You are not logged in.

#1 2008-07-29 00:29:19

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,059

mpd update database?

Isnt there an option to simply update the database as opposed to creating it all over again, if I add a few songs or a directory in my Music folder?

This is what mpd --help shows me

inxs ~ > mpd --help
usage:
   mpd [options] <conf file>
   mpd [options]   (searches for ~/.mpdconf then /etc/mpd.conf)

options:
   --help             this usage statement
   --kill             kill the currently running mpd session
   --create-db        force (re)creation of database and exit
   --no-create-db     don't create database, even if it doesn't exist
   --no-daemon        don't detach from console
   --stdout           print messages to stdout and stderr
   --verbose          verbose logging
   --version          prints version information
inxs ~ >

I even tried using the create-db assuming that it will only update if a db already exists...but I found that it creates the whole thing again. What good does --no-create-db do?


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#2 2008-07-29 00:35:53

fwojciec
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,411

Re: mpd update database?

If you have mpc installed, then you can do "mpc update".

Offline

#3 2008-07-29 00:38:00

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: mpd update database?

From here http://www.archlinux.org/news/267/:

updating the db is now done only from the client-side. the mpd --update-db does not exist any more.

Offline

#4 2008-07-29 01:11:16

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,059

Re: mpd update database?

fwojciec wrote:

If you have mpc installed, then you can do "mpc update".

Thanks I knew about the update option in the client. Sonata and Gmpc also have that option.

skottish wrote:

From here http://www.archlinux.org/news/267/:

updating the db is now done only from the client-side. the mpd --update-db does not exist any more.

But I didnt know that they removed update support from mpd itself.

Thanks

Last edited by Inxsible (2008-07-29 01:12:20)


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#5 2008-07-29 13:31:02

peets
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2007-01-11
Posts: 936
Website

Re: mpd update database?

the mpd "update" command can receive a relative path as argument, allowing you to say which subdirectory of the db you want to update. It's useful when you add only a few songs. Example:

$ cp -r artist/album   /path/to/musicdb/artist
$ mpc update artist/album

The path you give to "mpc update" is relative to the root of the music db you defined in mpd.conf:

$ mpc update /path/to/musicdb/path/to/update-dir # wrong
$ mpc update path/to/update-dir # correct

Offline

#6 2008-07-29 13:48:58

Daenyth
Forum Fellow
From: Boston, MA
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 1,244

Re: mpd update database?

Wow, thanks! I never knew about this!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB