You are not logged in.

#1 2007-05-03 13:30:44

Kei

[SOLVED] Wireless card works, but configuration and software doesn't

Hi,

I could manage to activate my Atheros wireless card using the madwifi drivers. I wanted to use knetworkmanager, but unfortunatly i doesn't recognize any of my network devices. I've read the other networkmanager threads, changed the daemons order, disabled the network daemon and the routing entry in rc.conf, but still (k)networkmanager doesn't know anything about my devices.
I tried to use knetworkmanager-svn from the AUR. Initially it doesn't work because the SVN URLs inside the PKGBUILD script a wrong, but even after I fixed them I couldn't compile the source, because there is no configure and no Makefile in the svn head. I'm really a noob when it comes to the linux build system, so I had to give it up.
Now I use wifi-radar. It is terribly slow to connect, but it works. However, when I disconnect with wifi-radar, then do 'ifconfig ath0 down && ifconfig eth0 up' the DNS requests fail. I checked /etc/resolv.conf and the default route (set to eth0), but they are right; the interface just doesn't use the name servers. The only way to get it working is to restart the laptop. How does Linux chose a "default interface"?

I'm not afraid of editing text files, but I'd like change networks fast and easy. I don't want to spend hours to adapt to a new access point... I'm really looking forward to the new wlan stack; maybe things will be getting easier then.

kei

Last edited by Kei (2007-05-04 12:36:00)

#2 2007-05-03 17:03:18

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Wireless card works, but configuration and software doesn't

If you use wpa_supplicant (which should be possible with madwifi afaik) you can tell wpa_supplicant to sort it out by itself. Just define the multiple networks in the configuration file and it will connect to the first one available.

Is that what you are looking for more or less?