You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-08 16:29:47

thatnewyorker
Member
From: Brooklyn
Registered: 2009-01-24
Posts: 77

Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

After doing a pacman -Syu yesterday, I have not been able to shudown under a normal user. I've tried all the things suggested in the wiki. Its very annoying to have to open the terminal and type 'sudo poweroff' everytime so if anyone can help me, I'd greatly appreciate it. Yes, dbus and hal are in MODULES.


R.I.P In Pieces

Offline

#2 2009-02-08 16:32:11

bgc1954
Member
From: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Registered: 2006-03-14
Posts: 1,160

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

Telling us what WM or DE are you using might help find a solution.

Edit: Are you in the power group in /etc/group?

# gpasswd -a <USERNAME> power

Last edited by bgc1954 (2009-02-08 16:34:10)


Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils ... - Louis Hector Berlioz

Offline

#3 2009-02-08 17:13:01

westend
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 16

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

bgc1954 wrote:

Telling us what WM or DE are you using might help find a solution.

Edit: Are you in the power group in /etc/group?

# gpasswd -a <USERNAME> power

I guess it won't help. The problem maybe happen after recent upgrade the HAL. I got two: this one and second with automount of USB disks. The second is already fixed and problem was in HAL. Still looking for fix of the first problem.


Archlinux? I really like it!

Offline

#4 2009-02-08 18:35:25

fantomas
Member
Registered: 2007-02-23
Posts: 14

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

same problem here after last hal upgrade, cant mount device with hal or cant shudown or reboot xfce session

Offline

#5 2009-02-08 18:53:44

kclive18
Member
From: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Registered: 2008-05-08
Posts: 219

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

Looks like the new version of hal, 0.5.11-7, is causing lots of problems for people.  I would suggest downgrading to 0.5.11-4.  My Athlon X2 box (not in my sig) freezes up whenever I get to the slim login screen, and hal always fails to start.


My Rigs:
- Mid-2007 iMac 20", Intel 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2x1GB DDR2-800, 250GB SATA HDD, and...MIGHTY MOUSE!!! tongue, OSX 10.5 Leopard, ATI Radeon 2400XT 128MB
- HP zv6203cl, AMD Athlon 64 3200 S939, 2x512MB DDR400, 80GB 4200rpm HDD, ATI Radeon Xpress 200M 128MB, Arch i686 cool
- 1986 Gibson SG Junior Cherry Red, Ibanez 15W amp, DigiTech RP250 modeling processor

Offline

#6 2009-02-08 20:37:38

westend
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 16

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

fantomas wrote:

same problem here after last hal upgrade, cant mount device with hal or cant shudown or reboot xfce session

To fix the problem with mounting, please go to HAL page in Wiki and read Troubleshooting. Edit /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf as described.


Archlinux? I really like it!

Offline

#7 2009-02-08 21:23:27

fantomas
Member
Registered: 2007-02-23
Posts: 14

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

ok, I found some info about policykit and hal and my question is: Is power and storage groups now needed? I dont now if I understand right, but it seems like now security is handled by policykit?

Last edited by fantomas (2009-02-09 00:07:32)

Offline

#8 2009-02-08 22:14:21

thatnewyorker
Member
From: Brooklyn
Registered: 2009-01-24
Posts: 77

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

I hope they fix this soon.

Last edited by thatnewyorker (2009-02-08 22:56:00)


R.I.P In Pieces

Offline

#9 2009-02-08 23:52:24

Full_Metal_Yakuza
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-08-21
Posts: 12

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

Same here...
KDE refuses to mount cd or dvd media-just after the recent hal update
I hope that update is coming soon wink


Everything I build I destroy
Everything I love always hurts
Everything I hate I'd rather love
Everything I am is everything I'm not

Offline

#10 2009-02-09 00:20:09

proxima_centauri
Member
From: Nova Scotia, Canada
Registered: 2008-07-17
Posts: 117
Website

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

I was having similar issues, went to System-Preferences-Authorizations.
Make sure you grant yourself permission under the options you want under power management.


Thinkpad T61p - 15.4' WSXGA TFT - 2.5Ghz Intel Core2 Duo T9300 - 2X2GB Kingston RAM - 160GB 7200RPM - NVIDIA Quadro FX 570m - Intel 4965AGN

Offline

#11 2009-02-09 22:33:28

jass0
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 11

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

This made it possible for me to reboot and shutdown:

polkit-action --set-defaults-any org.freedesktop.hal.power-management.reboot yes
polkit-action --set-defaults-any org.freedesktop.hal.power-management.shutdown yes

edit. That was pretty lame advice, here lies the ultimate fix:

westend wrote:
fantomas wrote:

same problem here after last hal upgrade, cant mount device with hal or cant shudown or reboot xfce session

To fix the problem with mounting, please go to HAL page in Wiki and read Troubleshooting. Edit /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf as described.

Last edited by jass0 (2009-02-09 22:48:27)

Offline

#12 2009-02-10 01:43:34

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

fantomas wrote:

same problem here after last hal upgrade, cant mount device with hal or cant shudown or reboot xfce session

Same here for me and xfce4.

Offline

#13 2009-02-10 02:14:25

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

jass0 wrote:
westend wrote:
fantomas wrote:

same problem here after last hal upgrade, cant mount device with hal or cant shudown or reboot xfce session

To fix the problem with mounting, please go to HAL page in Wiki and read Troubleshooting. Edit /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf as described.

This fixed my mounting issue for xfce4.


Does any body have a fix for the xfce4 restart/shutdown issue that keeps redirecting me back to the slim login screen?

Offline

#14 2009-02-10 03:16:38

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,168

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

I am a little surprised, because I havent seen any shutdown issues with the latest version of hal. What WM/DE do you use?

I use openbox and no login manager. Could that be it?


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#15 2009-02-10 09:36:13

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

Inxsible wrote:

I am a little surprised, because I havent seen any shutdown issues with the latest version of hal. What WM/DE do you use?

I use openbox and no login manager. Could that be it?

xfce4 and slim.

Offline

#16 2009-02-10 09:38:25

MattSmith
Member
From: Wellington, New Zealand
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 108

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

For those out there having problems with last HAL update, I did as well, but with a little help I solved it

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=64930


A thing of beauty is a joy forever
                         
                               -John Keats

Offline

#17 2009-02-10 11:23:05

R00KIE
Forum Fellow
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 4,734

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

It seems there are 2 ways to do the same, one is to write it directly in /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf and the other is to use polkit-action that stores changes I don't know where .... I prefer the first option although xml?? Wouldn't a simple well thought plaintext file suffice?
Anyway here's the "complete" shutdown/reboot/automount usb fix I'm using now

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <!-- -*- XML -*- -->

<!DOCTYPE pkconfig PUBLIC "-//freedesktop//DTD PolicyKit Configuration 1.0//EN"
"http://hal.freedesktop.org/releases/PolicyKit/1.0/config.dtd">

<!-- See the manual page PolicyKit.conf(5) for file format -->

<config version="0.1">
    <match action="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-removable">
        <return result="yes"/>
    </match>
    <match action="org.freedesktop.hal.power-management.shutdown">
        <return result="yes"/>
    </match>
    <match action="org.freedesktop.hal.power-management.reboot">
        <return result="yes"/>
    </match>
</config>

R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#18 2009-02-10 13:00:04

Nezmer
Member
Registered: 2008-10-24
Posts: 559
Website

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

I fixed my hal problems following this tip .
I think this should be explained in a news item .


English is not my native language .

Offline

#19 2009-02-10 19:02:49

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

Thank you to everyone re-posting the same Policykit fix for the mounting issue..... westend was the first to point it out with post#6 comment:

westend wrote:
fantomas wrote:

same problem here after last hal upgrade, cant mount device with hal or cant shudown or reboot xfce session

To fix the problem with mounting, please go to HAL page in Wiki and read Troubleshooting. Edit /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf as described.

But there is a SECOND bug that hasn't been fixed yet. It is about the "shutdown" and "reboot" not completing. It just goes back to the login screen. (for xfce4 and slim)


It's being reported by "thatnewyorker" (post#1), westend (post#3), fantomas (post#4), and me (methuselah post#12). It also is in the the BUGS section as comment #6: http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/13162#comment39047

Comment by ugaciaka (ugaciaka) - Monday, 09 February 2009, 03:51 GMT-5
another problem, when I will shutdown pc (i'm using xfce): relogin! I'm using slim...
"failed to execute login command" and relogin

Any ideas from anybody?

Last edited by methuselah (2009-02-10 19:04:38)

Offline

#20 2009-02-10 19:13:53

MattSmith
Member
From: Wellington, New Zealand
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 108

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

an easy way around this, is not to use a login manager if you're using one. I have herd many people with kde having similar problems, however since I don't use the login manager, kde doesn't monitor shutdown or restart of my computer.

use

sudo shutdown -h now

easy. smile


A thing of beauty is a joy forever
                         
                               -John Keats

Offline

#21 2009-02-10 19:19:46

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

MattSmith wrote:

an easy way around this, is not to use a login manager if you're using one. I have herd many people with kde having similar problems, however since I don't use the login manager, kde doesn't monitor shutdown or restart of my computer.

use

sudo shutdown -h now

easy. smile

I have been using the "sudo poweroff" command, and the "sudo reboot -n" command..... It's what I have been doing since last night. I'll use "sudo shutdown -h now" if it's better for my laptop than the "sudo poweroff" command.


.....But I just want to fix my slim and gui shutdown method because it's the "easiest way" to just press the quit button and the shutdown button.


EDIT: also thank you. I know you were just trying to help and point out the easiest and best command to use to shutdown..... I just like to have all of my apps working in the way they are meant to work..... so that is why I was hoping to fix the xfce/slim logout problem.

Last edited by methuselah (2009-02-10 19:38:11)

Offline

#22 2009-02-10 19:39:10

MattSmith
Member
From: Wellington, New Zealand
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 108

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

If you start in CLI mode are you able to issue normal shutdown commands such as the one i posted?


A thing of beauty is a joy forever
                         
                               -John Keats

Offline

#23 2009-02-10 19:48:43

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

MattSmith wrote:

If you start in CLI mode are you able to issue normal shutdown commands such as the one i posted?

I use slim as my login manager. I had originally been using the wrong "shutdown" commands with: "sudo shutdown -n" and "sudo shutdown -h" (without the now)......


So I just used the "sudo poweroff" command and it worked fine. Same as "sudo reboot -n". (I always use that command when in tty1 console)


Your command: "sudo shutdown -h now" works perfectly.  (I didn't know you need the "now" part)


Is it better than the "sudo poweroff" command?


Anyway, all terminal commands aside..... I would like to fix the gui way because that is the way I usually quit/shutdown.

Last edited by methuselah (2009-02-10 19:50:10)

Offline

#24 2009-02-10 19:50:04

Duologic
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2007-11-11
Posts: 249

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

Didn't read to this topic fully, but it seems related to this: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=65070

Offline

#25 2009-02-10 20:01:35

westend
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 16

Re: Can't shutdown after recent upgrade

methuselah wrote:

Thank you to everyone re-posting the same Policykit fix for the mounting issue..... westend was the first to point it out with post#6 comment:

westend wrote:
fantomas wrote:

same problem here after last hal upgrade, cant mount device with hal or cant shudown or reboot xfce session

To fix the problem with mounting, please go to HAL page in Wiki and read Troubleshooting. Edit /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf as described.

But there is a SECOND bug that hasn't been fixed yet. It is about the "shutdown" and "reboot" not completing. It just goes back to the login screen. (for xfce4 and slim)


It's being reported by "thatnewyorker" (post#1), westend (post#3), fantomas (post#4), and me (methuselah post#12). It also is in the the BUGS section as comment #6: http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/13162#comment39047

Comment by ugaciaka (ugaciaka) - Monday, 09 February 2009, 03:51 GMT-5
another problem, when I will shutdown pc (i'm using xfce): relogin! I'm using slim...
"failed to execute login command" and relogin

Any ideas from anybody?

I confirm that solution suggested by ROOKIE fixes bug with reboot on XFCE 4.4.3 with Slim (daemon). I did not test shutdown yet. smile Actually, I combine expressions from Wiki with two last expressions from ROOKIE.

Last edited by westend (2009-02-10 20:10:48)


Archlinux? I really like it!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB