You are not logged in.

#1 2005-09-06 18:51:38

ghostdawg
Member
From: Third Stone from the Sun
Registered: 2003-07-31
Posts: 21

Network Unreachable

I just recently did a base install of Arch 0.7 and finally got it to boot, it was having a grub problem but fixed now.

Once I logged in, and try to get connected to internet, I get error message:

Network Unreachable

I'm using cable internet with a dlink router. I can ping internal IPs but can't ping yahoo.com or others.

I do see the 3com nic listed when I do lsmod command.

I'm not sure if dhcpd is included with a base install, I always get command not found message.

Any ideas/suggestions on fixing this?

Thnx.


"The only people who dont use it are apple fanatics & linux crackpots and they probably have rotten credit"

Offline

#2 2005-09-06 19:08:13

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Network Unreachable

you want dhcpcd..
try:
dhcpcd eth0
or..
dhclient eth0

my guess is your network is fine, but that your dns is not resolving...

try 'ping 216.239.37.99'
that ip is one of google's ip addresses.

if that works, but ping google.com does not, then dns is indeed the culprit.
check your /etc/resolv.conf file and make sure your dns servers are listed..eg.
nameserver 192.168.1.1


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2005-09-06 19:15:54

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Network Unreachable

Network Unreachable usually means you have no route to your gateway - just remove the "!" from "gateway" in rc.conf

Offline

#4 2005-09-06 22:07:24

ghostdawg
Member
From: Third Stone from the Sun
Registered: 2003-07-31
Posts: 21

Re: Network Unreachable

Thnx for the replies. I have it working now. I needed to add the line, 'eth0=dhcp' to the rc.conf file.


"The only people who dont use it are apple fanatics & linux crackpots and they probably have rotten credit"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB