You are not logged in.

#1 2004-08-12 08:42:01

ActionNews
Member
From: Augsburg (Germany)
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 150
Website

ArchLinux TV-card Howto?

Hello!

I'm searching a Howto for using my Pinnacle PCTV tv-card with ArchLinux. In the Wiki i didn't find something and the howto i found here doesn't work either (german): http://www.linuxforen.de/forums/showthread.php?t=53804 (when i modifiy my /etc/modules.conf bttv module isn't loaded after reboot)

Do you have any hint?

CU ActionNews


[URL=http://www.nethands.de/athlon/show.php3?user=actionnews]My System[/URL] - one click ahead!

Offline

#2 2004-08-12 08:56:23

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: ArchLinux TV-card Howto?

if you are using kernel 2.6 then modprobe.conf is the right place to put alias and options to it
also helpfull is to enter "v4l" in xorg.conf module section
you can also try to load the module in rc.conf's modules list if it is not loaded automatically

Offline

#3 2004-08-12 09:02:44

ActionNews
Member
From: Augsburg (Germany)
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchLinux TV-card Howto?

Sorry ... i used the wrong conf sad. I'm using Kernel 2.6.7 and i'll try it with /etc/modprobe.conf  :oops: .

CU ActionNews


[URL=http://www.nethands.de/athlon/show.php3?user=actionnews]My System[/URL] - one click ahead!

Offline

#4 2004-08-12 16:16:27

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: ArchLinux TV-card Howto?

If/when you do get it working, it would be nice if you wrote a howto on it. I can't document anything like this because I've never done anything like it. wink

Dusty

Offline

#5 2004-08-12 17:11:13

ActionNews
Member
From: Augsburg (Germany)
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchLinux TV-card Howto?

I can try it wink. But my Englisch isn't the best wink. But frist i must manage to get it working wink. Unfortunally it doesn't work sad.
I wrote following in /etc/modprobe.conf :

#
# /etc/modprobe.conf (for v2.6 kernels)
#
alias char-major-81-* bttv
options bttv radio=0 card=1 pll=1
options tuner type=5

card=1 should be Miro PCTV (which my Pinnacle PCTV is based on)
And tuner type=5 should be a Phillips tuner which is on my tv card.

After reboot the module bttv isn't loaded sad. I can load it manually with "modprobe bttv" but then i've lost the options. With lsmod is see this new modues:

tuner                  17804  0
tvaudio                21388  0
bttv                  146636  0
video_buf              17412  1 bttv
i2c_algo_bit            9352  1 bttv
v4l2_common             5504  1 bttv
btcx_risc               4488  1 bttv
i2c_core               20096  4 tuner,tvaudio,bttv,i2c_algo_bit
videodev                8192  1 bttv

Do you know how i can set options for bttv with modprobe? Hmm ... i'll read the modprobe manpage.

Hmm ... and then i surely have to set permissions for /dev/video0 or /dev/v4l ? I'm using devfs. Don't how, but i'll try to find out smile.

CU ActionNews


[URL=http://www.nethands.de/athlon/show.php3?user=actionnews]My System[/URL] - one click ahead!

Offline

#6 2004-08-12 17:32:56

jochen
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2004-06-01
Posts: 102

Re: ArchLinux TV-card Howto?

Hi, I've got a Miro TV and did it like that:

- /etc/modprobe.conf:
options bttv card=1 tuner=0

- added bttv to MODULES in rc.conf

- /etc/defvsd.conf:
REGISTER v4l/.* PERMISSIONS root.users 660
REGISTER video0 PERMISSIONS root.users 660

That's the way it works for me.

regards,
jochen.

Offline

#7 2004-08-12 18:39:20

ActionNews
Member
From: Augsburg (Germany)
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchLinux TV-card Howto?

Thank you Jochen smile. Your Post helped smile. My tv card now works smile.
So what did i do? Well ....

First of all i had to find out which card and tuner type my tv card uses. Following article helped me:  http://portal.suse.de/sdb/de/2000/08/js … ch_70.html (it's in german)

To find out what card type your tv card uses look at this list:

        0 - AutoDetect
        1 - MIRO PCTV
        2 - Hauppauge old
        3 - ST
        4 - Intel
        5 - Diamond DTV2000
        6 - AVerMedia TVPhone
        7 - MATRIX-Vision MV-Delta
        8 - Fly Video II
        9 - TurboTV
        10 - Hauppauge new (bt878)
        11 - MIRO PCTV pro
        12 - ADS Technologies Channel Surfer TV
        13 - AVerMedia TVCapture 98
        14 - Aimslab VHX
        15 - Zoltrix TV-Max
        16 - Pixelview PlayTV (bt878)
        17 - Leadtek WinView 601
        18 - AVEC Intercapture
        19 - LifeView FlyKit w/o Tuner
        20 - CEI Raffles Card
        21 - Lucky Star Image World ConferenceTV
        22 - Phoebe Tv Master + FM
        23 - Modular Technology MM205 PCTV, bt878
        24 - Askey/Typhoon/Anubis Magic TView CPH051/061 (bt878)
        25 - Terratec/Vobis TV-Boostar
        26 - Newer Hauppauge WinCam (bt878)
        27 - MAXI TV Video PCI2
        28 - Terratec TerraTV+
        29 - Imagenation PXC200
        30 - FlyVideo 98
        31 - iProTV
        32 - Intel Create and Share PCI
        33 - Terratec TerraTValue
        34 - Leadtek WinFast 2000
        35 - Chronos Video Shuttle II
        36 - Typhoon TView TV/FM Tuner
        37 - PixelView PlayTV pro
        38 - TView99 CPH063
        39 - Pinnacle PCTV Rave
        40 - STB2
        41 - AVerMedia TVPhone 98
        42 - ProVideo PV951
        43 - Little OnAir TV
        44 - Sigma TVII-FM
        45 - MATRIX-Vision MV-Delta 2
        46 - Zoltrix Genie TV
        47 - Terratec TV/Radio+

My Pinnacle PCTV is identically constructed as the Miro PCTV, so for me it's card type number 1.

Now the tuner type:

        0 - Temic PAL
        1 - Philips PAL_I
        2 - Philips NTSC
        3 - Philips SECAM
        4 - NoTuner
        5 - Philips PAL
        6 - Temic NTSC
        7 - Temic PAL_I
        8 - Temic 4036 FY5 NTSC
        9 - Alps HSBH1
        10 - Alps TSBE1
        11 - Alps TSBB5
        12 - Alps TSBE5
        13 - Alps TSBC5
        14 - Temic 4006FH5

For my Pinnacle PCTV i need option 5 because my Pinnacle PCTV has a Phillips PAL tuner ( you can find out which tuner is used with your tv card by looking in your tv card documentation or just look at the card. On my Pinncale PCTV there is a big "Phillips PAL"-sticker ).

Next thing was to write following into /etc/modprobe.conf (Kernel 2.6):

alias char-major-81-* bttv
options bttv radio=0 card=1 pll=1
options tuner type=5

Note: if your tv card has a radio tuner change "radio=0" to "radio=1".

To start bttv at boot time you have to add bttv to the modules section in /etc/rc.conf.

At last you have to adjust permissions. Add this to /etc/devfsd.conf:

REGISTER v4l/.* PERMISSIONS root.users 660 
REGISTER video0 PERMISSIONS root.users 660

Now you can reboot or just load bttv with "modprobe bttv" as root.

But how to watch tv now? Simply install kdetv (or any other tv application you want, like xawtv, tvtime, Zapping etc.) with pacman:

pacman -Sy kdetv

So ... have lots of fun smile.

CU ActionNews


[URL=http://www.nethands.de/athlon/show.php3?user=actionnews]My System[/URL] - one click ahead!

Offline

#8 2004-08-13 06:17:52

ActionNews
Member
From: Augsburg (Germany)
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchLinux TV-card Howto?

One problem remains: videotext doesn't work. Perhaps i should try as card type 11 (Micro PCTV Pro) or 39 (Pinnacle PCTV Rave). As far i've seen there is a /dev/v4l/vbi0 device, but no /dev/vbi.
And does any body know where i can find a alevt ArchLinux-package to watch videottext?


[URL=http://www.nethands.de/athlon/show.php3?user=actionnews]My System[/URL] - one click ahead!

Offline

#9 2004-08-13 07:19:03

robot5x
Member
Registered: 2004-01-26
Posts: 266

Re: ArchLinux TV-card Howto?

I thought alevt was included in the xawtv 'suite'??
Also, if you're not loading your bttv module on boot and don't want to use modprobe.conf you can pass the options you want on the command line with modprobe or insmod:

modprobe bttv card=120
modprobe tuner type=5

for example

Offline

#10 2004-08-13 07:25:58

ActionNews
Member
From: Augsburg (Germany)
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchLinux TV-card Howto?

I already installed xawtv but the archlinux package doesn't seem to contain alevt. I also miss the prog scantv to scan for channels with xawtv. I thought it should be part of xawtv too, but seems that the xawtv-package doesn't contain it either.

CU ActionNews

EDIT: PS: Hmm...  when videotext works i'll try to get lirc working. The package lirc+pctv was already installed with xawtv so i hope i only have to load modules in /etc/modprobe.conf ....

alias char-major-61 lirc_serial
options lirc_serial irq=3 io=0x2f8

(This is from my old SuSE 8.2 installation and another PC. So i have to look if irq and io settings are ok.)

... and create a lircd.conf wink.


[URL=http://www.nethands.de/athlon/show.php3?user=actionnews]My System[/URL] - one click ahead!

Offline

#11 2004-08-17 04:30:02

ActionNews
Member
From: Augsburg (Germany)
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchLinux TV-card Howto?

Hmm .. it was easier than i thought to get lirc running:
All i had to do was to install lirc+pctv

pacman -S lirc+pctv

and then add "lirc" to the deamons in rc.config smile.

CU ActionNews

PS: videotext still doesn't work :cry: .


[URL=http://www.nethands.de/athlon/show.php3?user=actionnews]My System[/URL] - one click ahead!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB