You are not logged in.

#1 2009-01-29 22:23:44

T2manner

Is Arch right for me?

I'm currently using Ubuntu.
I switched from Windows to Linux bout 9 months ago.
The main reason I want to switch to Arch is because it is said to be much more simple and lightweight, which is exactly what I want.
I'm not very good with the terminal and shell, but I'm willing to do some extra learning if I need to for Arch.
I'm slowly getting into computer programming too.

#2 2009-01-29 22:25:59

Ashren
Website

Re: Is Arch right for me?

If you're willing to learn you're on the right track. Check out the beginners guide and see if it makes any sense. http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Beginners_Guide

#3 2009-01-29 22:27:48

lucke

Seems like a proper next step if you do want to delve deeper into the Linux world. As long as you're willing to do some reading and learning, you should be a-OK and possibly very happy.

#4 2009-01-29 22:30:07

soupcan

T2manner wrote:

I'm currently using Ubuntu.
I switched from Windows to Linux bout 9 months ago.
The main reason I want to switch to Arch is because it is said to be much more simple and lightweight, which is exactly what I want.
I'm not very good with the terminal and shell, but I'm willing to do some extra learning if I need to for Arch.
I'm slowly getting into computer programming too.

I've only been using Linux for about 3 months now, and I'd say that Arch is fine for anyone with some Linux-know how. You might have a little trouble in the beginning, but nothing you won't be able to fix. You've got nothing to lose, why not try it?

As for speed: I rarely use my Ubuntu install anymore because it's so slow in comparison to Arch, and I've given up on ever turning my windows box again.

#5 2009-01-29 22:35:18

ozar

Welcome to the forums!  smile

Is Arch right for me?

If you have to ask, then you don't know.

If you don't know, then you haven't tried it.

I'd recommend getting after it, and having fun with it... best of luck!  cool

oz