You are not logged in.

#1 2023-02-28 17:46:55

mathbike
Member
Registered: 2022-09-18
Posts: 13

[SOLVED] How do you copy iso's to Ventoy?

[SOLUTION]

# download
yay -S ventoy-bin
# show usage/help
sudo sh /opt/ventoy/Ventoy2Disk.sh
# install to drive
sudo sh /opt/ventoy/Ventoy2Disk.sh -i /dev/sdX
# mount
sudo mount -t exfat /dev/sdX1 /mnt
# copy iso file to 1st partition
sudo cp "/path/to/iso" /mnt
# copy iso directory to 1st partition
sudo cp -r "/path/to/iso" /mnt
# unmount
sudo umount /mnt
# then boot fom USB!

---

[ORIGINAL POST]

I've gone through all the documentation and articles I can find and I can't figure out how to do this.  The docs seem to just gloss over this point.  "Just copy the iso's to the first partition."

But HOW do you copy the iso's to the first partition?  Without mounting it doesn't work.  And you can't mount /dev/sdb1 in read-write, so what exactly are you supposed to do?  The Arch wiki doesn't say anything, and the ventoy docs don't say anything that I can find either.

The docs say:

"After the installation is complete, the USB drive will be divided into 2 partitions. The 1st partition was formated with exFAT filesystem (You can also reformat it manually with NTFS/FAT32/UDF/XFS/Ext2/3/4 ... See Notes). You just need to copy iso files to this partition."

I have done this setup:

# download
yay -S ventoy-bin
# install to usb drive
sudo sh /opt/ventoy/Ventoy2Disk.sh -i /dev/sdb

This has all worked successfully.  I can boot from this drive into the ventoy boot page.

Here's what I've tried:

# copy without mounting
sudo cp archlinux-2023.02.01-x86_64.iso /dev/sdb1
# does not work

# mount
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt
# mounts in read-only so can't copy

# try mounting in rw
sudo mount -o rw /dev/sdb1 /mnt
# does not work

If someone can help me with this I would appreciate it.  Thank you.

Last edited by mathbike (2023-03-01 05:51:04)

Offline

#2 2023-02-28 18:36:36

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,444
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How do you copy iso's to Ventoy?

mathbike wrote:

# does not work

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=57855


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#3 2023-02-28 19:14:23

growler
Member
Registered: 2022-09-26
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] How do you copy iso's to Ventoy?

mathbike wrote:

I've gone through all the documentation and articles I can find and I can't figure out how to do this.  The docs seem to just gloss over this point.  "Just copy the iso's to the first partition."

But HOW do you copy the iso's to the first partition?  Without mounting it doesn't work.  And you can't mount /dev/sdb1 in read-write, so what exactly are you supposed to do?  The Arch wiki doesn't say anything, and the ventoy docs don't say anything that I can find either.

The docs say:

"After the installation is complete, the USB drive will be divided into 2 partitions. The 1st partition was formated with exFAT filesystem (You can also reformat it manually with NTFS/FAT32/UDF/XFS/Ext2/3/4 ... See Notes). You just need to copy iso files to this partition."

I have done this setup:

# download
yay -S ventoy-bin
# install to usb drive
sudo sh /opt/ventoy/Ventoy2Disk.sh -i /dev/sdb

This has all worked successfully.  I can boot from this drive into the ventoy boot page.

Here's what I've tried:

# copy without mounting
sudo cp archlinux-2023.02.01-x86_64.iso /dev/sdb1
# does not work

# mount
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt
# mounts in read-only so can't copy

# try mounting in rw
sudo mount -o rw /dev/sdb1 /mnt
# does not work

If someone can help me with this I would appreciate it.  Thank you.

Symple copy -> paste ?

Offline

#4 2023-02-28 19:14:33

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,787
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How do you copy iso's to Ventoy?

Mod note: moving to AUR Issues


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#5 2023-02-28 19:25:48

Adriik
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2022-03-10
Posts: 128

Re: [SOLVED] How do you copy iso's to Ventoy?

What I see mounting a pendrive with mount, the partition is mounted as root.
So you need elevated privileges to copy a file. (login as root or using sudo)

And read the mount man page. I see options to mount the partition as a user using the uid and gid, for example.


Solo soy un loco más. Please use [code] [/code] tags.
Command cheatsheetCommand not found?
If I write something wrong in English, please correct me.

Offline

#6 2023-03-01 04:18:10

mathbike
Member
Registered: 2022-09-18
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] How do you copy iso's to Ventoy?

Trilby wrote:

My fault.  Update:

# mount
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt
# output
mount: /mnt: more filesystems detected on /dev/sdb1; use -t <type> or wipefs(8).

# so I tried
sudo mount -t vfat /dev/sdb1 /mnt
# output
mount: /mnt: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sdb1, missing codepage or helper program, or other error.
       dmesg(1) may have more information after failed mount system call.

# and
sudo mount -t vfat -o rw /dev/sdb1 /mnt
# same output
mount: /mnt: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sdb1, missing codepage or helper program, or other error.
       dmesg(1) may have more information after failed mount system call.

# but on
lsblk -f
# it shows no file system type for sdb1
sdb
├─sdb1
└─sdb2      vfat        FAT16 VTOYEFI B228-8EFB

# then
sudo dmesg
# shows stuff I don't understand and I'm not sure if I should post the whole thing in pastbin or not
Adriik wrote:

What I see mounting a pendrive with mount, the partition is mounted as root.
So you need elevated privileges to copy a file. (login as root or using sudo)

And read the mount man page. I see options to mount the partition as a user using the uid and gid, for example.

Thanks this is useful, I'm reading the mount man page and getting somewhere.

# I ran
sudo fdisk -l /dev/sdb
# and got
Device     Boot    Start      End  Sectors Size Id Type
/dev/sdb1  *        2048 60882943 60880896  29G  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sdb2       60882944 60948479    65536  32M ef EFI (FAT-12/16/32)

# so I tried
sudo mount -t exfat /dev/sdb1 /mnt
# which did not return an error

# But when I cd to /mnt the drive is empty, so I'm confused

Last edited by mathbike (2023-03-01 04:40:50)

Offline

#7 2023-03-01 04:53:21

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,444
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How do you copy iso's to Ventoy?

I suspect your first attempt to copy the iso directly to the device node likely overwrote the filesystem.  Recreate a filesystem on sdb1 with a mkfs variant.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#8 2023-03-01 05:16:08

mathbike
Member
Registered: 2022-09-18
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] How do you copy iso's to Ventoy?

Trilby wrote:

I suspect your first attempt to copy the iso directly to the device node likely overwrote the filesystem.  Recreate a filesystem on sdb1 with a mkfs variant.

You were right I just messed up the file system and needed to do everything over in the right order. [SOLUTION] at top of original post.  Thanks everyone who helped.

Last edited by mathbike (2023-03-01 05:49:47)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB