You are not logged in.

#1 2024-01-30 14:28:31

theluminousarcher
Member
Registered: 2023-09-10
Posts: 5

Archlinux not available as a bootable option in the boot menu

Why does my archlinux install -with grub- is not appearing as a bootable os, instead the bootmenu shows the drive it located where the os can be booted. This is not the same with systemd-boot as it clearly shows as “Linux Boot Manager” instead of just the drive name. (Ignore the other boot options they are just a remnant of the previous installation) 

IMG-6357.jpg

I have installed arch using the archinstall script

Last edited by theluminousarcher (2024-01-30 14:29:04)

Offline

#2 2024-01-30 14:52:34

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 913

Re: Archlinux not available as a bootable option in the boot menu

What does

# efibootmgr -u

show?

Last edited by d.ALT (2024-01-30 14:52:44)


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Offline

#3 2024-01-30 15:09:37

theluminousarcher
Member
Registered: 2023-09-10
Posts: 5

Re: Archlinux not available as a bootable option in the boot menu

BootCurrent: 0001
Timeout: 0 seconds
BootOrder: 0000,0005,0003,0001
Boot0000* Fedora        HD(1,GPT,33e15eea-98b8-4bed-a70f-b9538a327e97,0x800,0x12c000)/File(\EFI\fedora\shimx64.efi)
Boot0001* UEFI KBG40ZNS512G NVMe TOSHIBA 512GB 89FPD1XWPQFN 1   PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1d,0x4)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/NVMe(0x1,8C-E3-8E-04-00-1E-76-3B)/HD(1,GPT,d6b99a3c-08b1-4956-aa11-713f61633d95,0x800,0x100000)/File(\EFI\Boot\BootX64.efi)걎脈鼑䵙຅᫢ⱒ뉙
Boot0003* debian        HD(1,GPT,0533fe1f-9ce5-4e73-aa13-af1f12c01eea,0x800,0x100000)/File(\EFI\debian\shimx64.efi)
Boot0005* Pop!_OS 22.04 LTS     HD(1,GPT,6656786d-28b6-40c8-8589-a75cf842fa26,0x1000,0x1fefff)/File(\EFI\systemd\systemd-bootx64.efi) 

Offline

#4 2024-01-30 15:13:43

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 11,357

Re: Archlinux not available as a bootable option in the boot menu

How did you install grub?

Online

#5 2024-01-30 15:15:35

theluminousarcher
Member
Registered: 2023-09-10
Posts: 5

Re: Archlinux not available as a bootable option in the boot menu

I just installed via the archinstall script, via selecting grub as the bootloader option

Offline

#6 2024-01-30 15:15:44

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 913

Re: Archlinux not available as a bootable option in the boot menu

If your computer's UEFI implementation is capable of, then just install (another) GRUB: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/GRUB#UEFI_systems

Or just use one of the many EFI Loaders you already have.


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Offline

#7 2024-01-30 15:17:46

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 11,357

Re: Archlinux not available as a bootable option in the boot menu

There is a separate section here for archinstall, most of us have no idea what all it does. This seems purely on archinstall.

Online

#8 2024-01-30 15:19:41

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,696
Website

Re: Archlinux not available as a bootable option in the boot menu

Mod note: Moving to archinstall subforum.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#9 2024-01-30 16:04:07

theluminousarcher
Member
Registered: 2023-09-10
Posts: 5

Re: Archlinux not available as a bootable option in the boot menu

d.ALT wrote:

If your computer's UEFI implementation is capable of, then just install (another) GRUB: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/GRUB#UEFI_systems

Or just use one of the many EFI Loaders you already have.

I cant figure out on how to install grub again i mounted the dev/nvme0n1p1 partition to /boot and did what it said, it now says:

grub-install: warning: disk does not exist, so falling back to partition device /dev/nvme0n1p1.
grub-install: warning: disk does not exist, so falling back to partition device /dev/nvme0n1p1.
grub-install: warning: disk does not exist, so falling back to partition device /dev/nvme0n1p1.
grub-install: error: disk `hostdisk//dev/nvme0n1p1' not found. 

Offline

#10 2024-01-30 16:36:18

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 913

Re: Archlinux not available as a bootable option in the boot menu

theluminousarcher wrote:
grub-install: error: disk `hostdisk//dev/nvme0n1p1' not found. 

DAF**K????
Boot (again) into the ArchLinux's Live ISO and manually reinstall GRUB.
Ask here if more doubts arise.


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Offline

#11 2024-01-30 17:04:11

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,154

Re: Archlinux not available as a bootable option in the boot menu

Also where have you executed that mounting operation? You need to mount the logical setup into /mnt, chroot in, and reinstall GRUB from the chroot and not the live disk.

So mount your intended root into /mnt your intended /boot into /mnt/boot, arch-chroot /mnt and THEN follow the GRUB installation instructions.

Offline

#12 2024-01-31 18:00:43

theluminousarcher
Member
Registered: 2023-09-10
Posts: 5

Re: Archlinux not available as a bootable option in the boot menu

V1del wrote:

Also where have you executed that mounting operation? You need to mount the logical setup into /mnt, chroot in, and reinstall GRUB from the chroot and not the live disk.

So mount your intended root into /mnt your intended /boot into /mnt/boot, arch-chroot /mnt and THEN follow the GRUB installation instructions.


Thanks alot, I followed your instructions and was able to reinstall grub, it now does appears as a separate entry now. I was at first executing the mounting operation from the system itself, not from the live iso which led to the error.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB