You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-27 17:21:15

big_gie
Member
Registered: 2005-01-19
Posts: 637

gitweb setup

Hi,

I want to migrate from svn to git and also use gitweb for a nice web interface. I'd like to use git because of its offline capabilities but I still need to have a central "server" a la subversion. I can't seem to make gitweb work though...

SVN repos are located on the server (the absolute paths):
/svn/
  user1 -> /home/user1/svn_repos/
  user2 -> /home/user2/svn_repos/
  [...]
In each /home/user?/svn_repos/ there is many svn repos and/or directories containing repos. A user had to checklout like this:
svn co svn+ssh://server.address.com/svn/user?/repo/location

So I migrated to git with something similar:
/git/
  user1 -> /home/user1/git_repos/
  user2 -> /home/user2/git_repos/
  [...]
and a clone is done with:
git clone ssh://server.address.com/git/user?/repo/location.git

Until now everything works ok but I can't make gitweb works correctly. I have installed lighttpd mostly because of its simplicity over apache. How would I set up gitweb so I can browse:
http://server.address.com/gitweb
and see all different git repos?

I have tried this: http://herckb.com/?p=28 without success (changing /git to /gitweb, and gitweb url to /usr/share/gitweb/). I get 404. I enabled modules redirect, alias, access, cgi, and compress. I added gitweb.cgi to "index-file.names". But right now, browins http://.../gitweb I get a list of:
user1/repo1.git/.git
Cliking on it brings me to:
http://.../gitweb/user1/repo1.git/.git
but with a 404.

Thanx for your help! wink

Offline

#2 2009-02-27 22:30:19

mikesd
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-02-01
Posts: 788
Website

Re: gitweb setup

I do a bit with git but have only installed gitweb once to have a look at it. When I did I just installed it from source as I was on a Debian machine and Debian's git package was out of date. Download the git tarball from the git website and have a look at the INSTALL file *inside* the gitweb directory. I just followed the directions there without problems. Have you configured gitweb by editing the gitweb.conf file?

Offline

#3 2009-02-28 00:23:17

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,622
Website

Re: gitweb setup

lighttpd conf snippet

    alias.url += (
        "/gitweb"   => "/path/to/gitweb.cgi"
    )
    setenv.add-environment = (
        "GITWEB_CONFIG" => "/path/to/gitweb_config.perl"
    )
    cgi.assign              = ( "/path/to/gitweb.cgi" => "" )

then setup your gitweb config values in gitweb_config.perl.
Url would be domain.com/gitweb

Some more info can be found here

Last edited by cactus (2009-02-28 00:24:38)


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#4 2009-09-22 19:45:17

Urkburk
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2007-05-07
Posts: 17

Re: gitweb setup

I would like to use the awesome command to start gitweb:

$ git instaweb

on Arch Linux. I've gotten it working on Ubuntu, but I'm getting "git: 'instaweb' is not a git-command. See 'git --help'." on Arch Linux sad

What it does is starting a http server thread and opening the web browser instantly, without any prior configuration. See http://www.kernel.org/pub/software/scm/ … taweb.html for more info.

Ideas anyone..?

Last edited by Urkburk (2009-09-22 19:46:16)

Offline

#5 2009-10-19 21:28:17

BinkyTheClown
Member
From: The Circus
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 85
Website

Re: gitweb setup

I had to install lighttpd to use `git instaweb` without any additional configuration.


Heeeeeey cat!!!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB