You are not logged in.

#1 2008-05-30 15:46:13

tanis
Member
From: Poland / Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-04-21
Posts: 259

KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

UPDATE:
I have uploaded pack containing all the pkgbuilds and scripts I use (look at the bottom of this post)

UPDATE:
There is new KDE4.1 RC1 repository set, and separate topic: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=51828
Since now this topic will be about SVN packages only.

There are 4 KDE4-svn repositories, updated semi-daily (might be slightly more or slightly less between updates).
There are 2 different repositories for each architecture (i686 and x86_64).
One of them, the release one, contains packages compiled in RELEASE mode.
This means they contain no debugging information, and are less useful for testing and
filling bug reports. On the other hand, those packages are way smaller than those with debugging
information included.

'Debug' repository contains packages compiled in RELWITHDEBINFO mode, meaning that they have
optimization turned on, but also include debug information. Those are larger, but should be more useful for debugging KDE 4.1 problems.

All of the packages can be safely installed next to existing KDE 3.5 installation (since they go to /opt/kde4-svn), but KDE 4 SVN should be used only by a separate user.
Using it as existing user may break existing KDE 3.5 configuration.

If you want to have clean KDE4 installation, working from /usr, and instead of KDE 3.5, have a look at Mark's repositories for KDE4-SVN:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=44507

To use the repository you need to add to /etc/pacman.conf information for chosen repository. This is one of:

i686, release mode:

[kde4-svn]
Server = http://csclub.uwaterloo.ca/~jkschmid/arch/kde4-svn/release/i686

x86_64, release mode:

[kde4-svn]
Server = http://csclub.uwaterloo.ca/~jkschmid/arch/kde4-svn/release/x86_64

i686, debug mode:

[kde4-svn-debug]
Server = http://csclub.uwaterloo.ca/~jkschmid/arch/kde4-svn/debug/i686

x86_64, debug mode:

[kde4-svn-debug]
Server = http://csclub.uwaterloo.ca/~jkschmid/arch/kde4-svn/debug/x86_64

After that, to install KDE 4 SVN packages run:
pacman -Sy kde4-svn-all

You may install individual packages, or just "main" packages with pacman -Sy kde4-svn

If you want to install language files, you need to add following to pacman.conf (they are in separate repository, same for both architectures and debug/relase modes):

[kde4-svn-lang]
Server = http://csclub.uwaterloo.ca/~jkschmid/arch/kde4-svn/lang

Than you could install language files:

pacman -S kde4-svn-l10n-xy, where xy is a language code. For example for german it would be: pacman -S kde4-svn-l10n-de

To remove installed packages just run: pacman -R kde4-svn-all kde4-svn-l10n

To be able to use KDE4 SVN, you also need to modify ~/.bashrc file of the user that is going to use them (once again, this SHOULD NOT be your "normal" user).

Just add this line to your ~/.bashrc file:

. /etc/kde4-svn-profile.sh

Also, make sure that your ~/.bash_profile file either runs .bashrc file, or also contains the same line (with kde4-svn-profile.sh).

After restarting xdm/kdm/gdm/whatever you should be able to choose KDE4-svn from list of available sessions.

All of the repositories try to be as non intrusive to the rest of the system as possible. All KDE4 packages go to /opt/kde4-svn, and if /etc/kde4-svn-profile.sh file is not executed
(and it should be executed only by a special, designated user), they are "invisible" to the rest of the system.

Each repository can be used with Qt 4.4 from [extra], but also include qt-copy (KDE's version of Qt, with small patches). Packages in those repositories were compiled with qt-copy, and if there are any issues with Qt 4.4 from [extra], qt-copy should be installed instead (or the other way around, when qt-copy causes problems, try using qt). qt-copy is the only part of KDE4 that goes into /usr instead of /opt/kde4-svn. If you want to debug KDE4, you should consider using qt-copy, since the version for 'debug' repository is compiled with debugging information included.

Those repositories also include new versions of few packages that needs to be in higher versions that currently available in [extra]: libassuan pyqt sip
(if you use [testing] repository, libassuan from that repo is just fine)
SVN repository also includes packages not present in Arch's official repositories at all: freeimage-cvs gmm++ nvidia-cg-toolkit ogre

It's highly recommended to create separate user to use KDE4, otherwise KDE 3.5 files of existing user can be broken!


If anybody wants to (re)build those packages by himself, here is the pack containing all the pkgbuilds and scripts
I use (for both 4.1 and svn versions): http://sjakub.net/arch/KDE4_scripts.tar.bz2

Last edited by tanis (2008-07-22 22:56:46)

Offline

#2 2008-05-30 16:01:47

tanis
Member
From: Poland / Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-04-21
Posts: 259

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

Sorry, I changed the address (and name) of the repository to have more logical directory structure, if anyone already tried to add it.
I hope it stays like this for a while wink

Offline

#3 2008-05-30 16:49:29

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

tanis, Thank you for this. For several days I've been trying to find a way to install KDE4.1b1 just to take a look. I went to the trouble of installing Mandriva on a spare hard drive, then Kubuntu via VMware. Both distros are supposed to have packages for KDE4.1b1. However, either those packages aren't yet ready, or I fouled up the rather opaque update routine so horribly that I got nowhere.

I was very glad to see that someone had kindly provided KDE4.1b1 on my own familiar home distro. I quickly installed Arch to VMware vdisk and am right now installing KDE4.1b1 from your server.  Sooooo much easier than the other distros, maybe just because I'm more familiar with Arch, or maybe just because Arch is much more straightforward -- or both.

Thanks again.

Last edited by dhave (2008-05-30 16:53:53)


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#4 2008-05-30 16:56:15

tanis
Member
From: Poland / Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-04-21
Posts: 259

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

I'm glad to hear that smile I hope i686 works for you, as I have only tested x86_64 version. Let me know if it works properly!

Offline

#5 2008-05-30 17:44:17

bender02
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-04
Posts: 1,328

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

Offline

#6 2008-05-30 18:07:00

tanis
Member
From: Poland / Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-04-21
Posts: 259

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

bender02: Yes, I know, I have read it.
But this repository provides a way to have KDE4 on normal Arch system in a very non-intrusive way, not affecting existing KDE 3.5
at all.

Offline

#7 2008-05-30 18:52:12

Cagnulein
Member
From: Modena, Italy
Registered: 2006-04-03
Posts: 258
Website

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

great job man!

Offline

#8 2008-05-31 00:01:52

elocal
Member
Registered: 2004-03-18
Posts: 54
Website

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

great stuff, thanks!

so far the only really bad thing i've noticed in kde4 is the slow performance while accessing websites under kde4's konqueror, it is really slow looking up and loading the websites.  Must be some dns or ipv6 bug...

Offline

#9 2008-05-31 01:18:14

Xerion
Member
Registered: 2008-03-20
Posts: 7

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: gnupg2: requires libassuan>=1.0.4

Any idea ?

Offline

#10 2008-05-31 04:03:24

elocal
Member
Registered: 2004-03-18
Posts: 54
Website

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

Xerion wrote:

error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: gnupg2: requires libassuan>=1.0.4

Any idea ?

I did:

pacman -Rd libassuan

and then pacman -S kde4

Offline

#11 2008-05-31 07:27:30

tanis
Member
From: Poland / Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-04-21
Posts: 259

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

kdepim from KDE4 on x86_64 needs libassuan compiled with -fPIC option. This is provided in libassuan-fpic package in the repository.
I'm not sure if it substitutes existing libassuan package, but pacman -Rd libassuan && pacman -S kde4 should be safe, and install libassuan-fpic instead.
There is a bug report for libassuan ( http://bugs.archlinux.org/index.php?do= … k_id=10478), so, in a while, libassuan from [extra] should be OK.
I'll remove libassuan-fpic then.

Last edited by tanis (2008-05-31 07:39:14)

Offline

#12 2008-05-31 13:40:36

fiod
Member
Registered: 2007-04-02
Posts: 205

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

great work, thanks a lot.

Is there a package for amarok2?
(couldn't find it..)

Offline

#13 2008-05-31 17:23:50

Rokixz
Member
From: Šiauliai, Lithuania
Registered: 2007-04-21
Posts: 251
Website

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

Thanks man, I will try today wink


http://ispconfig.lt - ISPConfig 3 based hosting. Coming Soon!

Offline

#14 2008-05-31 18:04:04

staple
Member
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 81

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

any reviews of beta 1? is it still lacking a lot of icons? i want to install but the svn repo was a pain for me

Offline

#15 2008-05-31 19:06:09

Rokixz
Member
From: Šiauliai, Lithuania
Registered: 2007-04-21
Posts: 251
Website

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

No, it's running very good, but nepomunk and konqueror still using a lot cpu at startup (you must kill it every time, but you can easily switch down nepomunk).


http://ispconfig.lt - ISPConfig 3 based hosting. Coming Soon!

Offline

#16 2008-05-31 21:40:37

tanis
Member
From: Poland / Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-04-21
Posts: 259

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

No, Amarok2 was not part of Beta 1 release. I plan to build extragear-multimedia (including, among other things, Amarok2) for beta 1 as well though smile

As for the overall experience, Beta1 finally made me really want to switch smile Some things crash from time to time, but it's definitely usable. And looks VERY nice smile

This repo should allow painless installation on normal Arch (except for libassuan library in x86_64, but this is a minor glitch), so you can install it, try it yourself,
and remove without breaking anything else.

Offline

#17 2008-05-31 23:45:52

xvalentinex
Member
Registered: 2008-05-31
Posts: 22

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

Thanks for the packages, they work great!

Any ideas why the icons don't show up for certain packages?

It's kind of random in that whole packages will be missing icons, and in others just a few will be missing.  Such as openoffice, any of the kdemultimedia4, most of the applications for kdegames4, etc.?

Thanks again, I'm hoping you'll do a kde4.1beta2.

Offline

#18 2008-06-01 04:42:52

DanielW
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 23

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

elocal wrote:

great stuff, thanks!

so far the only really bad thing i've noticed in kde4 is the slow performance while accessing websites under kde4's konqueror, it is really slow looking up and loading the websites.  Must be some dns or ipv6 bug...

Am I correct that you are using an AVM or AVM built OEM router? (the may be some from other vendors affected too).

Its a well known bug an easy workaround not using your local router for DNS but the DNS from your provider (in your resolv.conf) or for example the one from opendns.  Another workaround is to use a local dns proxy.

The bug is: http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=154774  but it is closed now, as it has nothing to do with konqueror.

Further discussion about it is here: http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=162600

Please tell what router you are using.

Offline

#19 2008-06-01 05:01:48

staple
Member
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 81

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

when will they have all the icons?

Offline

#20 2008-06-01 05:51:30

elocal
Member
Registered: 2004-03-18
Posts: 54
Website

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

DanielW wrote:
elocal wrote:

great stuff, thanks!

so far the only really bad thing i've noticed in kde4 is the slow performance while accessing websites under kde4's konqueror, it is really slow looking up and loading the websites.  Must be some dns or ipv6 bug...

Am I correct that you are using an AVM or AVM built OEM router? (the may be some from other vendors affected too).

Its a well known bug an easy workaround not using your local router for DNS but the DNS from your provider (in your resolv.conf) or for example the one from opendns.  Another workaround is to use a local dns proxy.

The bug is: http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=154774  but it is closed now, as it has nothing to do with konqueror.

Further discussion about it is here: http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=162600

Please tell what router you are using.

Yea i figured it out earlier.  I am using the modem's IP as the dns, and telling dhcpcd not to modify resolv.conf.  But even with epiphany or firefox, if i use my router as the DNS it feels slower, not as slow as kde4/konqueror, but it is slower than if I use my modem's IP (or the ISP DNS) in resolv.conf.

My router is an old Netgear WGR614 v4.  Besides the slow DNS lookups, it is giving me some other issues with wireless encryption... it is about time to upgrade it i guess...

Thanks for the info.

Offline

#21 2008-06-01 07:58:47

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

DanielW wrote:
elocal wrote:

great stuff, thanks!

so far the only really bad thing i've noticed in kde4 is the slow performance while accessing websites under kde4's konqueror, it is really slow looking up and loading the websites.  Must be some dns or ipv6 bug...

Am I correct that you are using an AVM or AVM built OEM router? (the may be some from other vendors affected too).

Its a well known bug an easy workaround not using your local router for DNS but the DNS from your provider (in your resolv.conf) or for example the one from opendns.  Another workaround is to use a local dns proxy.

The bug is: http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=154774  but it is closed now, as it has nothing to do with konqueror.

Further discussion about it is here: http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=162600

Please tell what router you are using.

Intersting. I have the same problem and a FritzBox. But I am using pdnsd and did not have any problems with Konqueror 3. With version 4 most websaites do not show up or just time-out. For some reason Konqueror does not use pdnsd; accoring to wireshark it makes pdnsd to allways query the router. Only if I disable the router's ip in pdnsd.conf or set them to an opendns server it does work. Strange, isn't it?

Offline

#22 2008-06-01 11:19:04

n8schicht
Member
From: Südbaden
Registered: 2006-12-27
Posts: 138
Website

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

@tanis: Thanks a lot for the packages! Finally I dared to habe a closer look at kde4(.1) because of your packages.
And I have to say that I really like the new look and feel of KDE4! Now let's get rid of all those nasty bugs and make it the best DE ever!

EDIT: If you are in the mood, maybe you could include gtk-kde4 ( http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show.ph … ent=74689)  and  the QuickLauncher Applet ( http://www.kde-look.org/content/show.ph … tent=78061 )
This would be great...

Last edited by n8schicht (2008-06-01 15:34:39)

Offline

#23 2008-06-02 00:59:05

tanis
Member
From: Poland / Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-04-21
Posts: 259

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

Ok, I added following packages to the repository (some of them include more programs than mentioned):
extragear-utils4
extragear-multimedia4
extragear-base4
extragear-network4
extragear-graphics4

Those were NOT part of Beta1 release, they are based on svn version
from the point Beta1 was created. So they could be less stable
than the rest of packages, or not work at all.

Last edited by tanis (2008-06-02 18:16:18)

Offline

#24 2008-06-02 12:47:20

gothicknight
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2006-04-08
Posts: 219

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

These are great news indeed. I think there's already a repo being made by the arch dev team but breaks normal kde stuff.

I'm currently downloading the packages and hope to report a success later today wink

Offline

#25 2008-06-02 14:52:31

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: KDE 4 SVN package repositories (i686/x86_64, release/debug)

Thanks bunches for the packages tanis... , they installed quite well except for a kdeutils/pycups issue, but I found pycups in the community repo.

I've been running markc's svn packages but wanted to see how they compare to the beta 1 release.  I must say that KDE4 still needs a huge amount of work when compared to the stable 3.5.9 version.  I'm still not even sure just yet that I like the direction the KDE team has taken.

Hopefully, KDE4.1 official will make a true believer out of me.

Thanks again!


oz

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB