You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-03 17:03:45

m_ad

Opinion: Best Netbook WM?

Just wondering what different opinions are out there; what's the best window manager for a netbook?

In my case, specifically a Lenovo S12: 1GB Ram, 1.6GHz Atom, Integrated VGA.

I was thinking about going with a tiling WM, such as awesome, wmii, ion3 or dwm. However, I've never used a tiling WM.

I use the netbook primarily for web browsing and java programming in vim (I'm a student). Any opinions would be great!

Thanks.

#2 2009-10-03 17:20:52

Lich

Re: Opinion: Best Netbook WM?

If that's all you do then a tiling WM is a good choice(out of your 3 names I'd go with ion3..nothing beats manual tiling + tabbing)
If you want to go with a more traditional WM, I suggest you try Fluxbox. Used it for years and I still find it to be one of the best non-tilers out there. It's small, customizable, has a bar and systray, has virtual desktops, has per app settings, even some basic "special effects"...it has all that you want from a non tiling WM, and all this without memory hogging.
ps: oh it also has the slit, which allows you to use WindowMaker dockapps, and some of those simply rule.

Last edited by Lich (2009-10-03 17:21:33)

Archlinux | ratpoison + evilwm | urxvtc | tmux

#3 2009-10-03 17:21:05

scio

I agree, tiling WMs are great for netbooks.  My Eee 1000HE is currently running awesome and it is great!  Was running kdemod before that which works just as well, but I found myself always using full screen or splitting vim windows when needed.  Also, I tend to use screens (workspaces) more often with tiling WMs which also greatly helps.

So, my vote is awesome.  I know there will be a flood of xmonad users incoming since it appears to be the flavor of the week, but almost all tiling WMs are very similar and will all work great.  The big plus for awesome is that almost everything can also be done with the mouse if you need it which makes transitioning easy.

#4 2009-10-03 17:23:40

m_ad