You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-08 15:17:56

rjs
Member
Registered: 2004-04-20
Posts: 23

Unabel to access somesites

I am unable to access any site from the sourceforge network since upgrading to the newest packages.  I have contacted my ISP and they are not blocking the site in any way, I have also verified all my settings and they seem to be the same as what they were before.

The tech support mentioned something about <sourcefore.net> seems to answer ICMP echo requests (ping) intermittently which may indicate a problem on their side.  I have 3 computers connecting through my main machine, and they cannot access the site either,

Only my system has Arch for the moment, and the others run Xandros(wife) and Suse(son), and then MDK on laptop, just an experiment for now, going to arch soon.

If I connect the laptop directly to the cable modem, it can surf sourceforge, as well as the other 2 machines. 

My network is through crossover wires so all of the configurations are done on my machine.  I have had this setup for almost 2 years now with no problems, any ideas?

rjs

Offline

#2 2004-09-09 02:41:29

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Unabel to access somesites

have you tried with the ip address? Maybe your dns isn't resolving for some reason.
There was also an issue with firefox and dns problems posted somewhere in the forums. Have you tried other browsers?


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2004-09-09 05:25:18

rjs
Member
Registered: 2004-04-20
Posts: 23

Re: Unabel to access somesites

I have tried with the ipaddress and I get the following error:

PING 66.35.250.203 (66.35.250.203) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 66.35.250.203 icmp_seq=1 Destination Port Unreachable
From 66.35.250.203 icmp_seq=2 Destination Port Unreachable
From 66.35.250.203 icmp_seq=3 Destination Port Unreachable

I have tried with konqueror, nautilus, galeon, opera, mozilla, firefox.  All have the same error.

I have also tried disabling my firewall and I still get the same results, so I don't think that it is the firewall.

:?:  :x

Offline

#4 2004-09-09 08:42:44

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: Unabel to access somesites

First try traceroute or better mtr (traceroute + ping) on this address. It will tell you how far your packets can go. Then you will know if it's sf.net or your machine/provider.

BTW: some ip classes are blocked by sf.net (and some other servers too) becasue they were previously "special" kind of ip addresses reserved for other purposes. They were often used by crackers/hackers for attacks before and some admins blocked them completly (it's like using 192.168 in public network). Now when there are not enough of ipv4 addresses some of the reserved classes are released for "normal" use.

Offline

#5 2004-09-09 13:43:05

rjs
Member
Registered: 2004-04-20
Posts: 23

Re: Unabel to access somesites

The results for traceroute are:

traceroute to 66.35.250.203 (66.35.250.203), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
 1  10.204.0.1 (10.204.0.1)  5.752 ms  5.137 ms  5.595 ms
 2  24.200.230.153 (24.200.230.153)  4.886 ms  6.192 ms  5.937 ms
 3  24.200.250.125 (24.200.250.125)  7.629 ms  8.054 ms  7.387 ms
 4  10.154.0.250 (10.154.0.250)  7.204 ms  9.939 ms  9.131 ms
 5  if-8-1.core1.Montreal.teleglobe.net (66.198.81.1)  7.813 ms  7.772 ms  8.052 ms
 6  if-6-0.core1.Newark.Teleglobe.net (64.86.84.185)  19.456 ms  16.126 ms  15.924 ms
 7  if-5-0.core2.Ashburn.Teleglobe.net (66.110.8.17)  20.415 ms  19.709 ms  19.979 ms
 8  ix-12-0.core2.Ashburn.teleglobe.net (209.58.27.46)  21.160 ms  23.237 ms  21.993 ms
 9  cpr2-pos-4-0.VirginiaEquinix.savvis.net (206.24.227.61)  38.365 ms  20.486 ms cpr1-pos-4-0.VirginiaEquinix.savvis.net (206.24.227.57)  22.658 ms
10  dcr2-so-4-2-0.Washington.savvis.net (206.24.227.66)  22.119 ms dcr1-so-6-1-0.Washington.savvis.net (208.173.52.114)  21.794 ms  22.464 ms
11  dcr2-loopback.SanFranciscosfo.savvis.net (206.24.210.100)  96.746 ms  94.316 ms  104.938 ms
12  bhr1-pos-0-0.SantaClarasc8.savvis.net (208.172.156.198)  94.393 ms  95.519 ms  97.639 ms
13  csr1-ve243.SantaClarasc8.savvis.net (66.35.194.50)  96.805 ms  95.667 ms  94.447 ms
14  66.35.212.174 (66.35.212.174)  95.766 ms  100.962 ms  97.280 ms
15  sourceforge.net (66.35.250.203)  95.617 ms  96.224 ms  97.536 ms

Ping results are:

PING 66.35.250.203 (66.35.250.203) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 66.35.250.203 icmp_seq=1 Destination Port Unreachable
From 66.35.250.203 icmp_seq=2 Destination Port Unreachable
From 66.35.250.203 icmp_seq=3 Destination Port Unreachable
From 66.35.250.203 icmp_seq=4 Destination Port Unreachable
From 66.35.250.203 icmp_seq=5 Destination Port Unreachable

--- 66.35.250.203 ping statistics ---
6 packets transmitted, 0 received, +5 errors, 100% packet loss, time 5008ms

I am a bit confused because of the results, it seems that I am able to tracerote and mtr the sf.net site, but am unable to ping sf.net.  Other sites still work fine as I am writting in the forum now.

I have only had this problem since I upgraded to kernel26-2.8.3, i think?

Any ideas?????   sad  :?:

Offline

#6 2004-09-09 20:20:54

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: Unabel to access somesites

This is really strange. You can run traceroute and can't ping ?!?.
If it's about this site only it suggests that it's their fault. On the other hand if you can browse it beeing connected diretcly to the router it's not completly broken.
Try using some proxy server which is close to you maybe - not sure if it will help at all but it's still worth trying. You can also try to connect to web server with telnet sf.net 80 to check if it will respond at all.
Check error logs in /var/log and dmesg output for network errors.
Did this start just after kernel upgrade or later? It can be just co-incidence.

BTW I can ping, traceroute and browse sf.net without problems.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB