You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-15 01:12:00

fsckd
Forum Fellow

@hal @cron in rc.conf

I was under the impression it is a bad idea to background hal in rc.conf. Yet, I have read some remarks here and there by people who have done so with no negative effects experienced.

Also, is it safe to background cron? I'm using dcron (Dillon's Cron Daemon).

Thanks.

fyi: DAEMONS=(syslog-ng @network @dnsmasq !netfs crond hal @sensors)

aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

#2 2009-10-15 01:46:33

Inxsible
Forum Fellow

Re: @hal @cron in rc.conf

I have backgrounded everything except syslog-ng. Have been running since the last 4-5 yrs. No issues.

Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

#3 2009-10-15 01:54:31

guzz46

I'm no expert on the subject but i think if you are booting into a GUI it's best not to background hal, i have tried it before and ended up with a locked system (no mouse movement or keyboard input)

Also i think it's best if you start hal after syslog-ng
DAEMONS=(syslog-ng hal @network @dnsmasq !netfs @crond  @sensors)

I have crond backgrounded and have experienced no problems

#4 2009-10-15 03:27:44

fsckd
Forum Fellow

Thanks for your suggestion guzz46. Is there any reason why that order is preferred?

Inxsible, do you boot to a GUI?

#5 2009-10-15 03:42:22

guzz46

I think certain services and/or daemons depend on hal to be running before they start otherwise you could end up with problems.

#6 2009-10-15 03:42:52

Inxsible
Forum Fellow

fsckd wrote:

Thanks for your suggestion guzz46. Is there any reason why that order is preferred?

Inxsible, do you boot to a GUI?

I do not use any DM ...I use startx to directly take me to the desktop. And yes, my WM is musca and I do use a bunch of other GUI apps

Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

#7 2009-10-15 05:25:58

gog