbps

As Information. I got 13 Gbps over bond with single thread CLI speedtest and no more loop with the bridge of the router

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB