You are not logged in.

#1 2023-09-12 15:54:25

spasoff

[SOLVED] PIA VPN client stopped working with WireGuard

Hello, guys.

I have been using PIA VPN on Archlinux with the WireGuard's protocol for the past 2-3 years without a problem until yesterday when I connected to a server and there was no internet. I attempted to connect to a second server with the same result. Then I restarted the computer and tried a third server but again, no internet even tho it said that the client was connected to a server. When I switched to OpenVPN protocol it worked flawlessly and even though I haven't made any significant changes from the last time it was working, I decided that it may have something to do with a UFW and a rule that I have added (I know it doesn't make sense but I'm still learning Linux) so I decided to fire up a QEMU/KVM, install a fresh copy of arch with KDE and see if I can reproduce the bug and yes, even on a freshly installed Arch on a VM the PIA client using WireGuard still doesn't work.

I looked at the journal logs but there are no errors.

The only related bug that I could find on the internet is from the Garuda forum, two days ago: https://forum.garudalinux.org/t/wiregua … date/30848 but from my understanding, this is a Gnome issue and I'm on KDE so I would ask for some help.

Regards.

Last edited by spasoff (2023-09-12 19:36:43)

#2 2023-09-12 16:17:56

spasoff

Re: [SOLVED] PIA VPN client stopped working with WireGuard

I just checked the linked post again and there is a solution there:

The update removed the PIA file /etc/iproute2/rt_tables
Boot from a restore point, copy the file above somewhere safe.
Update again, restore the copied file.
PIA fixed.

I have only /etc/iproute2/rt_tables.pacsave in this folder and no restore point. Are rt_talbes and rt_tables.pacsave the same file?

UPDATE: