You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-09 05:10:05

punkass
Member
Registered: 2004-03-25
Posts: 23

K3B issues

Hi all,

I was just trying to demonstrate how easy K3B was to use, i create a new audio project and go to drag a mp3 into it and when i do, it crashes the program.  It does not do that when i create a data project and add stuff just the audio.  And i have made an audio cd with it before, it was awhile ago but i dont think K3B has had any updates since then.

any thoughts?
thanks.

Offline

#2 2004-05-09 06:17:45

kpiche
Forum Fellow
From: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Registered: 2004-03-30
Posts: 246
Website

Re: K3B issues

I don't use it but perhaps one of its deps has been updated?

Offline

#3 2004-05-09 19:44:17

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: K3B issues

rebuild the package with the following pkgbuild

# $Id: PKGBUILD,v 1.19 2004/04/19 06:24:57 dorphell Exp $
# Contributor: jlvsimoes
# Maintainer: damir <damir@archlinux.org>

pkgname=k3b
pkgver=0.11.9
pkgrel=1
depends=('flac' 'esd' 'cdrdao' 'cdrtools' 'cdparanoia' 'kdelibs>=3.2.1' 'libogg' 'libsamplerate' 'arts>=1.2.1' 'normalize' 'sox' 'libmad' 'id3lib' 'libid3tag')
pkgdesc="Feature-rich and easy to handle CD burning application"
source=(http://dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/k3b/$pkgname-$pkgver.tar.bz2)
url="http://k3b.sourceforge.net/"



build()        {
        cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver
    aclocal
        ./configure --prefix=/opt/kde --enable-mt --enable-final
                # remove enable-final if you have less than 512MB RAM
        make || return 1
        make DESTDIR=$startdir/pkg install
}

Offline

#4 2004-05-09 22:53:31

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: K3B issues

tpowa wrote:

rebuild the package with the following pkgbuild

# $Id: PKGBUILD,v 1.19 2004/04/19 06:24:57 dorphell Exp $
# Contributor: jlvsimoes
# Maintainer: damir <damir@archlinux.org>

pkgname=k3b
pkgver=0.11.9
pkgrel=1
depends=('flac' 'esd' 'cdrdao' 'cdrtools' 'cdparanoia' 'kdelibs>=3.2.1' 'libogg' 'libsamplerate' 'arts>=1.2.1' 'normalize' 'sox' 'libmad' 'id3lib' 'libid3tag')
pkgdesc="Feature-rich and easy to handle CD burning application"
source=(http://dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/k3b/$pkgname-$pkgver.tar.bz2)
url="http://k3b.sourceforge.net/"



build()        {
        cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver
    aclocal
        ./configure --prefix=/opt/kde --enable-mt --enable-final
                # remove enable-final if you have less than 512MB RAM
        make || return 1
        make DESTDIR=$startdir/pkg install
}

what did you changed? (i cannot see any diff to abs-version)

did it helped rebuilding? can is there something you can tell more about the problem you have?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#5 2004-05-10 05:37:00

punkass
Member
Registered: 2004-03-25
Posts: 23

Re: K3B issues

thanks tpowa

used that PKGBUILD, worked like a charm.

*just had to change the source url to http://aleron.dl.sourceforge.net/source … er.tar.bz2

thanks again.

Offline

#6 2004-05-10 14:11:28

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: K3B issues

no there is no difference to the abs pkgbuild
i posted it only that everybody can use out of the box from the forum without doing a abs call
there is a bug report
at http://bugs.archlinux.org

Offline

#7 2004-05-10 16:56:41

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: K3B issues

i was not able to reproduce the crash - but k3b will not recognize any audio as such (>"unsuported format")

recompiling did not help - it must be something else missing

tpowa - did you updated any other app on your system?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#8 2004-05-10 18:02:42

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: K3B issues

my packages are on the stand of yesterday evening
and it works after the rebuild
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded a2ps (4.13b-1 -> 4.13b-2)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded dcraw (1.181-1 -> 1.189-1)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded dcron (2.9-1 -> 2.9-2)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded dillo (0.8.0-1 -> 0.8.0-2)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded docbook-xsl (1.61.2-4 -> 1.65.1-1)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded dvdrip (0.50.17-1 -> 0.50.18-1)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded enscript (1.6.4-1 -> 1.6.4-2)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded exim (4.32-1 -> 4.33-1)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded gconf (2.6.0-3 -> 2.6.1-1)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded gnome-keyring (0.2.0-1 -> 0.2.1-1)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded gnome-vfs (2.6.0-1 -> 2.6.1.1-1)
[05/09/04 21:29] warning: extracting /boot/grub/menu.lst as /boot/grub/menu.lst.pacnew
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded grub (0.94-1 -> 0.94-2)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded gstreamer (0.8.0-1 -> 0.8.1-1)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded gtk-perl (0.7009-5 -> 0.7009-6)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded id3lib (3.8.3-1 -> 3.8.3-2)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded imagemagick (6.0.0-3 -> 6.0.1-1)
[05/09/04 21:29] upgraded libgnome (2.6.0-1 -> 2.6.1.1-1)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded libgnomecanvas (2.6.0-1 -> 2.6.1.1-1)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded libgnomeui (2.6.0-1 -> 2.6.1.1-1)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded librsvg (2.6.4-3 -> 2.7.1-1)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded libsamplerate (0.0.15-1 -> 0.1.0-1)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded namcap (1.3-1 -> 1.4-1)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded net-tools (1.60-5 -> 1.60-6)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded orbit2 (2.10.0-2 -> 2.10.1-1)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded rsync (2.6.1-1 -> 2.6.2-1)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded sane (1.0.13-2 -> 1.0.14-1)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded shadow (4.0.4.1-1 -> 4.0.4.1-2)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded sysklogd (1.4.1-8 -> 1.4.1-9)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded tcp_wrappers (7.6-3 -> 7.6-4)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded wine (20040408-2 -> 20040505-2)
[05/09/04 21:30] upgraded xsane (0.92-3 -> 0.93-1)
[05/09/04 21:38] upgraded k3b (0.11.9-1 -> 0.11.9-1)

Offline

#9 2004-05-11 13:36:21

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: K3B issues

the bug for this problem is:

http://bugs.archlinux.org/?do=details&id=894

you can add in short words there what you tried and if it worked or not, if you like

in most cases the moderators also read the form, so they are often also informed, if no bugreport is posted

i'm the maintainer of k3b and with simply rebuilding i do not see any change in behaviour, unfortunately --- but i'm searching for the reason for the crash (without success till now :-( )

most probably it's a depend for k3b that needs rebuild too --- or even kdemultimedia that needs a rebuild sad sad :evil:


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#10 2004-05-11 14:50:37

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: K3B issues

strange why does it work (the rebuild) for me and punkass

:evil:  :evil:  :evil:  :evil:

hope it will work again soon for you too dp

Offline

#11 2004-05-25 19:07:48

martinaramirez
Member
From: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 17

Re: K3B issues

I don´t know who did what, but I just updated (with pacman -Syu) and my previously broken K3b is working again!  Yay!  lol   Thank you, thank you, thank you!  Whoever is responsible for tracking down and fixing this, I am eternally grateful!  I wasn't able to convert and burn mp3's to cd as I had previously been able to.  Now, it all works in one easy step, again!  Thanks a million!

Offline

#12 2004-05-25 20:10:37

Abaddon
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-05-03
Posts: 232

Re: K3B issues

I have 0.11.10 version, and I still have this problem ;/


Gnome - The weakest link!
Linux, *not* GNU/Linux!

Offline

#13 2004-05-25 20:20:25

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: K3B issues

Abaddon wrote:

I have 0.11.10 version, and I still have this problem ;/

is all of your system up-to-date?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#14 2004-05-25 21:18:35

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: K3B issues

I upgraded everything today and it's still happenning. I can add some mp3s without problem and some others cause this problem every time I try to add them. I have this error while k3b tries to convert mp3:

k3b: (K3bMadDecoder) recoverable frame level error (lost synchronization)

So it's a decoder problem and it depends on the contents of mp3, I think.

Offline

#15 2004-05-25 23:47:48

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: K3B issues

lanrat wrote:

I upgraded everything today and it's still happenning. I can add some mp3s without problem and some others cause this problem every time I try to add them. I have this error while k3b tries to convert mp3:

k3b: (K3bMadDecoder) recoverable frame level error (lost synchronization)

So it's a decoder problem and it depends on the contents of mp3, I think.

ok, as i cannot reproduce it, i'm not sure, but if some mp3 work and some not, this is for sure not the trouble with k3b but with libmad (a depends of k3b) that cannot handle these mp3-files ---- also the error you posted tells that it's the K3bMadDecoder that has trouble with something

anybody knowing something about libmad trouble with mp3 files? (how did you made them? i have my mp3 collection made with abcde (actually lame) and since now no trouble with any file - maybe you used another encoder?)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#16 2004-05-26 12:41:08

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: K3B issues

I browsed and searched k3b and libmad bug reports and mail list archives and found no solution. Several people had similiar problems but nobody posted error details as above (maybe they just didn't know about it).

So it seems that libmad while decoding mp3 finds some error which makes it crash or return some error code (not sure about this) that k3b cannot handle (or it just do not expect any errors and there is no procedure to handle them correctly).
Now I think we can just wait for newer versions or recompile everything with gcc 3.4 (if it's not already done) or just convert mp3s to let's say wavs or oggs with some external tool and burn them or just use some other app for burning audio cds directly from mp3s (I don't really need this because my external dvd can play mp3s now).

We could also confirm that this happens for some certain mp3s like upload some mp3 which generates error and try to convert it with k3b then report if everybody has the same error with this file.If it's not the case then it could be problem with confguration and/or different gcc, libs, whatever versions. But I'm not sure what RIAA would say about it :-)

Offline

#17 2005-03-28 01:31:22

Shofs
Member
From: Central Illinois
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 184

Re: K3B issues

With k3b 0.11.23-1 I try to copy a CD and and soon as it starts checking the first thing it does. It takes the whole system down. It happened three times for me with various different options and selections.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB