You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-27 04:10:27

ndroftheline

Can't get Wireless up from Core, sitting here like wtf mate?

Hey all

I'm not a newcomer to Linux in general, having been tinkering with it pretty consistently for about four years now, but this is my first attempt at Arch. Basically everybody on every forum who repped Arch was so Raving Fan about it that I had to give it a try. Read it does well on older hardware, which this qualifies as:

IBM Thinkpad 380XD
300mhz PII Processor
96mb SDRAM
3 gig HD

I'm using a Lucent Technologies Orinoco PCMCIA card, which I know works with WEP because I used it under Puppy (maybe there was some kind of special transient firmware fix? Can't recall...)

I've got Core installed and I've followed all the instructions on the Wireless Setup - Arch Wiki page.
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wireless_Setup

I'm actually already familiar with the commands and the process since at the basic level they're the same as with Puppy Linux, which I was running on this system before the last HD wrecked.

I'm manually typing responses of the system since it's not online and I seem to be having difficulty in copying data to the USB stick I'm using, so I can't paste the output directly.

lspci kicks back:

Socket 0 Bridge: [yenta_cardbus] (bus ID: ....)
Socket 0 Device 0: [orinoco_cs] (bus ID: ...)

when I plug in the device, dmesg | tail shows:

Firmware determiend as Lucent/Agere 7.28
Ad0hoc demo mode suported
IIEEE standard IBSS ad-hoc mode supported
WEP supported, 104-bit key
MAC address ....
Station name "HERMES I"
etho: ready
orinoco_cs at 0.0, irq 3, io 0x0100-0x013f

eth0 shows up on ifconfig, and iwconfig. I can even pass the correct essid and key to iwconfig, which subsequently shows up in iwconfig | eth0. Plus, one of the two lights on the card comes on when I give it the right essid and key (without the right key/code the light doesn't come on).

But running dhcpcd results in a time-out, and running iwlist scan says