You are not logged in.

#826 2015-11-26 03:28:23

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Fuxino wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

dwm is perfect!

Behold the glory:
http://s15.postimg.org/8ygpzlx9z/screen_Fetch_2015_09_10_22_48_45.jpg

Leave it alone tongue

I love the 3-bit binary names for the tags, I just copied it tongue

https://i.imgur.com/MzrreJD.png

I thinks that's cool too...it does take up a lot of space though


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

#827 2015-11-26 03:30:13

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Fuxino wrote:

what is that red icon up in your tray? is that just Skype, turned off?


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

#828 2015-11-26 03:47:56

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

wildfowl wrote:

DWM desperately needs more fluidity to its interface. The interface is a little too rigid in my view. More tiling options and a little more intuitive tiling schemes are needed. AwesomeWM does feel more fluidic and comfortable.

Well, three things:
1) You have to spend more than 5 minutes learning how to use it.

2) All of the settings are available in the config file which you have to edit before compiling and installing. The developer even states in so many words that it is pointless for distributions to provide
    binary installers for this WM.

and,

3) Many of the options, including additional layouts, system tray, and other added functionality are easily available in the form of "patches" via the website http://dwm.suckless.org/patches/. They are intentionally left out because the point behind dwm is to be no more, and no less than the window manager the user needs.

You referred to "Awesome" as a better alternative because of it's enormous number of features. Let me ask you something; Do you use all. or even a fraction of all those features? If your answer is no, then perhaps you should reconsider.

Most of the time, when someone wants a powerful WM geared toward power users, I steer them toward i3, but only because it's a bit more inclusive, and has a runtime config file. dwm is admittedly a WM for those of us that like to tweak, and tinker. If you're the type who would rather get hit by a car, rather than tinker with source code, should probably stick withe something easier, such as i3.

Last edited by wchouser3 (2015-11-26 21:34:53)


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

#829 2015-11-26 21:22:26

Fuxino
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2014-09-26
Posts: 100

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

wchouser3 wrote:

what is that red icon up in your tray? is that just Skype, turned off?

Yep, it's just skype big_smile


Regitered Linux user #590502

"Forget Jesus. The stars died so that you could be here today." Lawrence Krauss

Offline

#830 2015-12-21 04:47:36

jgr
Member
Registered: 2015-12-21
Posts: 8

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

This isn't mine but I was wondering if anyone could answer some questions I have about it; how do I get a statusbar like that at the top and what is the bottom bar? Is it a list of clients in the current tag? (i'd really like that if that's what it is)

http://dwm.suckless.org/screenshots/dwm-20101101.png


--  read the Forum Etiquette and only post thumbnails http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/For … s_and_code [jwr] --

Offline

#831 2015-12-21 05:18:34

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 23,818
Website

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

That is an old one of mine. The top bar is conky piped to dzen (I have since given up on that and just use a shell script). The bottom bar is my tmux status, you can find that in my configs.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#832 2015-12-22 01:27:32

jgr
Member
Registered: 2015-12-21
Posts: 8

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

@jasonwryan Can't believe I didn't notice that was tmux! I'm currently working on emulating your status bar for my own config using https://github.com/gstk/siji for the icons because yours is really great. I'll post a screenshot when it's done.

BTW If anyone does know how to get a list of clients for the current tag to display in a statusbar I would greatly appreciate it!

EDIT: @jasonwryan I've been going through your config a lot and am a little confused about how to use the statuscolors patch, the documentation for it seems a little lax. On the patch page it says to pipe the status line into dwm (that doesn't seem right). However in yours you set the color codes in xsetroot, however when I try to do that I just get block chars around my status bar text. I'm using dwm-git from aur so i'm applying the dwm-6.1-statuscolors patch, which applies fine but doesn't include the colors array in config.h that the patch seems to depend on :S. I did end up adding the array myself, is there something I missed?

EDIT: nevermind, I hadn't set the array up properly. here's an updated statuscolors patch that adds the necessary changes to config.h

Last edited by jgr (2015-12-22 18:08:15)

Offline

#833 2016-01-07 11:40:18

skulltus
Member
Registered: 2016-01-07
Posts: 3

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

This is my DWM configuration.

Clean:


Dirty:




-- read the rules and only post thumbnails https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=61754  [jwr] --

Offline

#834 2016-01-09 17:04:05

drkhsh
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2015-10-25
Posts: 3
Website

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Clean:
iraQlJH.png

Dirty:
RosW415.png

You can find my DWM fork / config and all my dotfiles on my GitHub account! X-Post from January Screenshots Thread

Offline

#835 2016-03-11 21:57:52

Kingd
Member
From: germany
Registered: 2014-04-04
Posts: 4

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

@drkhsh: Very nice, thanks for sharing!

Offline

#836 2016-04-15 06:13:54

yuga252
Member
Registered: 2016-04-10
Posts: 12

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

jgr wrote:

This isn't mine but I was wondering if anyone could answer some questions I have about it; how do I get a statusbar like that at the top and what is the bottom bar? Is it a list of clients in the current tag? (i'd really like that if that's what it is)

http://dwm.suckless.org/screenshots/dwm-20101101.png


--  read the Forum Etiquette and only post thumbnails http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/For … s_and_code [jwr] --

How to add icon in statusbar dwm?whether we must patch dwm for display the icons?

Offline

#837 2016-06-05 21:30:24

wellviana
Member
From: Guarulhos, BR
Registered: 2016-04-05
Posts: 1

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Offline

#838 2016-08-28 17:38:57

Alamot
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2016-08-28
Posts: 1
Website

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Clean: http://imgur.com/VngTuAP

Busy: http://imgur.com/or5lfR8

Wifi indicator: http://imgur.com/EnAptHH

Github: https://github.com/Alamot/adwm

Features:
* Alpha patch (aka transparency)
* Better key assignment (e.g. tags on numpad keys)
* Change keyboard layout using the mouse buttons
* Pertag patch
* Runorraise patch
* Query mouse pointer focus
* Status2d patch
* Systray patch
* Three different clickable ClkStatusText areas (Left/Middle/Right)
* Viewontag patch
* Xft support
* XPM icons/pictures support
* Zoomswap patch

Status bar indicators (written in C) for:
* Keyboard layout (with country flags)
* Load average
* CPU temperature
* Available memory
* Wifi connection status, signal and txrate (using the nl80211 interface)

Last edited by Alamot (2016-08-28 21:32:55)

Offline

#839 2016-10-16 20:52:30

olliemath
Member
From: Lancaster, UK
Registered: 2014-12-16
Posts: 13

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Loving the simplicity of DWM right now smile My current minimal setup:

Clean:
ixI6fP7.jpg

Fake busy:
0LVnNaP.jpg

Offline

#840 2016-10-16 21:20:10

olliemath
Member
From: Lancaster, UK
Registered: 2014-12-16
Posts: 13

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

yuga252 wrote:

How to add icon in statusbar dwm?whether we must patch dwm for display the icons?

I think those are just unicode glyphs rather than true icons - you just need a font that supports them - search for tutorials on the subject.

Offline

#841 2016-10-16 21:29:24

bstaletic
Member
Registered: 2014-02-02
Posts: 658

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

olliemath,

A floating window? In a dynamic tiling window manager? Herecy! big_smile

Offline

#842 2016-10-16 22:01:09

olliemath
Member
From: Lancaster, UK
Registered: 2014-12-16
Posts: 13

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

bstaletic wrote:

A floating window? In a dynamic tiling window manager? Herecy! big_smile

I know, I know .. I'm a terrible person

big_smile

Last edited by olliemath (2016-10-16 22:03:06)

Offline

#843 2016-12-03 21:08:41

sergio.correia
Member
Registered: 2012-04-02
Posts: 4

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Been using DWM for the past few months and loving it so far.

Clean:

369pB5Nm.png

Busy:

JEJIFdlm.png

Offline

#844 2017-01-15 23:07:04

scoubi707
Member
Registered: 2017-01-15
Posts: 1

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Hi sergio.correia, I really like your status bar (looking like vim powerline) with all these icons too. Could you please post your config files ?? Thank you very much !!

Offline

#845 2017-01-16 03:43:03

sergio.correia
Member
Registered: 2012-04-02
Posts: 4

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

scoubi707 wrote:

Hi sergio.correia, I really like your status bar (looking like vim powerline) with all these icons too. Could you please post your config files ?? Thank you very much !!

Hello,

I don't have it like that anymore, as I ditched the systray and changed mostly the colors, to something more monochromatic. Here's the current config:

Screenshot:

zYQQd07l.png

I started off with this guy's setup: https://github.com/kusk/dwm
And I just uploaded my repository at https://github.com/qrwteyrutiyoup/dwm


Font:
I am using this font: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/qrwte … p-bold.ttf


Status:
The status uses this program, written in Go: https://gist.github.com/qrwteyrutiyoup/ … 05203ebcd0
To build it:

$ go build

inside the directory containing the source file. You need Go installed, naturally.

The status program needs a config file like this one: https://gist.github.com/qrwteyrutiyoup/ … e58602bb8a

You run it like

program-name config-file

, passing the config JSON file as parameter.

For this config, you need to adjust the network interface (wlp2s0, in my case) and the sound device (1, in my case. You can check the available devices with

$ pactl list sinks short

If you use a different font, you can specify the Unicode glyphs you want to use for the calendar, clock, etc.

Kinda messy, but I didn't get back to this to make it more intuitive.


Colors:
If you intend to change the colors, to make it like it was in my previous post you will basically deal with the colors array in config.h and also in the Go status program, in the var block.

Good luck and hope this can be useful to you. Feel free to ask if you have questions/issues.

Offline

#846 2017-02-09 16:51:24

skulltus
Member
Registered: 2016-01-07
Posts: 3

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Offline

#847 2017-02-25 06:07:16

totolotto
Member
From: Hungary
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 111

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

Edit: moved to other thread

Last edited by totolotto (2017-02-25 07:03:58)

Offline

#848 2017-02-25 06:33:58

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 23,818
Website

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

This is a screenshot, not a support, thread...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#849 2017-06-12 07:55:09

ctddj
Member
Registered: 2017-06-12
Posts: 1

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

0

Last edited by ctddj (2017-10-22 02:45:04)

Offline

#850 2017-07-27 18:15:03

Hessu
Member
From: Helsinki / Finland
Registered: 2017-01-21
Posts: 10
Website

Re: Show off your Dwm configuration!

My dual screen DWM

Nothing fancy, except fancybar (pun intended) and uselessgap pathces. Changed the top bar color from gray to black, that's it.

I'm totally ditching XFCE4 and Fluxbox, this is just so fantastic. Modified Win + num to spawn suitable programs corresponding the tag, like Win + 1 spawns urxvt, Win + 4 spawns Spotify etc.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB