You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-11 03:24:03

From: Canada
Registered: 2004-04-27
Posts: 24

confusion with were to load eth0 modules


my NIC (eth0) does not show up with ifconfig and I can not connect to my adsl account ( I could before).

What I am confused about is were to load the nic modules. I have modprobed the proper module into the kernel (8139too.ko for the  Realtek 8139 ethernet controller).  Now I don't have the nic module loading in modeprobe.conf or rc.conf (I'm not sure about the latter file). I  also noticed at boot it says my network has failed.

I'm confused because I thought once the module is loaded into the kernel, eth0 would work. Could someone straighten me out on these issues and explain to me the proper way of making hardware work in linux (a good url / reference would be great).

Thanks for your help


#2 2004-05-11 03:44:39

Forum Fellow
From: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Registered: 2004-03-30
Posts: 246

Re: confusion with were to load eth0 modules

Once the module is loaded, the NIC needs to be configured.  The NIC is normally configured at boot time but in your case the module is not loaded so it can't and so fails.  If you load the module manually later you can configure networking manually with:

/etc/rc.d/network start

I would guess that most people put an alias in /etc/modules.conf:

alias eth0 8139too



#3 2004-05-11 04:10:07

From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2004-03-25
Posts: 438

Re: confusion with were to load eth0 modules

or you can add the module to the line in /etc/rc.conf


Board footer

Powered by FluxBB