You are not logged in.

#1 2009-05-21 12:59:53

chrispoole

WRT54GL using old modem/router as modem component?

I'm constantly having little issues with my ADSL modem/router, which is some Taiwanese unbranded model that my girlfriend provided.

As such, I'm thinking about buying the WRT54GL, and using Tomato or perhaps OpenWRT.

Given that this is just a router, I'll need an ADSL modem too. Will my current modem/router model be able to perform as the modem only?

(Or does it really depend exactly what my router is capable of? If so, are there any settings that I should look out for in the router web config pages, because I'm quite new to this stuff.)

Thanks.

#2 2009-05-21 13:35:52

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Website

Re: WRT54GL using old modem/router as modem component?

You can simply bridge your present modem/router smile.

I'm doing the same with the pesky modem/router I got from my ISP...

Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

#3 2009-05-21 13:55:40

chrispoole

B wrote:

You can simply bridge your present modem/router smile.

Thanks. I'll check when I get home to see if it supports running just as a modem.

#4 2009-05-21 14:32:43

Forum Fellow
Website

It often requires some digging into the modem settings, and even more often your ISP isn't happy with it if you try to do that stuff (I once called the helpdesk and the guy on the other end nearly started shouting at me for it tongue).

I think the protocol in question is called RFC 1483... I've been staring at those pages too long big_smile

OpenWRT would be an awesome pick btw, their latest incarnation just blew me away - their web interface is absolutely stunning - better than a lot of commercial implementations.

Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

#5 2009-05-21 14:55:48

chrispoole