You are not logged in.

#1 2010-02-16 01:12:14

Adriano ML
Member
Registered: 2008-12-18
Posts: 38

Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

Hello fellow archers,

I'm currently experiencing some problems with CUPS, Gutenprint and my Epson Stylus CX4500. Up to some days ago, everything was fine, I could print grayscale and color, no problems. As of today, anything I print, turns into a giant black block. Even the test page turn arround this.

Besides that, the printer works fine on other OSes, and the "built-in" copy freature (No computer needed) works normaly.

I've looked into the cups log, but I just can't figure out a solution:

E [15/Feb/2010:19:46:15 -0200] [Job 150] Files have gone away!
E [15/Feb/2010:19:46:15 -0200] Missing <Job #> directive on line 275!
E [15/Feb/2010:19:46:15 -0200] Missing <Job #> directive on line 276!
E [15/Feb/2010:19:46:15 -0200] Missing <Job #> directive on line 277!
E [15/Feb/2010:19:46:15 -0200] Missing <Job #> directive on line 278!
E [15/Feb/2010:19:46:15 -0200] Missing <Job #> directive on line 279!
E [15/Feb/2010:19:46:15 -0200] Missing <Job #> directive on line 280!
E [15/Feb/2010:19:46:15 -0200] Missing <Job #> directive on line 281!
E [15/Feb/2010:19:46:15 -0200] Missing <Job #> directive on line 282!
E [15/Feb/2010:19:46:16 -0200] Unable to set ACLs on root certificate "/var/run/cups/certs/0" - Operation not supported
E [15/Feb/2010:19:48:26 -0200] [Job 163] Unable to send print file to printer: Input/output error
E [15/Feb/2010:19:49:50 -0200] cupsdAuthorize: pam_authenticate() returned 7 (Authentication failure)!
E [15/Feb/2010:19:49:59 -0200] cupsdAuthorize: pam_authenticate() returned 7 (Authentication failure)!
E [15/Feb/2010:21:20:08 -0200] Unable to set ACLs on root certificate "/var/run/cups/certs/0" - Operation not supported
E [15/Feb/2010:21:24:03 -0200] [Job 165] Unable to send print file to printer: Input/output error
E [15/Feb/2010:21:27:00 -0200] Unable to set ACLs on root certificate "/var/run/cups/certs/0" - Operation not supported
E [15/Feb/2010:21:35:01 -0200] [Job 166] Unable to send print file to printer: Input/output error

Seems that the file isn't reaching the printer.  But... why?

I'm glad if someone has some information on this one.

Offline

#2 2010-02-16 04:48:07

psilo357
Member
Registered: 2008-10-31
Posts: 116

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

i just updated today, and am having this same problem, printing results in an entire page of black, wasting TONS of ink...i have a canon mx310, and use the canon MP180 gutenprint driver, i did run

>>please run /usr/sbin/cups-genppdupdate
>>and restart cups deamon

just like it asks, and it has messed it up...the printer works fine if i use the copy feature as well, so its nothing wrong with the hardware...though when i print, it looks like the messages make it just fine.  I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the printer and that doesn't help, same problem...

any help is appreciated, this printing is needed for school work...

thanks all

Offline

#3 2010-02-16 05:14:34

yumigator
Member
Registered: 2009-07-21
Posts: 8

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

psilo357 wrote:

i just updated today, and am having this same problem, printing results in an entire page of black, wasting TONS of ink...i have a canon mx310, and use the canon MP180 gutenprint driver, i did run

>>please run /usr/sbin/cups-genppdupdate
>>and restart cups deamon

just like it asks, and it has messed it up...the printer works fine if i use the copy feature as well, so its nothing wrong with the hardware...though when i print, it looks like the messages make it just fine.  I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the printer and that doesn't help, same problem...

any help is appreciated, this printing is needed for school work...

thanks all

The same thing happened to me. Was working fine before the update.

EDIT: I'm on a Canon PIXMA MX850, MP610 drivers.

Last edited by yumigator (2010-02-16 05:25:22)

Offline

#4 2010-02-16 14:54:34

fabertawe
Member
From: Lloegr
Registered: 2009-11-24
Posts: 257

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

Another "me too" I'm afraid... Epson SX205. Worked perfectly before the updates, now just A4 black blocks.


i7 4790K 4.4GHz, ASRock Z97 Extreme6, 16GB 2400MHz, GTX 970, Arch x86_64

Offline

#5 2010-02-16 15:07:46

thea
Member
Registered: 2006-12-22
Posts: 70

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

Yet another "me too". Xerox WorkCentre 7435 (although I don't the printer model matters here). All black with tiny images of something, even when printing test page. Tried downgrading to previous version of Gutenprint (which worked fine), but this doesn't make a difference.

Offline

#6 2010-02-16 15:15:18

Runiq
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-10-29
Posts: 1,053

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

Me too - Epson Stylus DX7400, gutenprint.

The CUPS test page is black, but you can also print a "system test page" (or something along these lines, I'm not in front of my laptop ATM) from CUPS which works fine.

Offline

#7 2010-02-17 15:17:01

fabertawe
Member
From: Lloegr
Registered: 2009-11-24
Posts: 257

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

This has been reported as a bug -> http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/18339.

Following the advice there I downgraded Ghostscript...

sudo pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ghostscript-8.70-4-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz

...and printing's working again for me.


i7 4790K 4.4GHz, ASRock Z97 Extreme6, 16GB 2400MHz, GTX 970, Arch x86_64

Offline

#8 2010-02-17 15:24:27

thea
Member
Registered: 2006-12-22
Posts: 70

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

Thanks fabertawe!

This solution worked for me as well: sudo pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ghostscript-8.70-4-i686.pkg.tar.gz

Offline

#9 2010-02-17 15:49:39

xenofungus
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2009-10-17
Posts: 63

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

fabertawe wrote:

Another "me too" I'm afraid... Epson SX205. Worked perfectly before the updates, now just A4 black blocks.

Same here. I (think I) fixed it by choosing the updated drivers in cups -> admin -> modify printer (I did some other random changes, so I'm not sure)

I have to check again when I buy a new ink cardtrige, though

Last edited by xenofungus (2010-02-17 15:50:45)

Offline

#10 2010-02-17 18:11:54

Adriano ML
Member
Registered: 2008-12-18
Posts: 38

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

Downgrading ghostscript did the trick!

For anyone wondering where to find the old package:
http://arm.kh.nu/search/index.php?a=32& … ommunity=1

Offline

#11 2010-02-18 01:59:22

psilo357
Member
Registered: 2008-10-31
Posts: 116

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

just for another datapoint, this fix also worked for me, had to get the new version of cups and gutenprint again, as i had downgraded both of those and it was causing pstoraster to fail, but now its working again!!! thanks for the fix, and i will remember about ghostscript from now on.

Also, thanks for the bookmark to ARM, going to come in real handy, though I had this package still in cache.

Thanks all, this fix works perfectly...

Offline

#12 2010-02-21 13:10:08

pcxz
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 67

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

Same here sad

Downgrade ghostscript ..ok

Offline

#13 2010-02-25 00:16:15

dmlawrence
Member
Registered: 2008-10-01
Posts: 21

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

Same problem here, Ghostscript downgrade fixed it.

Canon Pixma MP830 with Gutenprint 5.2.5.

Offline

#14 2010-02-27 11:59:27

zaniah
Member
Registered: 2009-12-24
Posts: 1

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

Thanks fabertawe! Same problem for me; fixed by running

sudo pacman -U ghostscript-8.70-4-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz

Epson DX4050 (PXA620) on Arch x86_64

Offline

#15 2010-03-03 17:51:52

emtorres
Member
From: Corrientes, Argentina
Registered: 2010-03-03
Posts: 11
Website

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

Thanks fabertawe and Adriano ML!
problem fixed. Epson CX7300 on Archlinux x86_64

Offline

#16 2010-03-05 00:34:44

ConnorBehan
Trusted User (TU)
From: Long Island NY
Registered: 2007-07-05
Posts: 1,356
Website

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

*sigh* now I have:

IgnorePkg   = v86d dhcpcd kernel26 kernel26-firmware xorg-server xf86-video-r128 xf86-video-fbdev xf86-input-evdev xf86-input-keyboard mesa libgl ati-dri r128-dri libdrm libgnome ghostscript

Interestingly, the problem did not occur when I tried to print files that were already saved as postscript.


6EA3 F3F3 B908 2632 A9CB E931 D53A 0445 B47A 0DAB
Great things come in tar.xz packages.

Offline

#17 2010-03-05 10:25:12

fabertawe
Member
From: Lloegr
Registered: 2009-11-24
Posts: 257

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

ConnorBehan wrote:

*sigh* now I have:

IgnorePkg   = v86d dhcpcd kernel26 kernel26-firmware xorg-server xf86-video-r128 xf86-video-fbdev xf86-input-evdev xf86-input-keyboard mesa libgl ati-dri r128-dri libdrm libgnome ghostscript

I had to laugh at this wink Mine's starting to grow too. As soon as I get a fully functional Gnome environment (not happened as yet with Arch) I'll be expanding it further.


i7 4790K 4.4GHz, ASRock Z97 Extreme6, 16GB 2400MHz, GTX 970, Arch x86_64

Offline

#18 2010-03-11 09:02:17

veranyon
Member
From: Odintsovo/Russian Federation
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 105
Website

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

Have someone a package of ghostscript older tham 8.71-1-x86_64 v?

ls -l /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ghostscript*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 15214825 Фев 15 21:33 /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ghostscript-8.71-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz

I can't downgrade my ghostscript pack because I have not the older one of it.


ArchLinux x86_64 /AMD Phenom x4 9550/4 GB RAM/ASUS M3N78-EM/GeForce 9800 GT/DELL 2408 VFP
[img]http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/3443/111bzf.gif[/img]

Offline

#19 2010-03-11 09:15:35

veranyon
Member
From: Odintsovo/Russian Federation
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 105
Website

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

[solved]
got it from some thread.
cat downgrade.sh

#!/bin/bash
#
# pbrisbin 2009
#
# many thanks to kumyco's Arch Rollback Machine
# if possible try out his [superior] snapshot-sync
# abilities
#
# this utility just simplifies downgrading a
# single package from his archive of previous versions
#
###

### User settings:
# place to keep temp files
WD="/tmp/downgrade"

# place to keep downloaded packages
PD="$HOME/Packages"

# your default pacman program
#PACMAN="pacman"
PACMAN="pacman-color"

# 32 or 64 bit?
#arch=32
arch=64

# search these repos
#repos='core extra community'
repos='core extra community testing'

### Program starts
# setup some functions
errorout() {
  echo "error: $1"
  [ -d $WD ] && rm -rf $WD
  exit 1
}

message() {
  echo ""
  echo "downgrade accepts one packagename at a time, ok?"
  echo ""
  echo "ex: downgrade xorg-server"
  echo ""

  [ -d $WD ] && rm -rf $WD

  exit 1
}

# setup the directories
[ -d $WD ] || mkdir -p $WD
[ -d $PD ] || mkdir -p $PD

# make sure we've got a good PACMAN
which $PACMAN &>/dev/null || PACMAN="pacman"

# manage search term passed on CLI
[ $# -ne 1 ] && message

term="$1"

# url of ARM's search function
REPOS=""
for repo in $repos; do
  REPOS="${REPOS}&${repo}=1"
done

url="http://arm.kh.nu/search/?d=0&a=$arch&q=$term$REPOS"

lynx -dump "$url" | awk '/.pkg.tar.gz/ {print $2}' > $WD/results.lst
[ ! -s $WD/results.lst ] && errorout "No results found."

# show the results
echo ""
echo ' ---------------------------------------------------------------------- '
echo Num Repo Package | awk '{printf "| %-3.3s | %-9.9s | %-50.50s |\n", $1, $2, $3}'
echo '|----------------------------------------------------------------------|'
cat -b $WD/results.lst | sed 's/\ //g;s/\t/\//g' | awk -F '/' '{printf "| %3.3s | %-9.9s | %-50.50s |\n", $1, $5, $8}'
echo ' ---------------------------------------------------------------------- '
echo ""
echo -n " Enter the number of the version to install: " && read NUM

# quit after search
[ "$NUM" = "q" ] && errorout "Aborted by user."

# check the user's entry
URL="$(cat -b $WD/results.lst | awk -v num="$NUM" '{if($1 == num) print $2}')"
PACK="$(echo $URL | awk -F '/' '{print $NF}')"

[ "$URL" = "" ] && errorout "Invalid entry."

# download the package
wget -O $PD/$PACK "$URL" || errorout "Could not download package $PACK"

# install the package
if [ "$(whoami)" = "root" ]; then
  $PACMAN -U $PD/$PACK || errorout "Could not install package $PACK"
else
  sudo $PACMAN -U $PD/$PACK || errorout "Could not install package $PACK"
fi

# remove temp files
[ -d $WD ] && rm -rf $WD

exit 0

### Created: 200905221214
sh downgrade.sh ghostscript
---------------------------------------------------------------------- 
| Num | Repo      | Package                                            |
|----------------------------------------------------------------------|
|     |           |                                                    |
|     |           |                                                    |
|     |           |                                                    |
|     |           |                                                    |
|     |           |                                                    |
|     |           |                                                    |
|     |           |                                                    |
|     |           |                                                    |
|   1 | extra     | ghostscript-8.70-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz               |
|   2 | extra     | ghostscript-8.70-3-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz               |
|   3 | extra     | ghostscript-8.70-4-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz               |
|   4 | extra     | ghostscript-8.71-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz               |
|   5 | extra     | ghostscript-8.71-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz               |
|   6 | testing   | ghostscript-8.70-3-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz               |
|   7 | testing   | ghostscript-8.70-4-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz               |
|   8 | testing   | ghostscript-8.71-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz               |
 ---------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 Enter the number of the version to install: 3
.....

success...


ArchLinux x86_64 /AMD Phenom x4 9550/4 GB RAM/ASUS M3N78-EM/GeForce 9800 GT/DELL 2408 VFP
[img]http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/3443/111bzf.gif[/img]

Offline

#20 2010-03-17 11:57:24

jmdennis
Member
Registered: 2009-03-21
Posts: 61

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

This bug was closed on fedora with the upgrade of ghostscript.  I installed Xubuntu 10.04 to see how that works and it uses the same ghostscript version and this works on it with out problems so the problem is with arch linux.  It will be great to see a fix for this other then downgrading.

Offline

#21 2010-03-17 14:25:30

veranyon
Member
From: Odintsovo/Russian Federation
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 105
Website

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

yesterday I did a full upgrade of my system and watch that bug again.
Created a list of packages that I must downgrade to old versions. Anyway that ones will changed not soon. By experience...


ArchLinux x86_64 /AMD Phenom x4 9550/4 GB RAM/ASUS M3N78-EM/GeForce 9800 GT/DELL 2408 VFP
[img]http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/3443/111bzf.gif[/img]

Offline

#22 2010-03-20 16:42:48

meterpeter
Member
Registered: 2010-03-20
Posts: 1

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

same here.  i would really appreciate if that bug gets fixed in near future.

Offline

#23 2010-03-20 16:55:54

firecat53
Member
From: Sammamish, Wa
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,447
Website

Re: Printing results into COMPLETELY black (not blank) pages

Installing the foomatic and foomatic-db packages and then reinstalling my printer driver with the foomatic one seems to work around this bug without having to downgrade anything. (Canon mp120 printer)

Scott

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB