You are not logged in.

#1 2007-05-14 00:04:40

superdood

Weird wireless issue... (sort of working)

I'm fairly new to Arch Linux, after having used Ubuntu and Mepis for a few months. The install went well, so the next step is getting online. For me, this is with a rt2500usb based adapter (specifically a Zonet ZEW2500P).  After several attempts, I finally got wireless Internet to work with the CVS rt2x00 driver. However, the problem I am having is that it does not autostart. When the boot process is attempting to start the network, it says that it cannot start due to the network being down!  Seeing as I had to do "ifconfig rausb0 up" before anything would work, I figured that might be the problem.

Long story short: is there a way I can set a script to automatically perform "ifconfig rausb0 up" before it attempts to set network settings?

#2 2007-05-14 04:47:37

murffatksig

Re: Weird wireless issue... (sort of working)

The network rc script goes through the devices and runs

ifconfig <interface> up

So it sounds like maybe you don't have the module loaded when the network scripts are running.  In your /etc/rc.conf file, do you have rt2x00 included in the MODULES=() line?

"Oh, they have the internet on computers now."

#3 2007-05-14 05:29:26

superdood

I have rt2570 in MODULES=().

#4 2007-05-14 08:47:32

hacosta

what steps do you (manually) take to get a working network?

#5 2007-05-14 20:37:42

superdood

First, I get the CVS tarball of the rt2x00 driver and compile it (make) then I install it (make install, which automatically does "depmod -a"). Then, I do "modprobe rt2570," and by this time the LED on the adapter is on (a good sign!).

I can activate Internet access by doing "ifconfig rausb0 up" then "iwconfig rausb0 mode managed essid MYESSID key XXXXXXXXXX" then "dhcpcd rausb0."