You are not logged in.

#1 2010-06-24 14:05:42

Google
Website

(SOLVED) Full install on a 2gb USB flash drive?

So here's the deal, I am not sure if this is the best place to post this. I am a newbie so I am just thinking out of my %^& here.

I love Arch more than any other distro, and I want to bring it with me. As of now I use Arch on my laptop and desktop. However it's missing on my work computer. It would be best if I didn't mess with the work computers, so I am curious about installing Arch on a USB.

If I went with a minimal install, keeping things around 1.5gb with most applications and whatnot installed, would I be able to boot it and work with it and not have any problems?

How could this be done, would it be possible to:

- Partition the USB, one partition for the boot (ext 2, primary boot) and another partition for / and home etc.

If this does in fact work, would it be slow as death running completely off a USB? If that's the case how difficult would it be to copy the system to RAM but keep /usr running off the USB so configs and files could be saved?

I know there are other distros that work well off a USB like Puppy Linux (which supports saving configs and files etc.). I have been using lubuntu live because it is similar to my Arch setup, but doesn't support saving onto the USB. I would prefer to stick with Arch the whole way.

Last edited by Google (2010-06-24 14:34:06)

#2 2010-06-24 14:14:36

Hetor

Re: (SOLVED) Full install on a 2gb USB flash drive?

Google wrote:

If this does in fact work, would it be slow as death running completely off a USB?

I once ran full Ubuntu 9.04 install off a USB. It was a bit slow, but acceptable, so Arch should run pretty fast. I don't recommend it, though, and your boss will unlikely let you boot from USB at work.

#3 2010-06-24 14:23:21

Google
Website