You are not logged in.

#1 2009-09-30 04:50:26

M177ER

[solved] Home network questions

I have an old desktop running Arch (Desktop 2 below) that I am interested in using as a server to back up pictures and important files. I need to setup a home network but I have no idea how as I've never done it before. The computers I have are:

Desktop 1 - Dualboot (2 hard drives) Windows XP / Arch - wired connection to router
Desktop 2 - Arch - wired connection to router - I don't have a montior for this but it sits under the desk beside Desktop 1 and can be hooked to a monitor if need be.
Laptop - Arch - wireless

I would like to:
A) On Desktop 1
i) move files between the 2 dualboot hard drives no matter which OS I am running. While in Arch I have ntfs-3g which works great. I don't currently have a way to read write to the Arch hd while in Windows but I have found the "Ext2 Installable File System For Windows" http://www.fs-driver.org/ which looks to do exactly what I want.

ii) read and write files to Desktop 2 for backup purposes

B) On Destop 2
i) read and write files to Desktop 1 no matter which OS is running to either hd (if possible)

C) On Laptop
i) read and write files on Destop 1 no matter which OS is running and on either hd

ii) read and write files on Destop 2

Note: Having the desktops manipulate files on the laptop would be nice but not essential.

I need to know how to make this all happen. I think I need SAMBA on Desktop 2 but will it matter which OS desktop 1 is running? What do I need to setup on Windows?

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by M177ER (2009-10-10 02:01:05)

#2 2009-09-30 05:29:14

stryder

Re: [solved] Home network questions