You are not logged in.

#1 2012-02-11 02:19:35

picklemaster246
Member
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 14

Having difficulty displaying fonts in conky.

I was looking through the conky sticky and saw this .conf, so I c/p'd the .conf and fiddled with the settings to get what I'd like, except the Arch logo at the top doesn't display the Arch logo, it just has the capital B (yes, ttf-openlogos is installed).  Do I need to restart or something for the font to be recognized?

Side note: Is there a font with an updated Arch logo? I prefer the newer one.

Offline

#2 2012-02-11 04:36:20

picklemaster246
Member
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 14

Re: Having difficulty displaying fonts in conky.

Noboody?

Offline

#3 2012-02-11 05:29:10

desm0tes
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 233
Website

Re: Having difficulty displaying fonts in conky.

Don't be so impatient, it's been only two hours in the middle of friday night.

For updated Arch logo, forum search would have helped, since it's right here: Updated Arch
For conky: I noticed it has problems with ttf-fonts sometimes, restarting conky usually helps...I even noticed it sometimes needs a complete reboot...I don't have any explanation for this though big_smile

Last edited by desm0tes (2012-02-11 05:29:31)

Offline

#4 2012-02-11 06:11:03

kmason
Member
From: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Registered: 2010-03-23
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Having difficulty displaying fonts in conky.

Instead of a complete reboot, you could try this:

fc-cache -f

Current WM Setup: PekWM with stalonetray/conky piped to dzen2 instead of a panel
Asus Eee PC Seashell:  Atom N550 @ 1.5 GHz | 2 GB RAM
HP Pavilion dv4: Core i5 M430 @ 2.27 GHz | Intel HD Graphics | 4GB RAM
Desktop: Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.0 GHz | GeForce GT220 | 4GB RAM

Offline

#5 2012-02-11 06:26:31

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Having difficulty displaying fonts in conky.

^^lol^^ you're funny desmOtes

Offline

#6 2012-02-11 06:39:42

picklemaster246
Member
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 14

Re: Having difficulty displaying fonts in conky.

desm0tes wrote:

Don't be so impatient, it's been only two hours in the middle of friday night.

For updated Arch logo, forum search would have helped, since it's right here: Updated Arch
For conky: I noticed it has problems with ttf-fonts sometimes, restarting conky usually helps...I even noticed it sometimes needs a complete reboot...I don't have any explanation for this though big_smile

Sorry, I'm not used to forums outside a couple I frequent.  Thanks very much though!

kmason wrote:

Instead of a complete reboot, you could try this:

fc-cache -f

That fixed everything!

Thanks so much! big_smile

Offline

#7 2012-02-11 06:42:13

desm0tes
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 233
Website

Re: Having difficulty displaying fonts in conky.

stlarch wrote:

^^lol^^ you're funny desmOtes

oO?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB