You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-13 00:36:38

epsilon

Xorg & Openbox help

So I've been trying to solve these issues via IRC for a while, but perhaps I will get some help here. Keep in mind I am very new to Linux (but willing to learn)... so try speaking to me like I'm a 4 year old or your grandparents, otherwise I might be asking questions like "what does it mean to invoke something" (a gem of a question that I had to ask in IRC). Anyways, I've been trying to setup Xorg and Openbox for the past few days.

I installed what I assume are the necessary files when I read the wiki.

When I first installed xorg, I also installed Openbox and added the "exec openbox-session" to the ~/.xinitrc ; It worked, but was a bit buggy when opening the menu (right clicking). I was able to access the options. Because I didn't install a proper video driver, it was very low resolution and the screen margins were wacky.

So I downloaded the proper drivers and the screen was the normal 1280x1024. However, when I right clicked and selected anything it would crash; nothing moving, ctrl+alt+bksp not working either. After this I resolved that it was something from Xorg that is the problem; I made a configuration file, xorg.conf, and placed it in the right directory from the wiki. I have it here: http://rafb.net/p/wjptJT37.html

I did some other things but memory is not exactly great and this was all over the course of days. Essentially the current state is this: in my xinitrc I only have the line "exec xterm" uncommented; however, # X -config /etc/X11/xorg.conf does not do anything; no X, no nothing. startx doesn't do anything, just blanks the screen, then returns to shell.

My xorg log: http://rafb.net/p/TJIIkP79.html

I also tried to install xfce4, but when I start that up I get weird yellow bars across the screen, and everything freezes. The cursor moves, but the cursor state is frozen; a Tips dialog pops up but nothing else. Ctrl Alt Bksp doesn't work.