You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-27 07:31:08

lastchancetosee
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 118

Copy Arch Install to new PC?

Hi,
my computer died on me yesterday (dead motherboard). Since it was a rather old one repairing it will mean replacing the CPU & RAM as well, so all in all a rather complete change in hardware.

Can I transfer my existing Arch install to the new PC?

Alternatively:
Can I at least get the list of installed packages from my old install?


My ship don't crash! She crashes, you crashed her!

Offline

#2 2009-04-27 07:43:34

mikesd
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-02-01
Posts: 785
Website

Re: Copy Arch Install to new PC?

Yes this is possible. There was a thread about this just a couple of days ago. Check B's answer here. As mentioned you will need to tweak a few things. Graphics, fstab, etc.

Last edited by mikesd (2009-04-27 07:45:18)

Offline

#3 2009-04-27 08:17:52

lastchancetosee
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 118

Re: Copy Arch Install to new PC?

Thanks. And a current thread, too. Must have missed that one.


My ship don't crash! She crashes, you crashed her!

Offline

#4 2009-04-28 02:43:50

Peasantoid
Member
Registered: 2009-04-26
Posts: 928
Website

Re: Copy Arch Install to new PC?

Also: Remember to change the volume UUIDs in /boot/grub/menu.lst (assuming you use GRUB, don't know the procedure for other bootloaders). Otherwise it'll just hang at boot until the cows come home.

Offline

#5 2011-01-10 20:32:29

daasdingo
Member
Registered: 2010-09-03
Posts: 9

Re: Copy Arch Install to new PC?

hi, i know this is an old thread. but its where I started from :]

I did exactly what you wrote here,

I copied my arch from my pc to my notebook, but it doesn't work, sadly.

Here is what I did, maybe you will find my mistake:
backup command:
tar cpzvf /media/data/backup/root-`date '+%d-%m-%Y'`.tar --exclude=proc --exclude=lost+found --exclude=mnt --exclude=media --exclude=home --exclude=sys --exclude=dev

boot into a 64bit live cd(sysrescuecd)

mount root partition
extract backup

mount /proc and /dev
# mount -t proc none /mnt/root/proc
# mount -o bind /dev /mnt/root/dev

chroot /mnt/root /bin/bash

edit /etc/fstab /boot/grub/menu.lst for new device UUIDs

run mkinitcpio -p kernel26

initramfs seems to boot until it says(... = uuid of my root partition):
Waiting 10 seconds for device /dev/disk/by-uuid/....
Root device /dev/disk/by-uuid/... doesn't exist. Attempting to create it.
ERROR: Unable to determine major/minor number of root device /dev/disk/by-uuid/....

Maybe someone can figure this out.

Offline

#6 2011-01-10 20:54:07

daasdingo
Member
Registered: 2010-09-03
Posts: 9

Re: Copy Arch Install to new PC?

wow, about 12 reboots later. i figured it out!

the problem was that I had to remove the autoload hook from /etc/mkinitcpio.conf before running mkinitcpio, then it works!

Offline

#7 2011-01-10 21:00:53

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,073

Re: Copy Arch Install to new PC?

daasdingo, Please do not resurrect old threads.

Start a new one and link to the old thread if you think its relevant. Please read our forum rules and abide by them. Specifically #10


Closing...


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB