You are not logged in.

#1 2010-02-15 18:12:41

bvbellomo

Expectations from new users

I haven't installed arch yet, but I am impressed with the arch way - "trying to hide the complexities of a system actually results in an even more complex system".

Anyhow, I am a good developer, but a full time employee and serious PhD student, so I do not have much time to help.  I felt a little better about it with Ubuntu, since it is such a large community, but do feel somewhat guilty with an open source project that is this much work, where I definitely will be taking advantage of the forums to post my own problems.

Is this okay - is everyone welcome here, or with such a small distro, is everyone expected to invest something?

#2 2010-02-15 18:28:19

foutrelis
Developer
Website

Re: Expectations from new users

If you don't require hand-holding and promise to search on the web and the Arch wiki for solutions to any problems or questions you might have before posting them on the forums, you should be fine. Some basic competency is expected on your part, but people are generally very helpful and friendly here if you hit a roadblock.

#3 2010-02-15 18:28:28

Runiq

You're not expected to invest anything. That being said, the term "investing something" is fairly broad and can be applied to reporting bugs, translating wiki pages, helping other new users with simple (or increasingly complex) problems, adopting packages in the AUR, and generally taking part in the community.

It's as difficult and time-consuming as you make it smile

#4 2010-02-15 18:39:57

fsckd
Forum Fellow

The devs are paid in beer. Someone has to make that beer.

But seriously, Arch isn't exactly a "small" distro. I have enough trouble trying to find ways to help, so I just harass people in here.

aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

#5 2010-02-15 18:45:30

ozar

bvbellomo wrote:

is everyone expected to invest something?

Welcome to the forums!