You are not logged in.

#376 2012-03-19 09:33:09

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,841

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

anonymous_user wrote:

I have a few questions:

1. Is it possible to make spectrwm always run foo program on bar desktop? I tried the autorun feature, but I think its just for starting application on startup, correct?

The workspace number is the one specified inside the [] of the autorun setting.



anonymous_user wrote:

2. How can I stop the focus from following the mouse?

See:-

$ man --pager="less -p focus_mode" spectrwm
anonymous_user wrote:

3. How can I change the default keybinds? I don't see them inside /etc/spectrwm.conf.

See:-

$ man --pager="less -p BINDINGS" spectrwm

"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

#377 2012-03-19 14:58:01

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

skanky wrote:

The workspace number is the one specified inside the [] of the autorun setting.

Yes I know that. I am asking if using that feature will make spectrwm always open the program on the specified workspace or if its only one-time.

skanky wrote:
$ man --pager="less -p focus_mode" spectrwm

That does not help. The only value it mentions is follow_cursor which I do not want.

skanky wrote:
$ man --pager="less -p BINDINGS" spectrwm

Ok thanks. But why not include the keybinding in the default config file?

Offline

#378 2012-03-19 15:24:21

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,841

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

anonymous_user wrote:
skanky wrote:

The workspace number is the one specified inside the [] of the autorun setting.

Yes I know that. I am asking if using that feature will make spectrwm always open the program on the specified workspace or if its only one-time.

Sorry yes, I misread you original post - thought that's what you'd wanted. It is only a start-up feature. It may be possible using EWMH?

anonymous_user wrote:
skanky wrote:
$ man --pager="less -p focus_mode" spectrwm

That does not help. The only value it mentions is follow_cursor which I do not want.

Ha, I'd not noticed that's the only one listed. My setting's default which I always thought was follow cursor, but I wonder if there's some subtle difference I've not noticed as it seems to act like follow cursor, as I'd expect it.

Anyway, the allowed values are "default", "follow_cursor" and "synergy". If none of those work how you want, your best bet is to add it to flyspray at the conformal site:
https://opensource.conformal.com/flyspr … ?project=8

anonymous_user wrote:
skanky wrote:
$ man --pager="less -p BINDINGS" spectrwm

Ok thanks. But why not include the keybinding in the default config file?

It was, but it's now all been moved to the keyboard mapping files (see the note near the bottom of /etc/spectrwm.conf).
Those files don't seem to supplied with the spectrwm package, I'm assuming they're not in the supplied source, though they are in the git repo at the conformal website.

Last edited by skanky (2012-03-19 15:25:15)


"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

#379 2012-03-19 15:37:21

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

skanky wrote:

If none of those work how you want, your best bet is to add it to flyspray at the conformal site:
https://opensource.conformal.com/flyspr … ?project=8

Ok. Will do.

skanky wrote:

Those files don't seem to supplied with the spectrwm package, I'm assuming they're not in the supplied source, though they are in the git repo at the conformal website.

Thanks I found it.

Offline

#380 2012-03-19 15:54:07

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Huh, cute.  I missed those.  Fixed in spectrwm-1.0.0-3.

Offline

#381 2012-03-20 02:42:02

thatnewyorker
Member
From: Brooklyn
Registered: 2009-01-24
Posts: 73

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Does anyone else find it funny that there is a window manager named after ball sacks? I mean imagine talking to someone else about the window manager you use...

Last edited by thatnewyorker (2012-03-20 02:43:33)


Whats happening to me? Why am I turning evil for you?

Offline

#382 2012-03-21 11:28:12

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,841

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

For anyone who may be having issues with the pre load hack, this post is interesting: https://opensource.conformal.com/fluxbb … 1142#p1142
It's probably worth keeping an eye on that thread as the change may get incorporated.


"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

#383 2012-03-21 14:23:00

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Doubtful.  I said how to achieve the same thing some time ago.  I forwarded it to Marco because it seems to be the sort of thing that should at least be in the docs.  The problem is that the preload stuff happens at the completely wrong time to become a quirk, so it is tricky doing it in software.

Last edited by keenerd (2012-03-21 14:24:51)

Offline

#384 2012-03-21 14:32:56

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,841

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

This is allowing sudo (etc.) to use the hack, and moves it away from the environment variable. I'm not sure whether it would affect what you were saying in that post?
Either way it just doesn't work for me. Even the example Marco gives in that thread (with Firefox). It just opens on whatever ws I move to. Not that it's a problem for me though.


"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

#385 2012-03-24 22:05:54

Ypnose
Member
From: Jailed in the shell
Registered: 2011-04-21
Posts: 353
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

I would like to see an option to specify the number of workspaces, in the next version. Is this possible?


Github -- My terminal font Envypn

Offline

#386 2012-03-24 22:18:40

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Why?  Increasing the number is hard (keybindings for them).  Decreasing the number does not achieve much, since unused workspaces are skipped over.  And what if you need them later?  Just ignore the ones you don't use.

If you want to keep it simple, 10 is a good number.  If you want pointlessly complex open ended config, use a different WM.

If you have a proposition for how to do the keybindings for more than 10, I would like to hear it since it might be worth trying.

Offline

#387 2012-03-29 02:22:38

SternGerlachExperiment
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 51

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Any idea as to why my status bar is flickering? So far, I have things quite simple in .spectrwm.conf. Regarding the bar:

 
bar_enabled		= 1
bar_delay	                = 2
clock_enabled		= 1
clock_format		= %a %d.%m %R %Z %Y

Nothing else, no bar_action, conky or anything. It seems to flicker at the rate of the variable bar_delay, but not constantly. It flickers for a moment, something like 15 seconds, and then does not flicker for some time. Then the flickering starts again. It does not flicker when the time changes.

Edit: Well, I've changed bar_delay to 15, so it's bearable now.

Last edited by SternGerlachExperiment (2012-03-29 14:23:40)

Offline

#388 2012-03-29 16:17:08

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Stern:  I've seen bar flickering, but only under massive load and near-OOM conditions.  Something is up.  What is your video driver?

Offline

#389 2012-03-29 16:47:04

SternGerlachExperiment
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 51

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

It's xf86-video-ati from the extra repository, and the card is Mobility Radeon X1400. The bar flickers even while there's no load. But I don't recall having any trouble with this card or the drivers before.

Offline

#390 2012-04-08 17:49:24

pikpok
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 5

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Everytime I log in startup apps on every workspace are overriding my dzen2 bar ( http://i.imgur.com/IrMLe.png ), but after restarting spectrwm (meta+q) everything looks fine: http://i.imgur.com/Yv5tU.png
My ~/.spectrwm.conf
http://wklej.org/id/727419/
Is there any solution for it?

Offline

#391 2012-04-09 01:13:51

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Looks like you are doing everything correctly.  Perhaps an upstream bug?

Last edited by keenerd (2012-04-09 01:14:05)

Offline

#392 2012-04-13 20:27:03

skrite
Member
Registered: 2009-09-07
Posts: 160

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

if i have a floating window, it always shows in front, i can not seem to send it behind another window. i would like to be able to move a floating window behind a maximized or full one, but don't know how, any tips?

Offline

#393 2012-04-21 09:46:51

megadriver
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2010-02-03
Posts: 58
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Hello there. Here's a patched Spectrwm with "focus follows mouse" disabled by default:

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=58650

The original idea is not mine. My patch is just a simplified version of this one.

Offline

#394 2012-04-21 15:03:02

skrite
Member
Registered: 2009-09-07
Posts: 160

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

cool, thanks

Offline

#395 2012-05-24 22:38:56

kpedersen
Member
Registered: 2010-07-04
Posts: 5

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

This patch is cool but has anyone looked into making it focus a window on a click but whilst also sending through the event.

As it stands now, I need to click on a button twice. (The first to focus the window and the second for the actual press event).

Some people might not like that because it might cause accidental clicks to be registered (especially since the window doesnt have a titlebar) but I guess I got in the habit of having it this way from using Windows and Gnome 2.

spectrwm is very close to becoming ideal wink

Last edited by kpedersen (2012-05-24 22:41:05)

Offline

#396 2012-06-29 09:29:25

Pyxir
Member
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 11

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

SternGerlachExperiment wrote:

Any idea as to why my status bar is flickering? So far, I have things quite simple in .spectrwm.conf. Regarding the bar:

 
bar_enabled		= 1
bar_delay	                = 2
clock_enabled		= 1
clock_format		= %a %d.%m %R %Z %Y

Nothing else, no bar_action, conky or anything. It seems to flicker at the rate of the variable bar_delay, but not constantly. It flickers for a moment, something like 15 seconds, and then does not flicker for some time. Then the flickering starts again. It does not flicker when the time changes.

Edit: Well, I've changed bar_delay to 15, so it's bearable now.

Similar problem here:
Just made a fresh spectrwm install and the statusbar is flickering at the rate of bar_delay.

I'm using the standard configuration shipped with the package from community.

Nothing fancy in my .xinitrc:

#!/bin/sh
# ~/.xinitrc

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ]; then
  for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/*; do
    [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
  done
  unset f
fi

xrdb -merge ~/.Xresources 
export GDK_USE_XFT=1
export QT_XFT=true
ibus-daemon --xim &

# Spawn terminal daemon
urxvtd -q -o -f &

# set desktop + launch programs 
xfsettingsd &
mpd &
nitrogen --restore &
xscreensaver -no-splash &
xfce4-power-manager &



#exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch startxfce4
exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session spectrwm

Any ideas what could cause this behaviour?

Offline

#397 2012-06-29 09:45:01

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,841

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Have you tried it without the ck-launch-session, etc?
I don't get the problem and just use

exec spectrwm

Also, it might be worth trying a minimal baraction script. If that fixes it, add individual elements back and see which one causes it to return.
I don't use the standard one, so again that may be the difference - though with it sleeping for 5 secs it's less likely, I think.


"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

#398 2012-07-01 20:31:20

Pyxir
Member
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 11

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

skanky wrote:

Have you tried it without the ck-launch-session, etc?
I don't get the problem and just use

exec spectrwm

Also, it might be worth trying a minimal baraction script. If that fixes it, add individual elements back and see which one causes it to return.
I don't use the standard one, so again that may be the difference - though with it sleeping for 5 secs it's less likely, I think.

Cropped down the startup into a minimal setup, but it does not give the desired effect. The flicker at every bar redraw still draws away my attention.
The only possible solution if found consulting google seems to be editing the source.

For now, I switched to the spectrwm fork sscrotwm using dzen2 as info bar.

Offline

#399 2012-07-02 20:13:35

Splex
Member
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 33

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

checkout the latest spectrwm-git, bar flicker should no longer be an issue.

Offline

#400 2012-07-03 12:05:25

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Spectrwm 0.1.1 is out.

If you previously used "bind[spawn_term] = ...." this will no longer work.  The binding has been changed to just "term".

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB