You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-22 21:50:16

stonecrest

pacman questions

Yes, I'm a newbie  :oops:

1. I see that there are some newly added xfce packages on the front page of Arch (e.g. Terminal).  But when I do a "pacman -Syu" followed by "pacman -S Terminal", it says it can't find it.

2. I'm trying to get the package "pyxdg" from punkrockguy318's tur repository. I added it to the pacman.conf file, did "pacman -Syu" and then did a "pacman -S pyxdg" - again, it says it can't find it.

Here is my pacman.conf:

[options]
LogFile     = /var/log/pacman.log
NoUpgrade   = etc/passwd etc/group etc/shadow etc/sudoers
NoUpgrade   = etc/fstab etc/raidtab etc/ld.so.conf
NoUpgrade   = etc/rc.conf etc/rc.local
NoUpgrade   = etc/modprobe.conf etc/modules.conf
NoUpgrade   = etc/lilo.conf boot/grub/menu.lst
HoldPkg     = pacman glibc
#XferCommand = /usr/bin/wget --passive-ftp -c -O %o %u

#[testing]
#Server = ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/testing/os/i686

[current]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
Include = /etc/pacman.d/current

[extra]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
Include = /etc/pacman.d/extra

[punkrockguy318]
Server = ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/tur/punkrockguy318

What am I doing wrong??

I am a gated community.

#2 2005-01-22 22:22:47

cactus
Taco Eater
Website

Re: pacman questions

looks fine to me. Don't know what the issue is. Might be a problem with his repo.db file not being updated.
You could always download the package yourself, and 'pacman -A packagefile'

"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

#3 2005-01-23 01:10:13

stonecrest