You are not logged in.

#1 2011-07-09 21:22:01

kotakotakota
Member
Registered: 2011-07-09
Posts: 7

Installing Gitorious on Arch

Hello,

I'm brand new to Arch, and I am having quite a bit of trouble installing Gitorious.  I tried the BUILDPKG on AUR http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=34713 with no luck (things go poorly when I try to install the ruby-enterprise dependency... Is there any way to add AUR as a repository on Arch?  Or should I just be using one of the AUR helper applications listed here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AUR_Helpers)  I also tried to follow Gitorious's guides for various Linux distributions (sort of mixing and matching) but again, without any luck.

Below are several links to the outputs/contents of various commands and files as well as the web page that pops up when I enter in the IP of the system.  If there is anything more that you might need, feel free to ask.  Again, I'm completely new to this, so I apologize in advance for my ignorance.  Thank you for your help!

HTML Output:                                                     http://paste.pocoo.org/show/434623/

pacman -Q:                                                         http://paste.pocoo.org/show/434617/
gem list --local:                                                    http://paste.pocoo.org/show/434616/

/etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf:                                     http://paste.pocoo.org/show/434612/
/etc/httpd/conf/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf:                  http://paste.pocoo.org/show/434614/

Offline

#2 2011-07-09 21:57:44

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: Installing Gitorious on Arch

wrt to ruby-enterprise, some people are having problems http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=19273 (see comments)
Arch repositories hold prebuild binaries while you need to compile the packages from AUR yourself so no, you can't use AUR as a regular repository.

Offline

#3 2011-07-09 23:08:31

kotakotakota
Member
Registered: 2011-07-09
Posts: 7

Re: Installing Gitorious on Arch

The error they list there is the same as the error I get on my own machine.  Maybe I ought to go for an older version of ruby-enterprise?

Offline

#4 2011-07-09 23:23:44

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: Installing Gitorious on Arch

kotakotakota wrote:

Maybe I ought to go for an older version of ruby-enterprise?

IIRC you can get older versions of PKGBUILDs and other AUR stuff from http://pkgbuild.org/aur but sadly it seems down atm.

Last edited by karol (2011-07-09 23:24:42)

Offline

#5 2011-07-09 23:30:15

kotakotakota
Member
Registered: 2011-07-09
Posts: 7

Re: Installing Gitorious on Arch

Ah, alright.  I suppose in theory, all I need to do is change the references to the source package to an older one and change the version number in the BUILDPKG file?  I think I will try that.

Offline

#6 2011-07-09 23:32:01

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: Installing Gitorious on Arch

kotakotakota wrote:

Ah, alright.  I suppose in theory, all I need to do is change the references to the source package to an older one and change the version number in the BUILDPKG file?  I think I will try that.

Yeah, that's it.
The file is named PKGBUILD, not BUILDPKG ;P

Offline

#7 2011-07-09 23:47:55

kotakotakota
Member
Registered: 2011-07-09
Posts: 7

Re: Installing Gitorious on Arch

karol wrote:

The file is named PKGBUILD, not BUILDPKG ;P

Ah, my apologies tongue  Gee, since the command is "makepkg", so I would have thought that the order would stay the same!  Naturally, newbie Arch mistakes eh?

So, I tried the two other versions listed on http://code.google.com/p/rubyenterprise … loads/list but neither with any success.  I was hoping to be able to use builds that vary a little more in age, but I suppose that is how things go.  I think I'll look a bit into the compile time flags, try fooling around with them a bit.  The error is as follows:

/bin/sh ./libtool --tag=CXX --mode=compile g++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I./src  -I./src   -DNO_TCMALLOC_SAMPLES -pthread -DNDEBUG -Wall -Wwrite-strings -Woverloaded-virtual -Wno-sign-compare -fno-builtin-malloc -fno-builtin-free -fno-builtin-realloc -fno-builtin-calloc -fno-builtin-cfree -fno-builtin-memalign -fno-builtin-posix_memalign -fno-builtin-valloc -fno-builtin-pvalloc   -march=i686 -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe -c -o libtcmalloc_minimal_la-tcmalloc.lo `test -f 'src/tcmalloc.cc' || echo './'`src/tcmalloc.cc
libtool: compile:  g++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I./src -I./src -DNO_TCMALLOC_SAMPLES -pthread -DNDEBUG -Wall -Wwrite-strings -Woverloaded-virtual -Wno-sign-compare -fno-builtin-malloc -fno-builtin-free -fno-builtin-realloc -fno-builtin-calloc -fno-builtin-cfree -fno-builtin-memalign -fno-builtin-posix_memalign -fno-builtin-valloc -fno-builtin-pvalloc -march=i686 -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe -c src/tcmalloc.cc  -fPIC -DPIC -o .libs/libtcmalloc_minimal_la-tcmalloc.o
src/tcmalloc.cc:1672:54: error: conflicting declaration ‘void* (* __memalign_hook)(size_t, size_t, const void*)’
/usr/include/malloc.h:183:39: error: ‘__memalign_hook’ has a previous declaration as ‘void* (* volatile __memalign_hook)(size_t, size_t, const void*)’
make: *** [libtcmalloc_minimal_la-tcmalloc.lo] Error 1

Any thoughts or suggestions? (Also, thank you for your help!!)

Offline

#8 2011-07-09 23:56:44

kotakotakota
Member
Registered: 2011-07-09
Posts: 7

Re: Installing Gitorious on Arch

Oh, look at that, progress:  I added the --no-tcmalloc flag at the end of the ./installer line in the build function... Now I have a new error though:

In file included from dl.c:104:0:
callback.func:1:1: warning: data definition has no type or storage class [enabled by default]
callback.func:1:7: error: expected identifier or ‘(’ before ‘long’
In file included from dl.c:104:0:
callback.func:78:33: error: expected ‘)’ before ‘(’ token
callback.func:79:3: warning: data definition has no type or storage class [enabled by default]
callback.func:79:24: error: ‘proc’ undeclared here (not in a function)
callback.func:79:39: error: ‘argc’ undeclared here (not in a function)
callback.func:79:45: error: ‘argv’ undeclared here (not in a function)
callback.func:82:1: error: expected identifier or ‘(’ before ‘}’ token
dl.c:106:1: error: expected ‘;’, ‘,’ or ‘)’ before ‘static’
make[1]: *** [dl.o] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/abs/local/ruby-enterprise/src/ruby-enterprise-1.8.7-2011.01/source/ext/dl'
make: *** [all] Error 1

I hope disabling tcmalloc is ok... I'd imagine that would take away a lot of the advantage of using ruby-enterprise edition over standard ruby.

Offline

#9 2011-07-10 00:11:54

kotakotakota
Member
Registered: 2011-07-09
Posts: 7

Re: Installing Gitorious on Arch

So, if instead of trying to do all of this stuff (which would be nice to resolve, but it would be a lot of work), I think I might try to modify and point the Gitorious PKGBUILD towards working with standard Ruby.  Thoughts on this?

Offline

#10 2011-11-04 23:50:19

Jello_Raptor
Member
Registered: 2011-08-31
Posts: 9

Re: Installing Gitorious on Arch

Hmm, i have the same problem, and i'm not sure how to go about modifying the gitorious pkgbuild to just use standard ruby, or fix the core problem with ruby-ee.

thoughts?

Edit: Modifying the pkgbuild to add the --no-tcmalloc extension, produces the same error as the guy above me gets, and patching it as shown in the comments of the main aur repo http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=19273 produces the same errors as other commentators.

I suspect something is wrong with the patching mechanism on my server or the patch given is wrong, since the patch

==== BEGIN PATCH ====
--- PKGBUILD.ori 2011-08-04 00:20:26.000000000 -0400
+++ PKGBUILD 2011-08-04 00:16:14.000000000 -0400
@@ -10,12 +10,42 @@
depends=('openssl' 'zlib' 'readline')
provides=('ruby')
backup=()
-source=(http://rubyenterpriseedition.googlecode.com/files/ruby-enterprise-$pkgver-$_pkgver.tar.gz)
+source=(http://rubyenterpriseedition.googlecode.com/files/ruby-enterprise-$pkgver-$_pkgver.tar.gz http://google-perftools.googlecode.com/files/google-perftools-1.8.1.tar.gz)
install=$pkgname.install
-md5sums=('038604ce25349e54363c5df9cd535ec8')
+md5sums=('038604ce25349e54363c5df9cd535ec8' '6003e5a8f4bfa4409f5dc35ea7d4012d')

build() {
cd "$srcdir/$pkgname-$pkgver-$_pkgver"
+ pushd source/distro
+ ln -sf ../../../google-perftools-1.8.1
+ rm -Rf google-perftools-1.7
+ popd
+ sed --in-place 's/google-perftools-1.7/google-perftools-1.8.1/g' installer.rb source/distro/installer.rb
+
+ cat << EOF | patch -p0
+--- source/ext/dl/mkcallback.rb.ori 2011-08-04 00:09:48.000000000 -0400
++++ source/ext/dl/mkcallback.rb 2011-08-04 00:10:11.000000000 -0400
+@@ -52,5 +52,6 @@
+ DLTYPE.keys.sort.each{|t|
+ for n in 0..(MAX_CALLBACK - 1)
+ print(mkfunc(t, n, 15), "\n\n")
++ STDOUT.flush
+ end
+ }
+EOF
+
+ cat << EOF | patch -p0
+--- source/ext/dl/mkcbtable.rb.ori 2011-08-04 00:14:53.000000000 -0400
++++ source/ext/dl/mkcbtable.rb 2011-08-04 00:15:28.000000000 -0400
+@@ -14,5 +14,6 @@
+ DLTYPE.keys.sort.each{|t|
+ for n in 0..(MAX_CALLBACK - 1)
+ print(mktable(t, n, 15), "\n")
++ STDOUT.flush
+ end
+ }
+EOF
+
./installer -a /opt/ruby-enterprise --destdir=$pkgdir --dont-install-useful-gems
}

==== END PATCH ====

doesn't want to apply when I try using

$ mv PKGBUILD PKGBUILD.ori
$ patch < ruby-ee-1.8.7-2011.03a.patch 
patching file PKGBUILD.ori
patch: **** malformed patch at line 4: depends=('openssl' 'zlib' 'readline')

and when I apply it manually, the patch within the patch fails upon install. Not sure why that is, or frankly how exactly patch itself works.

Last edited by Jello_Raptor (2011-11-05 11:10:20)

Offline

#11 2011-11-05 18:32:16

Jello_Raptor
Member
Registered: 2011-08-31
Posts: 9

Re: Installing Gitorious on Arch

Ok so i got it working, and there's a fixed PKGBUILD at http://paste.pocoo.org/raw/503429/ , is there anything i should do now so others have access to the same fix?


also fi you're installing gitorious from the AUR, you have to manually update the MD5 sum in the PKGBUILD for the first file, i got 'bf26925b053c38ecb304cb6e95cb5ccb' .

Last edited by Jello_Raptor (2011-11-05 18:58:04)

Offline

#12 2011-11-05 21:48:24

whitethorn
Member
Registered: 2010-05-02
Posts: 153

Re: Installing Gitorious on Arch

Add a comment on the AUR page with a link to the fixed PKGBUILD, makes life a little easier for the maintainer. Good job btw.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB