You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-17 17:00:48

lxyu
Member
From: Spirit
Registered: 2012-01-11
Posts: 11
Website

use netcfg to set up bridge for vm problem

I followed the guide from wiki here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … _.28VMs.29

So I create two files under /etc/network.d/

# sudo cat br0
INTERFACE="br0"
CONNECTION="bridge"
DESCRIPTION="bridge br0 dhcp"
BRIDGE_INTERFACES="eth0"
IP='dhcp'

# sudo cat eth0
INTERFACE='eth0'
CONNECTION='ethernet'
DESCRIPTION='eth0 static'
IP='static'
ADDR='192.168.108.16'
GATEWAY='192.168.108.1'

But when I bring up br0, the eth0 is down. Which means I can't ping the ip of eth0 after br0 is up.

So how can I get eth0 and br0 both up?

Offline

#2 2012-03-19 21:17:45

glemt9
Member
From: Slovenija
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 10
Website

Re: use netcfg to set up bridge for vm problem

I think, you need only br0:

INTERFACE="br0"
CONNECTION="bridge"
DESCRIPTION="bridge br0"
BRIDGE_INTERFACES="eth0"
IP='static'
ADDR='192.168.108.16'
NETMASK='255.255.255.0'
GATEWAY='192.168.108.1'

Offline

#3 2012-03-20 15:45:23

amranu
Member
Registered: 2008-09-25
Posts: 94

Re: use netcfg to set up bridge for vm problem

glemt9 is correct, you should be assigning an ip address to the bridge interface, not the device interface.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB