You are not logged in.

#1 2009-05-10 14:09:17

joeformd
Member
Registered: 2009-05-10
Posts: 2

[solved] can't see any wireless networks on resume from standby

First time poster - really liking Arch so far, but I've run into a problem.

On resume from standby, my system cannot see any wireless networks, including the one it was using before standby.

My laptop is an HP NC6000 with an Atheros wireless chip.

$ iwlist ath0 scan

No scan results

I have tried restarting networkmanager - this has no effect.

I can't see any relevant errors anywhere in the console or in the logs, other than this in daemon.log when I restart networkmanager:

ath0: driver is 'ath_pci'
ath0: driver does not support SSID scans (scan_capa 0x00).

Any help would be great - please let me know if posting any config files/logs would be useful.

Joe

Last edited by joeformd (2009-05-10 18:31:38)

Offline

#2 2009-05-10 16:32:37

firecat53
Member
From: Lake Stevens, WA, USA
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,542
Website

Re: [solved] can't see any wireless networks on resume from standby

Standby/resume can be problematic smile Try to remove the module for your wireless device -- sudo modprobe -r ath_pci (or whatever the module name is -- you might have to look around for this), and then reinsert it 'sudo modprobe ath_pci' then restart networking 'sudo /etc/rc.d/network restart' or networkmanager restart.

If this works, you can add it as part of /etc/pm/sleep.d/00user something like:

#!/bin/sh
# User added suspend/resume hooks 

#. "${PM_FUNCTIONS}"

suspend_user()
{
        /etc/rc.d/mpd stop
        umount -lt cifs -a
}

resume_user()
{
        /etc/rc.d/anacrond restart
        /etc/rc.d/mpd start
}

case "$1" in
        hibernate|suspend) suspend_user ;;
        thaw|resume) resume_user ;;
        *) exit $NA ;;
esac

either removing the module before suspend and then reinserting it after, or doing both after a suspend, depending on what works best.

Good luck!

Scott

Offline

#3 2009-05-10 18:22:03

joeformd
Member
Registered: 2009-05-10
Posts: 2

Re: [solved] can't see any wireless networks on resume from standby

Fantastic! Thanks for your quick and helpful reply - everything is now working properly.

My custom sleep script:

#!/bin/sh
# User added suspend/resume hooks

#. "${PM_FUNCTIONS}"

suspend_user()
{

        modprobe -r ath_pci

}

resume_user()
{

        modprobe ath_pci
        /etc/rc.d/networkmanager restart

}

case "$1" in

        hibernate|suspend) suspend_user ;;
        thaw|resume) resume_user ;;
        *) exit $NA ;;

esac

It wasn't working to begin with - so I checked /var/log/pm-suspend.log

I'd made a schoolboy error in not making it executable (sudo chmod u+x 00custom)

Thanks again!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB