You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-09 04:51:06

linuxguy

[SOLVED]nm-applet doesnt load

hi i have just installed arch linux and this seems really cool.  i like it a lot (i still have a LOT of work to do to make it all the way i want) and im still gonna have to do a LOT of reading before im an expert at pacman and AUR amoung other things.

i just installed nm-applet bcause i want to connect to wireless networks but it fails to run.

in my gnome startup list i have nm-applet --sm-disable

i can connect manually in the terminal by using iwconfig.  this wont help me when i am at the university though since we have an 802.1x system (doesnt ever work great with linux by my expirience with different distros. nm-applet version .66 worked pretty well if i remember correctly though).

anyway how can i get nm-applet to work?

i tried to ask for help in the IRC but i got this statement

Please register with services and use the IDENTIFY command (/msg nickserv help) to speak in this channel

ill have to google that in the morning and figure out what needs to be done for that; im just too sleepy for it now wink

thanks.

Last edited by linuxguy (2009-10-09 15:45:42)

#2 2009-10-09 05:05:35

Inxsible
Forum Fellow

Re: [SOLVED]nm-applet doesnt load

are you open to other applications? I have always found wicd to be the best one available to connect to wireless networks.

you can search the repositories for wicd using the search flags in pacman and install it.

Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

#3 2009-10-09 15:36:46

linuxguy

ok someone sent me a pm and said i needed to add networkmanger to my deamons list.  that seems to have worked for now. 

i am interested in trying wicd to see if it works better with the 802.1x network at the university. 

this is kinda a weird story: