You are not logged in.

#126 2011-11-12 15:47:35

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

maxie wrote:

Hi

In a few packages, I get the following error message during installation.

/usr/bin/perl: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/auto/threads/shared/shared.so: undefined symbol: Perl_Istack_sp_ptr
autoreconf: automake failed with exit status: 127

Is anyone familiar with this problem?

Could you provide the full build output? A good website for pasting long code or output is http://pastie.org Also, could you provide the output of:

pacman -Q | grep perl
pacman -Ql perl

It seems that your system isn't fully upgraded or there is some conflict in your perl packages.

EDIT: One more thing. The output of:

pacman -Qo /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/auto/threads/shared/shared.so

would help a lot. That shows what package owns that problematic file.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2011-11-12 15:48:38)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#127 2011-11-13 11:09:21

maxie
Member
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 18

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

This is strange.

I tried to reproduce my error messages, but the installation worked without problems.

Thank you anyway.

Offline

#128 2011-11-13 19:22:18

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

maxie wrote:

This is strange.

I tried to reproduce my error messages, but the installation worked without problems.

Thank you anyway.

I'm glad it worked for you smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#129 2011-11-14 14:44:06

killer_siller
Member
Registered: 2011-08-28
Posts: 21

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Compiling everything from git right now.  Going smoothly.  Anything I should be concentrating on as far as bugs go?

Offline

#130 2011-11-14 15:05:11

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

killer_siller wrote:

Compiling everything from git right now.  Going smoothly.  Anything I should be concentrating on as far as bugs go?

There are a few bugs, such as the one where the Unity dash appears behind all windows (bug with Compiz or Unity), but I don't think there's any major bugs.

One thing though: in the git repo, there's a patched Xorg package, which uTouch requires to work. However, the version of that package is lower than the version in the official repos. So any xf86-input-* or xf86-video-* in the official repo won't work.  I currently have the following packages in the git repo:

xf86-input-evdev-ubuntu
xf86-input-synaptics-ubuntu
xf86-video-ati-ubuntu
xf86-video-intel-ubuntu
xf86-video-nouveau-ubuntu

If your system uses another Xorg driver, I'd be glad to put it in the git repo for you.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#131 2011-11-14 17:07:20

killer_siller
Member
Registered: 2011-08-28
Posts: 21

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

what functionality does utouch provide ?

Last edited by killer_siller (2011-11-14 17:08:11)

Offline

#132 2011-11-14 17:15:37

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

killer_siller wrote:

what functionality does utouch provide ?

uTouch is the multitouch stack that's been included with Ubuntu since 11.04. It provides a framework for recognizing multitouch gestures from either touchscreens or touchpads.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#133 2011-11-14 17:18:45

killer_siller
Member
Registered: 2011-08-28
Posts: 21

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

will unity work without it?

Offline

#134 2011-11-14 18:24:48

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

killer_siller wrote:

will unity work without it?

I'm not sure actually, since I've been working on porting uTouch with the TouchEgg developer (multitouch app) before I started porting Unity.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#135 2011-11-14 20:18:08

thn81
Member
Registered: 2009-08-27
Posts: 88

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

killer_siller wrote:

will unity work without it?

Yes, it will, but you still need the patched xorg packages in order to compile qt-ubuntu, gtk2-ubuntu and gtk3-ubuntu. However, if you leave out the XInput2.1 patches from Ubuntu for these packages when compiling them, you can skip the modified xorg packages. Unity should just spit out an error about multitouch being disabled and behave normally afterwards (Unity2D is another story, though).

Offline

#136 2011-11-23 15:13:46

rleyh
Member
From: germany
Registered: 2011-10-14
Posts: 28

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Little question: Does compiz-core-ubuntu really have to depend on kdebase-lib and kdebase-workspace? This pulls in alot of kde deps for a gtk based application. Is it possible to remove kdebase-lib and kdebase-workspace from PKGBUILD?

Offline

#137 2011-11-23 17:33:47

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

rleyh wrote:

Little question: Does compiz-core-ubuntu really have to depend on kdebase-lib and kdebase-workspace? This pulls in alot of kde deps for a gtk based application. Is it possible to remove kdebase-lib and kdebase-workspace from PKGBUILD?

They're optional, but I don't think it's a good idea to move it to optdepends, since a user may want KDE support, but won't see the optdepends until after compiling and installing.

I might make compiz-core-ubuntu a split package though, so when I create binary packages, the KDE portion doesn't need to be installed.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#138 2011-11-24 19:42:21

rleyh
Member
From: germany
Registered: 2011-10-14
Posts: 28

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

So I have installed all PKGBUILDS from chenxiaolong and unity is working fine so far, tough the mentioned 'launcher-behind-all-windows-bug' exists for me too.

f1be3c161518620.jpg

And here is my x86_64 only repo:

[Unity-for-Arch]
Server = http://dl.dropbox.com/u/50682427/Unity-for-Arch/$arch

Since pacman -S unity doesn't pull in all needed dependencies, do this to install the whole repository with Unity and Unity-2d:

pacman -Sy $(pacman -Slq Unity-for-Arch)  --ignore xf86-video-intel --ignore  xf86-video-ati --ignore xf86-video-nouveau

You also have to install an aproprtiate video driver if you're not using ati's or nvidia's binary driver.
ATM you can choose from xf86-video-intel, xf86-video-ati or xf86-video-nouveau .

Please note that you are using these packages at you own risk smile

Last edited by rleyh (2011-12-27 00:22:04)

Offline

#139 2011-11-25 12:12:50

poltak
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2010-11-05
Posts: 32

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Just found out about this searching around through the AUR. How functional is Unity at this point? As in does it function as it does in Ubuntu 11.x, or this currently still more for development purposes? And does anyone have any screens of it in action as the ones posted in the first post are rather bare and look like a very early phase of Unity running on Arch (as it was updated a while ago)?


I like Arch

Offline

#140 2011-11-25 18:07:43

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

poltak wrote:

Just found out about this searching around through the AUR. How functional is Unity at this point? As in does it function as it does in Ubuntu 11.x, or this currently still more for development purposes? And does anyone have any screens of it in action as the ones posted in the first post are rather bare and look like a very early phase of Unity running on Arch (as it was updated a while ago)?

Yep, it should be fully functional now. There are a few rough ends, but it certainly is usable smile First, some screenshots of the default install: [WARNING: Pictures are 1080p tongue]

http://i.imgur.com/uZiIF.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/yuHvj.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/dFdmF.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/y0fVP.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/wcTUX.png

And some screenshots of my Unity desktop:

http://i.imgur.com/NsoNu.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/2nr2E.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/aR8HT.png
http://i.imgur.com/NSQ2O.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/yFpmi.png
http://i.imgur.com/UQT4J.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/zHfSG.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/WcGqr.png
http://i.imgur.com/gwwpj.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/zkyNK.jpg

The ambiance/radiance theme and the Ubuntu-mono icon theme can be found in the AUR (named light-themes and ubuntu-mono, respectively).


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#141 2011-11-26 02:34:08

poltak
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2010-11-05
Posts: 32

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Wow, I see. Looks great. Might consider getting rid of xmonad for a bit and going back to standard WM~ never really understood a lot of the hate directed at Unity (maybe I will soon). Thanks for the screenshots btw smile


I like Arch

Offline

#142 2011-11-26 03:26:55

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

poltak wrote:

Wow, I see. Looks great. Might consider getting rid of xmonad for a bit and going back to standard WM~ never really understood a lot of the hate directed at Unity (maybe I will soon). Thanks for the screenshots btw smile

You're welcome! I also don't really understand the hate towards Unity, although it may be because I use keyboard shortcuts all the time instead of the mouse.

I've always wanted to try a tiling window manager, but never had the chance to set one up tongue


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#143 2011-11-26 05:38:15

poltak
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2010-11-05
Posts: 32

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Well I added rleyh's repo for x86-64 Unity after having problems with unavailable dependencies (libindicator3...?) when makepkg-ing the Unity PKGBUILD from the AUR.

Didn't know what to install exactly, so I built gmuck/gtest from the AUR and then tried a 'pacman -S unity' and it worked, pulling package from rleyh's repo. I then installed the basic GNOME packages ('pacman -S gnome') and installed them all but the ones which had "ubuntu" replacements from rleyh's repo. Anyway after a while of downloading, it all seemed to be installed. So I restarted lightdm and selected "Ubuntu" as my session (the others were KDE, Gnome classic, XMonad Gnome). Logged in and nothing appeared apart from wallpaper. No panel or Unity panel (or whatever you call it). Have I missed something out to install here? Gnome classic session works as standard, so it's no problem with the GNOME packages, I think. Also tried using GDM as my DM but, as expected, same problem. How did you guys install yours? Build from AUR, custom PKGBUILDs, or install from pre-built packages?

@chenxiaolong: I highly recommend trying out a tiling wm if you ever get the time. I never really found out how useful or how much more sense it makes until I took an hour or so to set it up nicely and try it. Although I recommend DWM over xmonad~ the only reason I'm using xmonad is because I'm trying to learn a bit of Haskell and I thought I might try out my learning in practise (as xmonad's configuration files require knowledge of Haskell), but at a basic level they should function a lot the same.


I like Arch

Offline

#144 2011-11-26 07:45:35

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

poltak wrote:

Well I added rleyh's repo for x86-64 Unity after having problems with unavailable dependencies (libindicator3...?) when makepkg-ing the Unity PKGBUILD from the AUR.

libindicator3 should be in there. My git repo contains the libindicator3 PKGBUILD and rleyh created the packages from my git repo (I think).

poltak wrote:

So I restarted lightdm and selected "Ubuntu" as my session (the others were KDE, Gnome classic, XMonad Gnome). Logged in and nothing appeared apart from wallpaper. No panel or Unity panel (or whatever you call it). Have I missed something out to install here?

The gconf-ubuntu package should have fixed this. Can you verify that gconf-ubuntu is installed? If it is, try running

DISPLAY=:0.0 ccsm

in a tty to enable the needed Compiz plugins. Here are the default plugins: http://i.imgur.com/PzwIt.png and http://i.imgur.com/TWKaE.png (No, my screen is not vertical--I just changed the orientation to the list better tongue)

Also, if gconf-ubuntu is installed, would you mind posting the file:

/etc/gconf/2/path

and a directory listing of:

/var/lib/gconf
poltak wrote:

Build from AUR, custom PKGBUILDs, or install from pre-built packages?

I suggest using pre-built packages or the PKGBUILDs from me (https://github.com/chenxiaolong/Unity-for-Arch) or thn81. My PKGBUILDs are based off of thn81's and are modified to resemble Ubuntu's packaging as closely as possible, including additional patches that Ubuntu uses. Packages in the AUR may not be compatible, however gmock and gtest are needed from the AUR.

poltak wrote:

@chenxiaolong: I highly recommend trying out a tiling wm if you ever get the time. I never really found out how useful or how much more sense it makes until I took an hour or so to set it up nicely and try it. Although I recommend DWM over xmonad~ the only reason I'm using xmonad is because I'm trying to learn a bit of Haskell and I thought I might try out my learning in practise (as xmonad's configuration files require knowledge of Haskell), but at a basic level they should function a lot the same.

Thanks for the information! I'll definitely check out dwm!


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#145 2011-11-26 08:50:57

poltak
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2010-11-05
Posts: 32

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hmm, looks like I may be missing some Compiz plugins. Haven't really used compiz before (apart from playing around with wobbly windows in my early Ubuntu days), so not sure how to fix this~ probably install some extra packages?

Anyway I will describe how my Compiz plugin selection differs from your screenshots (using ccsm-ubuntu from rleyh's repo):
Accessibility -
missing Enhanced Zoom Desktop which is enabled in yours (along with a few other disabled plugins)
Desktop -
missing all of your enabled plugins, except Ubuntu Unity Plugin. Ticking this requires Desktop Cube plugin to be enabled also (?)

Actually, comparing the rest of my plugins to yours, it looks like I'm missing most of yours, so I won't bother putting them all here if they're easily fixed by something like installing an extra package. Let me know if you need more specifics though about compiz plugins, and I'll write out more.

And yes, gconf-ubuntu package is installed.

Here is /etc/gconf/2/path and here is the directory listing.


Additional note: I did try it again after enabling as many of those Compiz plugins as I could, but still the same blank desktop.

UPDATE: Was looking around at the available packages in that repo and realised a bunch of compiz-plugins packages weren't installed :\ Installed them and now got all the same plugins as you. Will now enable the appropriate ones and try it again. Will update soon.


LATEST UPDATE: Alright, enabled all the plugins but to no avail~ still the same blank screen, although this time it take longer to load the desktop (I'm assuming because it must load all the plugins also now).

I've had GNOME 3 installed for a bit on this machine previously, so I've probably still got config files lying around in /home somewhere. These old configurations won't be messing things up will they? Also as I've had to configure Compiz for Unity, I'm assuming Unity using Compiz as it's WM? If so, do I have to specify to use Compiz over the Gnome shell/fallback default of mutter/metacity, or is this automatically done when the DM loads the "Ubuntu" session?

Last edited by poltak (2011-11-26 10:07:43)


I like Arch

Offline

#146 2011-11-26 10:51:12

thn81
Member
Registered: 2009-08-27
Posts: 88

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I would suggest that you first try to start compiz manually: Log into a failsafe session from your display manager (gets you a xterm window) and start compiz with

# compiz ccp

The Unity laucher and panel should eventually show along with some warnings in the xterm window. If it doesn't, go through the messages to find a clue of what went wrong. Recheck in ccsm that you really have selected the "Ubuntu Unity Plugin" (Section Desktop) and "GTK Loader" (Section Tools).
If compiz starts up with unity, quit compiz and start a real Unity session via

# /usr/bin/startunity3d

As before, check the xterm output for warnings and errors if the unity desktop doesn't show. If you cannot find out what goes wrong, please post the output here, hopefully we can help you in getting unity up and running.

Offline

#147 2011-11-26 11:32:18

rleyh
Member
From: germany
Registered: 2011-10-14
Posts: 28

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
poltak wrote:

Well I added rleyh's repo for x86-64 Unity after having problems with unavailable dependencies (libindicator3...?) when makepkg-ing the Unity PKGBUILD from the AUR.

libindicator3 should be in there. My git repo contains the libindicator3 PKGBUILD and rleyh created the packages from my git repo (I think).

Thats right, my packages are 100% made of chenxiaolong's PKGBUILDS smile
Probably libindicator 3 failed building and now another package is complaining about it.

BTW, building compizconfig-backend-kconfig-ubuntu fails for me, see http://pastebin.com/zRYtEFxp .

poltak wrote:

UPDATE: Was looking around at the available packages in that repo and realised a bunch of compiz-plugins packages weren't installed :\ Installed them and now got all the same plugins as you. Will now enable the appropriate ones and try it again. Will update soon.

Edit: I'll add some install instructions for my repo soon. Though i think unity should pull in all needed dependencies by itself, wenn installed via pacman -S unity.

Last edited by rleyh (2011-11-26 13:37:41)

Offline

#148 2011-11-26 14:13:08

poltak
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2010-11-05
Posts: 32

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

thn81 wrote:

I would suggest that you first try to start compiz manually: Log into a failsafe session from your display manager (gets you a xterm window) and start compiz with

# compiz ccp

The Unity laucher and panel should eventually show along with some warnings in the xterm window. If it doesn't, go through the messages to find a clue of what went wrong.

LightDM and GDM both didn't have the failsafe session option, so I tried it with a default xinitrc startx command (without twm) from a tty, which I think should have the same functionality. Anyway, I made sure again that the correct plugins where checked in ccsm and tried the quoted command as root.
The output is here. All good until it tries to load Unity plugin I'm pretty sure. The error lines are (34, 35):

compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't load plugin '/usr/lib/compiz/libunityshell.so' : libindicator3.so.6: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't load plugin 'unityshell'
Couldn't find a perfect decorator match; trying all decorators

So it looks like some DLL's are missing? Maybe something went wrong with the Unity packages during installation (although I don't remember any errors in the pacman log? What do you guys think?

I will try to redo `pacman -S unity` downloading again and see what happens in the meantime.

Thanks for your persistence with the whole issue as well smile much appreciated.


UPDATE: When removing the Unity package (as in the single package called 'Unity'), I got five warnings:

Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-gtkloader.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-networkarearegion.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-unitydialog.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-unitymtgrabhandles.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-unityshell.schemas could not be found.

Any ideas on this?

Reinstalling the package, then removing it again produces the same warnings.

Last edited by poltak (2011-11-26 14:19:27)


I like Arch

Offline

#149 2011-11-26 14:29:35

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Is there any way to have these packages on an repo? There are many members in here that have unofficial repos and they could have some bandwidth/space for Unity.

Offline

#150 2011-11-26 14:53:47

thn81
Member
Registered: 2009-08-27
Posts: 88

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

poltak wrote:
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't load plugin '/usr/lib/compiz/libunityshell.so' : libindicator3.so.6: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
compiz (core) - Error: Couldn't load plugin 'unityshell'
Couldn't find a perfect decorator match; trying all decorators

It means that /usr/lib/libindicator3.so.6 is missing. This library is in the libindicator3 package and should have been installed as a dependency. Try reinstalling it manually:

# pacman -S libindicator3

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB