You are not logged in.

#1 2023-03-23 06:48:50

ks7714aksnbs

Arch Linux for Helios 300 PH315-55

I'm very new to the world of linux and have some experience with kali and ubuntu but wanted to try arch for software development.

I have an acer helios 300 ph315-55 and wanted to install arch on it but everytime i have ever tried doing something as basic as even a windows install, I have to load the intel irst drivers so the machine recognizes my drives, at this point my mouse,wifi aren't working, gpu isn't recognized, so using tab keys to navigate through the installation is my only option and once completed I have to use my usb drive with all my drivers to install the drivers (again with the help of a keyboard only) and then I can get things to work, now the problem is that these drivers are for windows only so I was just hoping if someone can give me enough of their wisdom to guide me through the installation just till the point where I can get the basic stuff like mouse and wifi up and running, I'm sure I'll be able to manage the rest smile

#2 2023-03-23 08:00:41

ks7714aksnbs

Re: Arch Linux for Helios 300 PH315-55

Also, the wifi card being used is killer ax1675i which is a bit hard to find drivers for since it is an intel driver. I would have just stuck with windows but I'm tired of having no access to certain stuff.

#3 2023-03-23 10:10:39

V1del
Forum Moderator

Re: Arch Linux for Helios 300 PH315-55

Generally, on linux you do not need to scourge for drivers on your own and the majority of this stuff will simply "work". Intel irst stuff can be disabled in the UEFI/BIOS if push comes to shove and there used to be some issues in that space, but afaik these are fixed in current releases/variations of the iso/mkinitcpio. Intel based wifi card will generally just work