You are not logged in.

#1 2008-09-27 11:21:03

initbox

iptables questions

Right... So I've been thinking about making a simple iptables-firewall that will just DROP everything except the ports I specifically open. I don't really care about using the "allow all the connections that I started"-method.

Would it be practical? I'm not really experienced with ports though, so I'm not really certain about what ports I NEED to have open/un-dropped for basic functioning. I'm guessing atleast 80, 443, 53/67/68? And even if I open 80 and 443 for web browsing, will they appear as closed and not be forced open if I use the ACCEPT flag in iptables?

Would DNS create a problem though? Because of the Kaminsky-issue and the subsequent fix that randomized ports? I'm not really sure if I remember the issue correctly anymore so this might be incorrect tongue (as a client only, that is)

And will I HAVE to use the -p flag for some rules or can I just leave it out and it will count for both TCP and UDP? Oh, and, what would be a reasonable way of finding out the ports I need in case I need to open additional ports. netstat seems to be a bit messy.

Cheers. And first post tongue

#2 2008-09-27 12:12:51

Ramses de Norre

Re: iptables questions

On my laptop I have this simple script:

*filter
:FORWARD ACCEPT [0:0]
:OUTPUT ACCEPT [14:738]
:INPUT DROP [21:1646]

-A INPUT -m state --state RELATED,ESTABLISHED -j ACCEPT 
-A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
-A INPUT -s 192.168.123.1/24 -j ACCEPT

COMMIT

It DROPS all input and allows all output, then I accept related and established connections (otherwise you've got no networking), allow localhost (necessary!) and my intranet. If you need to allow a port, e.g. ssh, you'd add something like

-A INPUT -p tcp --syn -m state --state NEW --dport 22 -j ACCEPT
-A INPUT -p udp -m state --state NEW --dport 22 -j ACCEPT

By the way, you don't need to open port 80 to browse websites, you only want to open that port if you serve webpages.

#3 2008-09-27 12:35:05