You are not logged in.

#1 2009-06-08 09:47:28

stabele

Newbie Corner is overused

My fellow Archer's, I am pretty new in Arch community so maybe I speak out of line now. But one things about forums I found making them less usefull - it seems to me that Newbie Corner takes many not-so-newbie posts that in my oppinion bellongs into other forums. I admit I did this myself - if you post question into Workstation User, Laptop Issues or Multimedia and Games chances are you get any response much later. On the other hand now in Newbie Corner if you don't get attention in few hours, your post gets lost under many new topics. It works like self-fulfilling prophecy - more people behave like there is only one Arch forum makes more other people to behave like this. It seems to me that Arch is getting more popullar fast, so there is many new users and it is great that many advanced users tends to help (us) newbies, but overusing Newbie Corner makes this harder.

I do not know if others share this opinion. If so, maybe some encouraging in sticky post and sometimes moving advanced topics to other forums by moderators can help a bit (I know they have other things to do than 24/7 correcting minor problems like this, but from time to time it can send message). And when replying to questions in Newbie Corner which seems to belong more into other forum just point it out with response.

Also Newbie Corner has now 9 (nine) sticky posts. They have important informations and rules, but I thing they could be boiled down to 2-3 (including Hello Everyone Thread), I guess it could make actually more people reading them and following them (wrong topics, not marking solved topics [SOLVED] is pretty often now).

edit: better topic + minor changes

Last edited by stabele (2009-06-08 10:09:19)

#2 2009-06-08 12:57:26

ngoonee
Forum Fellow

Re: Newbie Corner is overused