You are not logged in.

#1 2008-05-13 22:27:15

_saiko
Member
From: systemreich
Registered: 2007-08-06
Posts: 91
Website

rdesktop and copy/paste on remote machine

hello,
Connecting to win 2003 server from my arch.
Just noticed i can't copy/paste anymore when using rdesktop (had 1.5.0, tried both 1.6.0 and cvs).
I copy something, and then want to paste it, nothing happens. Right click gives me grayed out paste options.
Works fine with windows rdp.
Asked a friend who alse has rdesktop (says 1.5.0) and for him it works fine.
So it obviously is something with my setup.
I could swear it worked fine before.
Regular -Syu user here hmm
so god knows when this happend and what's the reason.
Anyone encountered similar issue?

many thanks


cat.7 - where crosstalk is not an issue anymore :'(

Offline

#2 2008-05-13 23:13:34

toofishes
Developer
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 602
Website

Re: rdesktop and copy/paste on remote machine

_saiko wrote:

hello,
Connecting to win 2003 server from my arch.
Just noticed i can't copy/paste anymore when using rdesktop (had 1.5.0, tried both 1.6.0 and cvs).
I copy something, and then want to paste it, nothing happens. Right click gives me grayed out paste options.
Works fine with windows rdp.
Asked a friend who alse has rdesktop (says 1.5.0) and for him it works fine.
So it obviously is something with my setup.
I could swear it worked fine before.
Regular -Syu user here hmm
so god knows when this happend and what's the reason.
Anyone encountered similar issue?

many thanks

$ rdesktop --help
         '-r clipboard:[off|PRIMARYCLIPBOARD|CLIPBOARD]': enable clipboard
                      redirection.
                      'PRIMARYCLIPBOARD' looks at both PRIMARY and CLIPBOARD
                      when sending data to server.
                      'CLIPBOARD' looks at only CLIPBOARD.

Maybe 1.6.0 turned it off by default?

Offline

#3 2008-05-13 23:19:41

_saiko
Member
From: systemreich
Registered: 2007-08-06
Posts: 91
Website

Re: rdesktop and copy/paste on remote machine

toofishes wrote:
$ rdesktop --help
         '-r clipboard:[off|PRIMARYCLIPBOARD|CLIPBOARD]': enable clipboard
                      redirection.
                      'PRIMARYCLIPBOARD' looks at both PRIMARY and CLIPBOARD
                      when sending data to server.
                      'CLIPBOARD' looks at only CLIPBOARD.

Maybe 1.6.0 turned it off by default?

gave me hope for a split second... but thats just the option to enable clipboard trasnmission between local and remote.
My problem is cimpletely with remote side. The clipboard doesn't work on remote side.


cat.7 - where crosstalk is not an issue anymore :'(

Offline

#4 2008-05-14 00:10:29

toofishes
Developer
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 602
Website

Re: rdesktop and copy/paste on remote machine

I'd try any get in touch with upstream and see if this is a bug. Sounds like something definitely changed between 1.5.0 and 1.6.0.

Offline

#5 2008-05-14 01:45:57

_saiko
Member
From: systemreich
Registered: 2007-08-06
Posts: 91
Website

Re: rdesktop and copy/paste on remote machine

like i said... it's not the problem with version 1.6.0

it didn't work for me with 1.5.0 too

something else changed


cat.7 - where crosstalk is not an issue anymore :'(

Offline

#6 2011-08-26 20:59:28

Thedemon007
Member
Registered: 2011-08-20
Posts: 8

Re: rdesktop and copy/paste on remote machine

_saiko wrote:

like i said... it's not the problem with version 1.6.0

it didn't work for me with 1.5.0 too

something else changed

Work for me this

rdesktop -r clipboard:PRIMARYCLIPBOARD remote.com

or check this http://cutecomputer.wordpress.com/2007/ … e-desktop/

i have rdesktop 1.7.0 conect to server windows xp sp3

Offline

#7 2011-08-27 00:01:34

bernarcher
Forum Fellow
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-02-17
Posts: 2,271

Re: rdesktop and copy/paste on remote machine

Whom do you tell this in a more than three years old thread?
Please do not necrobump: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … Bumping.27

Closing.


To know or not to know ...
... the questions remain forever.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB