You are not logged in.

#551 2012-05-15 18:46:40

fat0troll
Member
Registered: 2012-04-25
Posts: 12

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

z0id wrote:

Is there a repo with compiled packages? ayatana repo seems to be dated.

I have maded repo smile no warranty at all smile

No directory listing, sorry :-(

[unity]
Server = http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7890141/archlin … os/x86_64/

Offline

#552 2012-05-16 18:15:56

z0id
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2010-02-02
Posts: 121

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

fat0troll wrote:
z0id wrote:

Is there a repo with compiled packages? ayatana repo seems to be dated.

I have maded repo smile no warranty at all smile

No directory listing, sorry :-(

[unity]
Server = http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7890141/archlin … os/x86_64/

Well, that's great, but personally I can't use it because I'm on 32bit.
I'm trying to get in touch with the guy behind ayatana.info.

Last edited by z0id (2012-05-16 18:17:03)


/usr/bin/drinking

Offline

#553 2012-05-17 03:42:50

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

fat0troll wrote:

https://gist.github.com/2694780

unity autobuilder based on chenxiaolong's gits smile with (auto)updater, yeah!

Use it at your own risk wink

Script is quick-and-dirty, fixes are welcome smile

Nice! I've updated the README file in Unity-for-Arch-Extra, so the hard coded array is no longer needed smile

If you want, you can list the packages from the README using (without optional packages):

sed -n -r 's/^[0-9]+: ([a-z0-9\-]*)[ ]+->.*$/\1/p' README

or (with optional package)

sed -n -r 's/^[0-9]+: ([a-z0-9\-]*).+->.*$/\1/p' README

Your current line does look cleaner though big_smile

By the way, I take your script as a challenge...I will try to make sure that no packages ever fail to compile big_smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#554 2012-05-18 03:11:58

ElderSnake
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2010-12-09
Posts: 93

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Wonderful stuff chenxiaolong big_smile

Running Unity 3D on my 32bit Arch Linux right now and it runs beautifully.

I used fat0troll's script. When it finished I did notice it only built about half the packages which meant I still had to manually run makepkg on the rest and make sure all were built. However I think this is just because I hadn't satisfied many of the dependencies which "makepkg -si" took care of (though the script contains that same command so unsure of what went wrong).

Anyway, only issues I noticed are the User Session applet doesnt seem to be showing in the panel and the System Tray applet isnt showing most applications. i.e the sys tray will show the tray icons of Steam and Clementine, but nothing shows for Pidgin, Banshee or VLC etc.

Is this a known problem? If not, it's probably my own doing lol


Arch Linux - Intel E5200 Desktop (Cinnamon 2.0) - Debian Testing - Netbook EeePC AMD C-50 (Xfce)

Offline

#555 2012-05-18 03:30:15

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

ElderSnake wrote:

Wonderful stuff chenxiaolong big_smile

Running Unity 3D on my 32bit Arch Linux right now and it runs beautifully.

I used fat0troll's script. When it finished I did notice it only built about half the packages which meant I still had to manually run makepkg on the rest and make sure all were built. However I think this is just because I hadn't satisfied many of the dependencies which "makepkg -si" took care of (though the script contains that same command so unsure of what went wrong).

You're welcome! I'm glad you like it smile

I think the problem is that "makepkg -s" runs pacman with sudo to install the dependencies. The problem with sudo is that it will only wait for your password for 5 minutes (in other words, the package will be skipped if the password isn't entered within 5 minutes). And if you enter the password for the sudo before building, it work work either because sudo only keeps the root privileges for 5 minutes (well, it could work if you have a super-duper uber fast supercomputer that could build everything in less than 5 minutes big_smile).

ElderSnake wrote:

Anyway, only issues I noticed are the User Session applet doesnt seem to be showing in the panel and the System Tray applet isnt showing most applications. i.e the sys tray will show the tray icons of Steam and Clementine, but nothing shows for Pidgin, Banshee or VLC etc.

Is this a known problem? If not, it's probably my own doing lol

That's a "feature" of Unity. Ubuntu has code that blocks any application from the systray that's not Java or doesn't use their appindicator library sad

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-05-18 03:30:28)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#556 2012-05-18 03:35:59

ElderSnake
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2010-12-09
Posts: 93

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

You're welcome! I'm glad you like it smile

I think the problem is that "makepkg -s" runs pacman with sudo to install the dependencies. The problem with sudo is that it will only wait for your password for 5 minutes (in other words, the package will be skipped if the password isn't entered within 5 minutes). And if you enter the password for the sudo before building, it work work either because sudo only keeps the root privileges for 5 minutes (well, it could work if you have a super-duper uber fast supercomputer that could build everything in less than 5 minutes big_smile).

That's a "feature" of Unity. Ubuntu has code that blocks any application from the systray that's not Java or doesn't use their appindicator library sad

Ahhh, thank you thank you smile Well explained. In that case I have no doubt the script probably works very well (and explains why it suggests a non-passworded sudo tongue)


As for the indicator thing, thats okay, guess its one of those little "teething" things we have to make do with big_smile it was annoying at first because Pidgin has no where to dock (as it doesnt seem to intergrate with the messenging menu, although the Status changer does work). But Pidgin runs fine if i just minimize it to the dash.


Arch Linux - Intel E5200 Desktop (Cinnamon 2.0) - Debian Testing - Netbook EeePC AMD C-50 (Xfce)

Offline

#557 2012-05-18 04:55:26

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

ElderSnake wrote:

As for the indicator thing, thats okay, guess its one of those little "teething" things we have to make do with big_smile it was annoying at first because Pidgin has no where to dock (as it doesnt seem to intergrate with the messenging menu, although the Status changer does work). But Pidgin runs fine if i just minimize it to the dash.

Actually, I just remembered that there was a post on WebUpd8 that gave a command which allows any program to use the tray. The command is:

gsettings set com.canonical.Unity.Panel systray-whitelist "['all']"

The original article is here: http://www.webupd8.org/2011/04/how-to-r … -area.html


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#558 2012-05-18 06:18:43

ElderSnake
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2010-12-09
Posts: 93

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Dude...you are a god! big_smile Thanks, I had no idea about that. Works perfectly.

Last edited by ElderSnake (2012-05-18 06:20:00)


Arch Linux - Intel E5200 Desktop (Cinnamon 2.0) - Debian Testing - Netbook EeePC AMD C-50 (Xfce)

Offline

#559 2012-05-19 05:03:48

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

ElderSnake wrote:

Dude...you are a god! big_smile Thanks, I had no idea about that. Works perfectly.

No problem big_smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#560 2012-05-19 14:54:43

mrmylanman
Member
From: Altamonte Springs, FL, USA
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 178

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Thanks again for maintaining this, I have tried it out a few times in the past and it worked okay but Unity has stepped it up since then, it seems to run much smoother.  I'm glad it's still available and working great in Arch Linux!  It'll be awesome if Canonical contributed more upstream so we wouldn't have to resort to patching so many packages (especially QT which takes forever to compile).


Arch user since 2011-03-13

Thinkpad X220 Intel Core i7-2640M CPU, 16GB DDR3-1333 RAM, 160GB Intel SATA II SSD & 60GB OCZ mSATA SSD, 12.5" IPS 1366x768 Display, 6-cell Battery
(Installation date:  2012-03-19)

Offline

#561 2012-05-19 15:45:52

quasifilmie
Member
From: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2011-10-27
Posts: 289

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

One could always use makepkg using a different discrete user and have sudo privileges that don't require a password. This way you still save some security.

Offline

#562 2012-05-19 23:14:20

oskar.einstein
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 29

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I have several bugs to report smile:
- unity-core doesn't seem to work, I have to use unity package instead
- in unity-2d metacity doesn't combine with panel [edit: my bad - /apps/metacity/general/show_maximized_titlebars]
- logging out from unity-2d takes over 30 seconds
- ubuntu-tweak require python2-defer which doesn't exist in repo
- last one, I have set gnome-terminal on alt+F3, if I press this combination quickly HUD appear, if I doing this slowly gnome-terminal appear hmm

Last edited by oskar.einstein (2012-05-20 00:20:42)

Offline

#563 2012-05-20 01:38:46

LungFungus
Member
From: PSU
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 10

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi all!

I have been compiling and installing everything in the github repo. I got up to the unity folder itself without any problems.  However when I run makepkg on unity/PKGBUILD I get the following error about libdbusmenu-glib/client.h not existing: error.  I feel like I'm just missing some dev library but I have not been able to figure out which one.

Last edited by LungFungus (2012-05-20 01:39:29)


fortune -o

Offline

#564 2012-05-21 17:02:33

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

mrmylanman wrote:

Thanks again for maintaining this, I have tried it out a few times in the past and it worked okay but Unity has stepped it up since then, it seems to run much smoother.  I'm glad it's still available and working great in Arch Linux!  It'll be awesome if Canonical contributed more upstream so we wouldn't have to resort to patching so many packages (especially QT which takes forever to compile).

No problem big_smile

From the Ubuntu Developer Summit, it seems that they are looking to drop Unity-2D. In that case, qt-ubuntu would no longer be  necessary. The Qt developers do accept quite a bit of the Ubuntu patches, such as global menu support. Too bad new patches come up as soon as the old ones are accepted smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#565 2012-05-21 17:08:40

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oskar.einstein wrote:

I have several bugs to report smile:
- unity-core doesn't seem to work, I have to use unity package instead

I'll try to fix this. It seems Unity-2D requires more files then just /usr/lib/libunity-core*.

oskar.einstein wrote:

- in unity-2d metacity doesn't combine with panel [edit: my bad - /apps/metacity/general/show_maximized_titlebars]
- logging out from unity-2d takes over 30 seconds

Then you're quite lucky! For me, gnome-session crashes and I have to switch to a TTY and restart LightDM big_smile Honestly, I don't know why this happens. I experience the same thing on my other computer.

oskar.einstein wrote:

- ubuntu-tweak require python2-defer which doesn't exist in repo

python2-defer is actually part of python-defer. The defer library supports both Python 2 and 3, so I made a split package.

oskar.einstein wrote:

- last one, I have set gnome-terminal on alt+F3, if I press this combination quickly HUD appear, if I doing this slowly gnome-terminal appear hmm

Yeah, I'm experiencing this too. I use Alt-Left and Alt-Right to go back and forward in the browser and every time, the HUD appears. This would be something to report upstream.

Sorry I wasn't able to solve any of the problems sad


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#566 2012-05-21 17:11:05

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

LungFungus wrote:

Hi all!

I have been compiling and installing everything in the github repo. I got up to the unity folder itself without any problems.  However when I run makepkg on unity/PKGBUILD I get the following error about libdbusmenu-glib/client.h not existing: error.  I feel like I'm just missing some dev library but I have not been able to figure out which one.

Hmm...when you compiled libdbusmenu, did you install all three parts of the split package?

pacman -U libdbusmenu-<version>.pkg.tar.xz libdbusmenu-gtk2-<version>.pkg.tar.xz libdbusmenu-gtk3-<version>.pkg.tar.xz

Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#567 2012-05-21 19:06:12

LungFungus
Member
From: PSU
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 10

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
LungFungus wrote:

Hi all!

I have been compiling and installing everything in the github repo. I got up to the unity folder itself without any problems.  However when I run makepkg on unity/PKGBUILD I get the following error about libdbusmenu-glib/client.h not existing: error.  I feel like I'm just missing some dev library but I have not been able to figure out which one.

Hmm...when you compiled libdbusmenu, did you install all three parts of the split package?

pacman -U libdbusmenu-<version>.pkg.tar.xz libdbusmenu-gtk2-<version>.pkg.tar.xz libdbusmenu-gtk3-<version>.pkg.tar.xz

Yes I did. I reinstalled them all as well just to be sure. I also rebuilt the libdbusmenu packages and installed them again, then tried building unity again, same error.


fortune -o

Offline

#568 2012-05-21 19:23:38

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

LungFungus wrote:

Yes I did. I reinstalled them all as well just to be sure. I also rebuilt the libdbusmenu packages and installed them again, then tried building unity again, same error.

Could you provide the following:

1. File list of the libdbusmenu package?

pacman -Ql libdbusmenu

2. Contents of /usr/lib/pkgconfig/dbusmenu-glib-0.4.pc

3. Complete build log of libdbusmenu (after removing pkg/ and src/)

4. Complete build log of unity (after removing pkg/ and src/)

Thanks!


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#569 2012-05-21 19:25:02

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

NOTE Please make sure to update glib2-ubuntu after the regular "pacman -Syu" or GTK applications may stop working.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#570 2012-05-21 20:19:42

LungFungus
Member
From: PSU
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 10

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

smile

fixed. I must have tried to build unity earlier on without libdbusmenu. After removing the pkg and src directories I was able to build unity.

Thanks!


fortune -o

Offline

#571 2012-05-21 20:30:53

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

LungFungus wrote:

smile

fixed. I must have tried to build unity earlier on without libdbusmenu. After removing the pkg and src directories I was able to build unity.

Thanks!

I'm glad you got it working big_smile Usually, removing those two directories will solve all the build problems. I always build with the "unitybuild" command, which I have set in ~/.bashrc to:

alias unitybuild="rm -rvf pkg/ src/ && makepkg -fsi"

Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#572 2012-05-22 00:31:34

pekmop1024
Member
From: Kiev/Feodosia
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

http://unity.xe-xe.org/ for those who wants to try but did not want to build smile


ArchLinux x86_64 (desktop): i7 970@4.3GHz - 24GB - GTX680 DirectCU II TOP - Crucial M4 128GB - 3x2TB Seagate - Creative X-Fi Platinum - Zalman ZM1000HP
ArchLinux i686 PAE (passive cooled): i3 540 - 4GB - GT610 Silent - Crucial M4 64GB - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
ArchLinux i686 (HTPC): Core 2 Duo E6400 - 2GB - GT520 Silent - 80GB Seagate

Offline

#573 2012-05-22 10:17:28

xgdgsc
Member
Registered: 2012-02-03
Posts: 120

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

pekmop1024 wrote:

http://unity.xe-xe.org/ for those who wants to try but did not want to build smile

Thanks,really fast repo.
How I wish all the packages hit AUR and official repo some day ! (Seems not possible though)

Offline

#574 2012-05-24 01:27:21

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 100

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

You guys are doing a awesome work porting Unity under Arch. Everything is running perfectly on my machine smile
But there are some programs like gimp, vlc and visualbox that the global menu is not working. Instead of appearing on the unity panel, it is appearing below the title bar. There are any fix for that?


"For with the passing of this hour
Even gods will be devoured"

Offline

#575 2012-05-24 02:16:21

xgdgsc
Member
Registered: 2012-02-03
Posts: 120

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Have you installed appmenu-qt from repo?

sollidsnake wrote:

You guys are doing a awesome work porting Unity under Arch. Everything is running perfectly on my machine smile
But there are some programs like gimp, vlc and visualbox that the global menu is not working. Instead of appearing on the unity panel, it is appearing below the title bar. There are any fix for that?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB