You are not logged in.

#1 2010-06-05 23:08:53

Anonymo
Member
Registered: 2005-04-07
Posts: 423
Website

pcmanfm latest version

Went to SourceForge and the latest version is 0.9.7.

Modified the Arch PKGBUILD to latest version

pcmanfm 0.9.7

# Maintainer: Juergen Hoetzel <juergen@archlinux.org>

pkgname=pcmanfm
pkgver=0.9.7
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="File manager of the LXDE Desktop"
arch=('i686' 'x86_64')
url="http://pcmanfm.sourceforge.net/"
license=('GPL')
groups=('lxde')
depends=('gtk2' 'hal' 'gamin' 'startup-notification' 'shared-mime-info' 'desktop-file-utils' 'libfm')
makedepends=('intltool' 'pkgconfig')
install=pcmanfm.install
source=(http://downloads.sourceforge.net/pcmanfm/pcmanfm-$pkgver.tar.gz)
md5sums=('f433a61484da10ed3382c1799169abd6')
build() {
  cd "$srcdir/$pkgname-$pkgver"
  ./configure --prefix=/usr
  make || return 1
  make DESTDIR="$pkgdir" install || return 1

  cd ${startdir}/pkg
  mkdir -p usr/share/applications || return 1
}

pcmanfm.install

post_install() {
  update-mime-database usr/share/mime > /dev/null
  update-desktop-database -q
}

post_upgrade() {
  post_install
}

post_remove() {
  post_install
}

libfm

pkgname=libfm
pkgver=0.1.12
pkgrel=1
url="http://pcmanfm.sourceforge.net/"
pkgdesc="Libs also excutable standalone progs, for next generation File manager of the LXDE Desktop"
arch=('i686' 'x86_64')
license=('GPL')
depends=('gtk2>=2.20' 'glib2' 'menu-cache')
optdepends=('gvfs: To sccess remote file systems.')
makedepends=('git' 'intltool' 'pkgconfig' 'perl')
provides=('libfm')
replaces=()
source=("http://aur.archlinux.org/packages/libfm-git/libfm-git/libfm.desktop" "http://aur.archlinux.org/packages/libfm-git/libfm-git/libfm.png" "http://sourceforge.net/projects/pcmanfm/files/download/libfm-0.1.12.tar.gz")
md5sums=('b5223e3119d88f7259390bb641f2858f'
         'bed012ad4d185fe8e5222fb94de6d61d'
         '6dbc9a30efb5ad0a2c7a0fc54b1ee57c')

build() {
cd $srcdir/$pkgname-$pkgver
 ./configure --prefix=/usr --sysconfdir=/etc || return 1
make || return 1
make DESTDIR="$pkgdir/" install
mv $pkgdir/usr/bin/{libfm-demo,libfm}
install -Dm644 $startdir/$pkgname.png $pkgdir/usr/share/pixmaps/$pkgname.png
install -Dm755 $startdir/$pkgname.desktop $pkgdir/usr/share/applications/$pkgname.desktop
                  }

As far as I can tell, libfm installed correctly but pcmanfm does not show up in the menu.

Last edited by Anonymo (2010-06-05 23:10:46)

Offline

#2 2010-06-05 23:19:09

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: pcmanfm latest version

definitely that version doesn't depend on hal anymore. i suggest to use namcap to spot the bloat and to compile in clean chroot. also ./configure --help is helping


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#3 2010-06-06 08:33:25

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 9,866
Website

Re: pcmanfm latest version

Maybe Jürgen Hötzel isn't aware of this?  http://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/x86_64/pcmanfm/


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#4 2010-06-06 10:30:52

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: pcmanfm latest version

graysky wrote:

Maybe Jürgen Hötzel isn't aware of this?  http://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/x86_64/pcmanfm/

he's the upstream so clearly knows. note that this version is the devel one.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#5 2010-06-12 11:39:09

juergen
Developer
From: Frankfurt/Germany
Registered: 2005-04-11
Posts: 48
Website

Re: pcmanfm latest version

Sorry. I'm just busy at the moment...

Offline

#6 2010-06-22 03:11:06

IgnorantGuru
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 640
Website

Re: pcmanfm latest version

If you want the new 0.9 version (still in alpha or beta testing and heavy dev), I think this is what people are using...
http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=33601

Also
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pcm … e_Versions

Offline

#7 2010-07-07 16:49:23

juergen
Developer
From: Frankfurt/Germany
Registered: 2005-04-11
Posts: 48
Website

Re: pcmanfm latest version

I just moved the new libfm-based PCManFM to extra-*. Please check it out.

Offline

#8 2010-07-07 16:51:34

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: pcmanfm latest version

juergen wrote:

I just moved the new libfm-based PCManFM to extra-*. Please check it out.

i was thinking that the new version is hal free. the new backend is not mature enough to be used?

Last edited by wonder (2010-07-07 16:51:51)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#9 2010-07-07 17:28:21

velcroshooz
Member
From: Waterloo, Iowa
Registered: 2010-01-03
Posts: 2

Re: pcmanfm latest version

My mirror has not synced yet, but looking up pcmanfm in package search shows 0.9.7-1 - this should be the 0.9.7 RC1. This definitely does not need HAL any longer, so if the PKGBUILD is requiring it as a depend it should be fixed. It uses GVFS for a backend. The pcmanfm-git in aur no longer requires GVFS or gnome-disk-utlity, and now has direct UDisks support. To follow the development better if your interested you can check out PCMan's blog at http://blog.lxde.org/?author=5.

Offline

#10 2010-07-08 01:13:31

jwbirdsong
Member
From: Western KS USA
Registered: 2006-11-25
Posts: 173

Re: pcmanfm latest version

works great IF i launch as - dbus-launch pcmanfm


PLEASE read and try to FIX/FILE BUGS instead of assuming other have/will.

Offline

#11 2010-07-09 02:02:01

Japanlinux
Member
Registered: 2010-05-18
Posts: 173

Re: pcmanfm latest version

I've been waiting for this to go to extras.:D I guess i'll hold on until the hal thing is sorted out. Why does dbus launch have to be added when opening pcmanfm, shouldn't it just work when opening normally? Is that a feature, or is that being investigated right now?

Offline

#12 2010-07-09 21:02:18

YAOMTC
Member
Registered: 2010-02-23
Posts: 178

Re: pcmanfm latest version

PCManFM recently updated to 0.9.7-1 (it is in extras, Japanlinux), but now it no longer shows attached devices, and the desktop is blank. When I right-click the black, it still allows me to change Desktop Settings (which is the same as PCManFM Preferences).

Offline

#13 2010-07-09 21:26:39

velcroshooz
Member
From: Waterloo, Iowa
Registered: 2010-01-03
Posts: 2

Re: pcmanfm latest version

To be honest I am kind of wondering why this was pushed to extra already. its just an RC, still in development. I thought policy was that RC versions did not go into standard repos. Aside from that, I don't see that it ever went through our testing repos either. There are already 5 or 6 bugs on our tracker concerning it, and given its integration with LXDE I can see where alot of users are going to run into problems.

Offline

#14 2010-07-09 22:36:28

empthollow
Member
Registered: 2009-09-26
Posts: 168

Re: pcmanfm latest version

Just upgraded my system and pcmanfm, I am running fluxbox.  I get this error and no window opens.
I don't think it's any indication of the problem though because I have 0.9.3 built from aur and it prints the same message and the window opens normally. 

** (pcmanfm:5257): DEBUG: unable to load icon system-software-install
pcmanfm: symbol lookup error: pcmanfm: undefined symbol: fm_tab_label_new

any ideas?


--empthollow
Check out my Arch based live distro http://fluxcapacity.99k.org

Offline

#15 2010-07-10 07:15:27

YAOMTC
Member
Registered: 2010-02-23
Posts: 178

Re: pcmanfm latest version

Recent update fixed my problems. big_smile

Offline

#16 2010-07-11 17:27:42

IgnorantGuru
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 640
Website

Re: pcmanfm latest version

velcroshooz wrote:

To be honest I am kind of wondering why this was pushed to extra already. its just an RC, still in development. I thought policy was that RC versions did not go into standard repos. Aside from that, I don't see that it ever went through our testing repos either. There are already 5 or 6 bugs on our tracker concerning it, and given its integration with LXDE I can see where alot of users are going to run into problems.

Agreed - there are a lot of issues with this

Offline

#17 2010-07-11 18:25:51

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,130

Re: pcmanfm latest version

removed pcmanfm entirely. I wasn't using it much anyway.

Now I simply use ls,la cp ,mv smile

If I feel like it, I might just install vifm or ranger. Xfe and emelfm2 are also options for GUI based.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#18 2010-07-17 11:39:05

pjezek
Member
From: Praha - CZ
Registered: 2005-05-19
Posts: 77

Re: pcmanfm latest version

I understand PCcman's (pcmanfm author's) will to change design of pcmanfm completely and push it quickly to openair. Anyway, archlinux maintainer's watchdog has been sleeping in a shade too long to protect archers from strange bits... Pcmanfm desktop can invoke change of @ -d by @ --desktop in /etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE/autostart, but why this is not given as an option in the autostart file defaultly? My preferred xfe and revitalized idesk icon & desktop setting works much more fast and stable...


Our tomcat for your mice! Archlinux for your comps! Alfa Romeo for your roads! Faster running guaranted!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB