You are not logged in.

#26 2023-09-19 12:06:04

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

Yes
ls/boot
  efi grub initramfs-linux.img vmlinuz-linux

Online

#27 2023-09-19 13:05:00

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,454

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

What was the exact grub-mkconfig command, what is its output and what does the resulting /boot/grub/grub.cfg look like?

Offline

#28 2023-09-19 13:21:19

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

grub-mkconfig -o /boor/grub/grub.cfg
Result:
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-linux
Found initrd image: /boot/initramfs-linux.img
Warning: os-prober will be executed to detect other bootable partitions.
Its output will be used to detect bootable binaries on them and create new boot entries.
Adding boot menu entry for UEFI Firmare Settings ...
done

http://0x0.st/HOV6.txt

Online

#29 2023-09-19 13:25:02

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,454

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

It certainly creates menu in the grub.cfg w/ your kernel present option above 'UEFI Firmware Settings'

ls -lR /boot

Offline

#30 2023-09-19 13:31:06

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

Online

#31 2023-09-19 14:06:43

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,454

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

/boot/efi/EFI/MX19:
total 136
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 139264 Oct  2  2021 grubx64.efi

/boot/efi/EFI/MX21:
total 136
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 139264 Oct 30  2021 grubx64.efi

/boot/efi/EFI/ubuntu:
total 4314
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root     108 Apr 25 11:16 BOOTX64.CSV
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root     126 Apr 25 11:16 grub.cfg
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 2594696 Apr 25 11:16 grubx64.efi
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root  860824 Apr 25 11:16 mmx64.efi
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root  960472 Apr 25 11:16 shimx64.efi

/boot/efi/grub.old:
total 1
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root   0 Sep 15 16:51 grub.cfg.new
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 512 Sep 15 11:35 i386-pc
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 512 Sep 15 11:35 locale

/boot/efi/grub.old/i386-pc:
total 0

What is that?
When you're in grub, press "c" and enter "set", what does the grub_cpu say?

Offline

#32 2023-09-19 14:11:39

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

grub_cpu='x86_64'

Online

#33 2023-09-19 14:21:24

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

This BIOS has a legacy boot option and a EFI boot option.
I hope I didn't make things worse but I went into the legacy boot option and loaded my usb flash drive
mounted partitions and arch-chroot and ran grub-mkconfig

I got a Arch Linux GRUB entry but when I select it
It just hangs after these two things appear on the screen

Loading Linux linux ...
Loading initial ramdisk ...

Online

#34 2023-09-19 14:42:12

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,454

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

If you're somehow loading the ubuntu grub, it'll not boot the kernel.
And w/ your OP I'm also kinda concerned that there might be more than one ESP on that system

fdisk -l

Offline

#35 2023-09-19 14:45:39

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

Online

#36 2023-09-19 15:09:01

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,454

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

Can you still boot windows, ubuntu or from sdc?

Offline

#37 2023-09-19 15:17:49

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

I only have Arch Linux in the GRUB when I boot from the sdc.

Should I try to do a grub-mkconfig on the sdc?

Online

#38 2023-09-19 15:28:09

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,454

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

I only have Arch Linux in the GRUB when I boot from the sdc.

And can you boot that?

afaiu you've so far tried to boot sda1?
The question about booting windows or ubuntu was independent from the ability to boot from sdc.

You might also want to try the LTS kernel, there's several issues w/ 6.5 and you might simply run into one of those now.

Offline

#39 2023-09-19 15:29:48

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

If I go into the UEFI settings and change the boot order to the other OS's I can boot into them.
Does that answer your question?

And yes I can boot to the sdc Arch Linux that is how I have been doing the arch-chroot

Last edited by MAYBL8 (2023-09-19 15:30:36)

Online

#40 2023-09-19 15:31:44

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,454

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

Mostly. Can you distinct the present grub versions in the UEFI?
Also boot windows and make sure fast-start isn't enabled, 3rd link below.

Offline

#41 2023-09-19 15:37:26

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

I will do the items you just requested if you still think I need to.

I installed the lts and uninstall the linux 6.5 kernel

Rebooted and I can boot into Arch now.

I don't see the other OS's after doing the grub-mkconfig. 

I'm glad I can finally boot to arch.

Do you still want me to do what you just asked?

Online

#42 2023-09-19 15:42:12

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,454

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

No. 6.5 failing is a different issue, you might want to hook into https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=288855 and try some of the kernels loqs is testing.

You might dare to clean up the stale grub versions from the ESP and check "pacman -Qi fuse3", it's a silent/(non-)optional dependency of grub/os-prober

Offline

#43 2023-09-19 15:42:26

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

I just reran the grub-mkconfig and now I have Windows and Arch.

I don't have MX or Ubuntu

Last edited by MAYBL8 (2023-09-19 15:45:25)

Online

#44 2023-09-19 15:57:12

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

It looks like all I have to do is mount the other os partitions and then run grub-mkconfig and I will have them.

Online

#45 2023-09-19 16:09:09

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

@Seth
Can you do me a favor and explain to me what you think solved this issue?

Was it that I didn't have enough space in the /boot/efi partition and then needing to use the lts kernel?

Thanks
Dan

I appreciate everyone's help and I have learned some valuable info here.

Online

#46 2023-09-19 16:17:44

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,454

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

grub-mkconfig resp. os-prober is supposed to mount stuff itself  but requires fuse3

Afaiu you originally ran out of space and then "I hope I didn't make things worse but I went into the legacy boot option and loaded my usb flash drive" might have helped your out of that EFI mess that still somewhat exists on that partition (before you ran into the unrelated 6.5 booting issue)

Offline

#47 2023-09-19 16:58:30

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

OK I am going to mark this Solved.
I am going to do some research on systems with multiple OS's on them and how GRUB should be configured in hopes to clean up the system.

Online

#48 2023-09-21 20:45:11

MAYBL8
Member
Registered: 2022-01-14
Posts: 213

Re: [SOLVED] Need help with GRUB menu and boot loader

I have one last comment to add to this.
I discovered that when I ran :
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg   a  second time after rebooting I did not have the other OS's in the GRUB menu.
I had manually mounted them to get them there the first time.

So after I installed xfce as my DE or DM whichever it is called I added gvfs to have it automount all the partitions .
Then running the grub-mkconfig command again I had all the OS's in the list.

Thanks

There might be other ways of automounting the partitions but this worked for me.

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB