You are not logged in.

#1 2009-11-04 16:24:19

DmitriKill

Ubuntu user, new to Arch,

Hi,

I am about to install Arch on a laptop that already runs Ubuntu (9.10). I want to keep Ubuntu, and all of the files currently on Ubuntu, intact. In other words, I don't want to accidentally delete my Ubuntu partition while installing Arch. Is there a good way to ensure that this doesn't happen? It might be extremely obvious, and I might be acting a little over-cautious, but it is extremely important that I don't lose the data on Ubuntu (I am a graduate student with tons of papers and shiz on my comp).

I know that Ubuntu has Disk Utility, which allows you to partition your hard disk, name the partition, and name the partition type. Would I see the partition (recognizable by name or space availability) during Arch install? When I attempted it earlier, it seemed to just give the total space of my hard disk (60GB) with no identifying information (and I must confess that I freaked and quit the installation without really exploring the available options--I didn't want to accidentally hit "enter" and screw myself and my academic career). Is this actually the case?

I guess to summarize, what is the best way to partition the hard disk and install Arch that minimizes the risk of the accidental reformatting of existing partitions?

Thanks in advance big_smile

#2 2009-11-04 16:27:21

DmitriKill

Re: Ubuntu user, new to Arch,

By the way, the existing partitions are: (1) 37GB Ubuntu; (2) 1GB swap space; (3) 13GB free space (formerly XP partition, now gone and dead); and (4) 9GB free space. I want to put Arch on #3, 13gigglebites!, or potentially take a gigglebite or two from the 9gigglebite partition and give it to the 13gigglebite.

#3 2009-11-04 16:32:55

mrunion
Website

I think I would back everything up I wanted to keep to CDs/DVDs/external drive. I wouldn't take the chance on losing important data -- and I hope your laptop is not your only copy anyway!

Matt