You are not logged in.

#1 2004-10-17 19:10:02

Dreameen
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-09-06
Posts: 252

testing ssh

Is it possible to test my ssh configuration by, for example:

-trying to connect to my machine from a web site that allows me to connect from a different IP.

I'd like to know if it's possible to test ssh connection from the same machine at all??

Offline

#2 2004-10-17 19:35:14

Mith
Member
From: out there
Registered: 2004-10-05
Posts: 163

Re: testing ssh

I know it's possible to connect to yourself.. but I noticed that that doesn't automatically mean that others from "outside" can connect to your machine..
my advise.. ask a friend if he/she can try to connect to you. I guess that would be easiest.. or pm me smile


ArchLinux (x86_64) w/ kdemod

Offline

#3 2004-10-17 21:23:06

Dreameen
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-09-06
Posts: 252

Re: testing ssh

Ok. I think it's working. I'll test it thoroughly from one of the computers at school. I'll try establishing a connection from a windoze machine using Putty. Now, is it possible to work on my Xfce4 on a remote session using Putty??

If it's possible, should I leave my unix server in command line or should I  startx before going to school?

Offline

#4 2004-10-17 22:33:06

paranoos
Member
From: thornhill.on.ca
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 442

Re: testing ssh

The SSH server is a daemon, which means it's constantly running while your computer is on. It doesn't matter if your computer is in console mode or X.

If your home computer is networked and behind a NAT router, one way to test the connection is to try to connect using your external WAN IP address, the one your ISP assigned to your modem. If your SSH server is down, or your router won't let the connection through, then you won't be able to connect.

Offline

#5 2004-10-18 09:25:02

Winkie
Member
Registered: 2004-09-30
Posts: 59

Re: testing ssh

Dreameen wrote:

Ok. I think it's working. I'll test it thoroughly from one of the computers at school. I'll try establishing a connection from a windoze machine using Putty. Now, is it possible to work on my Xfce4 on a remote session using Putty??

If it's possible, should I leave my unix server in command line or should I  startx before going to school?

Yes it is (the answer to everything with linux is generally 'yes' smile)

Two ways to do it
1. Install Cygwin and an X server etc on your school machine, this will allow you to do client/server X and is very swanky and pretty, but probably not what you had in mind
2. Install TightVNC on your school machine and set it up at home, this will allow you to view your screen ala windows remote desktop, not the best but better than nothing.

Offline

#6 2004-10-18 10:03:36

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: testing ssh

or...
ssh into your school account.
once in there, turn around and ssh back to your box.
should test it both ways.

heh..nothing like sending packets far away, and then back to yourself. You can even work on your own pc! send yourself a message!
ack. I need sleep. Getting loopy.
<please pause for station identification.....beeep-booop>


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#7 2004-10-18 17:17:04

Dreameen
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-09-06
Posts: 252

Re: testing ssh

Well. I thought it was as easy as enabling X11 forwarding in sshd.config. Anyway, i'm going to try it tommorow, using Putty for a start, as it seems to be ssh compatible and i don't hve to install any additional software on my unix server.

TightVnc will be my next destination when i have some free time. Thanks for the clues. The very idea of working on my unix machine remotely is exciting, not to mention being able to navigate in my favourite WM. I hope that Putty will do the trick..wish me luck;)

Offline

#8 2004-10-18 18:01:52

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: testing ssh

putty will do X forwarding, but you have to have an X server running on the windows side for it to talk to. Remember, X forwarding just forwards the X data from the remote computer, through a tunnel, to your local X server.

I use Cygwin's X server when I must use a winderz box and putty. It works well. There is even a script that starts it in background mode, so you don't have any dos terminals open, but a little icon in the tray. Cygwin is free too.
Downside is if you can't install software, then you can't use it...

If you want an easy/full UI experience, I would definately give VNC a try.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#9 2004-10-19 13:28:00

Dreameen
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-09-06
Posts: 252

Re: testing ssh

+
TightVNC worked for me. The quality of the display wasn't too good but I think it's the matter of choosing the right compression method/level for the connection.
-
I wasn't able to ssh into my machine using Putty. The login screen popped up, then I typed the name and password for my user but it'd wouldn't let me in. I'm sure that it's just a minor configuration trick as well.
+-
So, generally i'm very satisfied with the results. Will study Putty configuration on my Windoze system, so if you'd like to serve as a testing ground, just PM your IP,port,test user,pass.

Thanks for all the tips and info on this topic. It's really magical to work on my favourite system from distant locations. My friend was impressed as well, his first question was: -Is it possible to do it with Windows??  tongue

Offline

#10 2004-10-20 02:02:29

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: testing ssh

Dreameen wrote:

Is it possible to do it with Windows??  tongue

yes, but it requires MUCH more bandwidth.
Virtual desktop is not the "pimp's rings" like good ol remote console'd ssh is.
Winderz land also has "Windows Services for Unix", which has an sshd deamon in it, but it is such a crappy kludge...bah.
Just tell him NO and be done with it...
lol  wink


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#11 2004-10-20 14:36:15

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: testing ssh

i would suggest cygwin's X server - it actually works surprisingly well

Offline

#12 2004-10-20 15:51:42

Dreameen
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-09-06
Posts: 252

Re: testing ssh

cactus wrote:

Just tell him NO and be done with it...
lol  wink

I've already told him that it's possible, but anyway he's behind a NAT, so probably he'll give up on that one.:lol:

@phrakture: Cygwin X server is my next target;)

btw. the 1st question/request of my other friend was:

-Show us some porn you got there big_smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB